We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Again!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham SeaWatch Plantation
Ranked #41 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not Again!!!!!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this location for a week, and boy, were we disappointed!!! After driving for eight hours and eager to get started enjoying our vacation. We were told that the unit we requested was not available because the resort was at capacity. We were offered a handicapped accessible unit with the walk in shower and low counters on the 3rd floor of Villa Ii. We requested a unit on the top floor with ocean view. The clerk who checked us in said that the resort was completely booked. Yet, she placed a call to the corporate office, and was told that she could move us to another unit. During the call, she stated that someone booked that unit from her just that quickly. Remember, we were told that the resort was completely booked. Then she said that she was going to send the manager (Kathy) an email informing her that we wanted to change units. (again, they are completely booked , according to the check in clerk). The following day, I went to see the manager, and she moved us to another unit, still not on the top floor, and no ocean view due to overgrown palm trees, but a unit with two separate sinks in the bathroom. We decided to move into it. She offered to provide us assistance to move, if we needed it. The unit was not fresh, although the linens were changed. It had a stale odor. We cleaned and disinfected it with Lysol and bleach. We also burned scented candles. We left the unit much cleaner than we found it. We checked in on 12/26/13, and there were two sets of bath towels for 2 people. On Monday, I decided to change out the towels in the unit, and realized that the extra set had some dark spots on them. We went to the desk to request some additional towels, and were told that there would be a charge to change out towels ( I guess you have to pay for cleaning service during your week stay). I explained that the extra set of towels were soiled and that I needed some clean towels. The desk clerk gave them to me. We were invited to the lecture where they tried to get us to purchase (we are what they call Discovery Members because we do not own deeded property but a trial program). I did not hesitate to decline to purchase from them after the presenter made it clear that in order to get the unit you want and where you want to go depends on how many points you own. We are not in the position to own huge number of points. Needless to day, we won't be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yallahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham SeaWatch Plantation, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for reaching out to provide this information. We are sorry to hear our services and amenities did not meet your expectations. We know that when you are staying with us there is a certain level of satisfaction expected. Please know this is not our Wyndham standards. We strive to provide a home away from home to all our guests with satisfactory facilities and accommodations. We will ensure we check on the issue to eliminate any future occurrences and enhance the guest experience. Please also know that additional points are required to secure an ocean view or ocean front unit. This unit type is secured at the time of booking. We can offer as many units as owners have purchased. We also have units available for renters. Our goal is to make each guest feel at home by providing kitchen and laundry accommodations. Because we have condo-style resorts, certain hotel amenities such as daily housekeeping do not exist. We strive to provide this information to the guest through our website, pre-arrival letter and confirmation letter. We apologize for any confusion and will work to better communicate this through additional channels in the future. Again, thank you for reaching out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    167
    89
    51
    34
See reviews for
357
112
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We just returned from a week at this resort. We have a time share with RCI and traded our points to stay. We arrived early and staff was very accommodating letting us check in early. We had made a request to stay in the tower on a high floor. Unfortunately this request could not not be met. From the sounds of it those units are reserved for Wyndham owners. The resort also has three Villa type accommodations, a litlle set back from the beach. We were in Villa II, which seems to be more desirable. The view faces the ocean and the balcony is a good size. Our 2 bedroom unit was well appointed, somewhat small and perhaps a little tired looking. People in previous reviews wrote about the water pressure, which we also found. Also, the light on the ceiling fans kept coing on. We simply just unscrewed the light bulbs and the problem was fixed. Also received the call for a time share presentation. As usual, those presentations can be annoying.....but sales representative was understanding and did not persist. Overall, nice location right on the beach. Would however likely not return to resort as we prefer being ocean front and for a gold rated resort we expected the rooms to be more modern and luxurious.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeachyPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Unfortunately we only spent a weekend here but we definitely expect to return next summer. over 20 pools, hot tubs, heated pools, children's pools, restaurant, shuffleboard, and on the beach. The staff was wonderful and available to all our needs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location in NMB with great views of the ocean....if you get the right unit. Our unit was on the side with a sliver view and a tiny balcony. One person at a time! Unit was dated and bathroom was tiny. Very quiet but we stayed in the middle of Dec so not many people there.
Overall not a great Wyndham experience.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank foodlovr22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We vacationed here on the recommendation of a friend who owns a timeshare here. We were not impressed. Its very beautiful as far as the landscaping and surroundings. It was nice being near the beach and having an ocean view.

However, there were things that were not so great. The water pressure from the shower was horrible. You didn't feel clean. The toilets didn't flush properly. There was no counter space in the bathroom. The game room was very small. Also, there were electrical problems in our room. Because of some glitch our ceiling fan would come on in the middle of the night, lights and all. We called maintenance and his only solution was to take down the ceiling fan, which my husband had already done.

The biggest annoyance was being called early in the morning so they can arrange a timeshare presentation with you. They also knocked on our door at 8 a.m. This is very annoying when you are on vacation.

If we ever come back to Myrtle Beach I will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tjkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham SeaWatch Plantation, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are sorry you had to spend even a minute of your vacation dealing with maintenance issues such as the shower pressure, bathroom toilet, and electrical problems. We know there is a certain level of satisfaction expected when staying at our properties and these issues caused a major inconvenience during your stay. Please rest assured we will address these concerns moving forward to avoid any future occurrences of this nature. Without guest feedback we are unaware of items that need to be improved. Again, thanks for reaching out so we can make the necessary fixes to the unit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I really enjoyed this years trip to Myrtle Beach and Sea Watch Plantation. The resort is very nice and the room was the perfect size. The view of the ocean and moon at Myrtle Beach is the best. The area has lots of things to do and a short walk to the pier and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNSNOWBIRD1377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here without a reservations in December. Got a great rate on a King bed with a kitchenette and living room. The room was a little dated- decor, but it was clean and we had all of the amenities to ourselves. Great ocean view from the north tower- 17th floor. I would recommend and stay again- during the off season rates!!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SnowboundInVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Myrtle Beach
0.3 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
0.5 mi away
Kingston Plantation Condos by Hilton
3.5 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sea Watch Resort
Sea Watch Resort
#36 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,701 reviews
6.3 mi away
Wyndham Ocean Boulevard
Wyndham Ocean Boulevard
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
923 reviews
3.5 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Westwinds
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Westwin...
#5 of 40 in North Myrtle Beach
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham SeaWatch Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham SeaWatch Plantation

Property: Wyndham SeaWatch Plantation
Address: 151 Seawatch Dr, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-5370
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#52 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham SeaWatch Plantation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham SeaWatch Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Seawatch Plantation Hotel Myrtle Beach
Wyndham Hotel Myrtle Beach
Wyndham Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing