We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not be happier with my experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Ranked #5 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 3, 2009

My Family of six stayed at the Marina Inn at Grande Dunes in July of 2009. We drove from Massachusetts to Myrtle Beach(15hrs), wondering the whole way if it was going to be worth it. It was!! We arrived to the hotel at 8:30am. check-in was not until 4:00pm. After a 15hr. drive all we wanted to do was rest in the room. I requested an early check-in (upon arrival, not before), but our room was not ready at this time. The woman at the desk assured me that she would do what she could to get us in our room as soon as possible, she directed us to a resturant for breakfast and called me on my cell phone a half hour later to tell me our room was ready. I got used to this kind of exceptional service, it was consistant throughout the seven days we were there.
The Hotel its self is incredible, clean and modern. The location is excellent, 1-2 miles away from stores etc.. 5-6miles from attractions and only aprox. 2 miles from a huge private beach. The Hotel has a shuttle to the Beach if needed which seemed to operate flawlessly. Beach chairs, towels, and umbrellas are reserved for hotel guests, there is even a life guard that sets them up for you. If you drive yourself, there is a private parking lot, plenty of room, and no stress.
The resturants on sight were great, Ruth's Chris is right next door. Bring your wallet, but what a place for a dinner out.
The pool was clean, and pool side service was again exceptional. Drinks and food were always fast and delicious. The menu had something for everybody.
Now on to the best part, the rooms. We stayed in a two bedroom Villa. How Perfect!! plenty large enough for our family of six. I felf like we were the first to stay here, not a blemish. The bedrooms were large with comfortable bedding. The marble bathrooms (2 full) were a great touch. The large modern kitchen had everything we needed. Nothing cheep about the ameneties here. Views from balcony were awesome.
The search for a great place to stay in Myrtle Beach ends here. Don't let the fact that this Hotel isn't right on the ocean keep you from staying here, we almost did, and I would never had known what I was missing.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jshearns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,740)
There are newer reviews for Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,676 - 1,682 of 1,740 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2009

When my husband and I decided to come to Myrtle Beach for our honeymoon, we did a lot of research to narrow down our hotel choices. The Marina Inn at Grande Dunes ended up winning out. We had a bit of difficulty with our decision because the hotel is not beachfront. As it turns out, we were more than thrilled with our choice. We had a lovely view of the Intercoastal Waterway and Marina, and loved watching the boats pass by. The hotel also had a shuttle that ran to a private area of the beach. We ended up driving over there ourselves. It wasn't far at all, had a decent amount of parking, and there was a nice area with bathrooms and a large snack bar. Since we went in the off-season, this area wasn't open, but it looked like it could accomodate quite a few people.

The hotel itself was very nice. Check-in was quick and easy, and getting our things up to our room was a breeze thanks to great service. The valet not only helped us get our things to our room, but also took the time to show us the features of the room and help us settle in. We stayed in a Mediterranean Club Suite, which consisted of a full living area, a king-sized bed, a fireplace, a full kitchen, and a large bathroom with a huge walk-in shower and separate tub.

We didn't get the chance to eat in the hotel's restaurant, Waterscapes, but we did have the privilege of doing in-room dining, which is also provided by the restaurant. When we called down to order, we did have to leave a message, but we were called back within a very short time. The food was wonderful. We also ordered breakfast for the next day- just had to leave our requested menu and delivery time outside the door the night before. The food was again excellent, and was delivered within two minutes of the time we requested it. I would not hesitate to eat at the restaurant the next time we're there.

While we didn't take advantage of the outdoor pool area- which looked beautiful- we did enjoy the indoor pool. Everything was spotless and well-maintained, and there were plenty of towels. The pool area was on the floor below the lobby, which was nice. The elevator opened up almost right at the indoor pool area. I loved not having to walk through the main floor of the hotel to get to or from the pool- something I've had to do in other places I've stayed.

