We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many trips to Myrtle Beach and this is the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Ranked #3 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
218 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Many trips to Myrtle Beach and this is the best”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Marina inn is not for everyone. For me it is one of the only places I would stay. Also on that short list could be the Marriott Vacation club. (they share beach access with the Marriott on the beach and Grand Dunes on