The service overall was excellent. If you needed anything all you had to do was call the front desk. They helped us make dinner reservations and answered any questions we had. Check-in and check-out was very easy. When it was time to leave we just had to call the front desk- someone was sent up to our room to help us with our luggage, and our car was already at the front door by the time we got down there. They even took a pair of pants that my husband needed laundered and promised to send them out first thing in the morning. He had them back by the same evening. From start to finish our experience at this hotel was wonderful. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peachkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

Having, after lengthy research selected the Marina Inn from TA. we were delighted with our choice.
Ideally, for just the two of us as golfers, it was upmarket, easy to access, free parking, brilliant suite, away from kids, seaside and noise. Good value only after booking for a week on 21 day min notice.
Concierge, Bill Ganz, organised our golf perfectly and sorted the one huge disappointment with Legends, getting us a full refund. Having paid $250 to find the place swamped with people paying a $29 'special' including breakfast and lunch and two pints(!), we took 5 hours to play 15 holes, finishing in the dark.
The room (Med Suite-5503) was absolutely excellent, big, very clean, great view, comfortable bed, lovely bathroom.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Decor beautiful.
Our only disappointment was the weather -cold (50F degrees) and quite wet for several days, but the hotel was a comfort to return too. We gather that was very unusual, but it was a surprise to find home in Scotland was a lot warmer and dryer!
But maybe switch off the air con please when it is so cold outside -save energy and warm us up!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanley6259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

We are a group of golfers who for the last 15 years have stayed and played in some of the best golf resorts in Europe and North America, without doubt this is the best hotel we've ever stayed in and it's all down to the marvellous staff employed there.
They treat you as if it was your own private hotel, a big thanks to Mark Burlyn & his team.
(were already planning next years trip there)
Phil, Kingswinford ,England.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrFussyhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

This is my first stay at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes. I loved the hotel. It was elegant and classy as well as a romnatic getaway. I would definitely recommend this hotel and plan to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicy1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

Thanks to tripadvisor reviews we decided to book this resort for our weekend stay. We loved it! From the moment we pulled into view we were sold . The grounds are lovely and quiet , great for relaxing. Our room was very large and comfortable , the balcony with wicker chairs and table were great. The bathroom was very large with a separate shower and tub ...the shower had a rain faucet that my husband fell in love with. The rooms were very quiet in the evening , my only complaint would be that the beds are harder than we are use to. The pool and pool area were very clean and there were plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas. The staff was very nice and helpful if you had any questions.And I highly recommend the breakfast at Waterscapes....the bananas foster french toast was amazing. We loved our stay here and can't imagine staying anywhere else on future trips to Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AWill99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Two of us went down to Myrtle Beach to golf for 5 days and this was the hotel that the trip company booked for us. The room was clean and spacious. The food in the restaurants was good although not spectacular. Best of all was the service supplied by the people working here. Any problems were taken care of quickly (our safe was left locked by the previous occupants and someone came to open it immediately and then apologized over and over again) and the maid did an excellent job. The guys who ran the valet parking were very nice and there was a shuttle service to places like the beach and the golf courses on the property. The concierge, Bill, was fabulous. He recommended several good restaurants outside the complex and arranged it for us. He also said we should call him directly to book our next golf trip which we most certainly will do.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haroldb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,181 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
5.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,175 reviews
2.4 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,335 reviews
1.3 mi away
Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Address: 8121 Amalfi Place, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-8157
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $135 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Inn at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located to top area attractions; AAA 4 diamond rated since 2007 and a 2011 TripAdvisor Top 25 Hotel in the US. Amenities include private access beach with full amenities; pools, whirlpools, sauna, workout facility, two golf courses and tennis onsite & summer children's activities. Additional amenities include: Wi-Fi, valet parking, concierge and in-room spa services. Dining options range from casual to elegant and include our signature restaurant WaterScapes and Ruths Chris also located onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Vacatia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Inn at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Inn At Grande Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marina Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marina Hotel At Grande Dunes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing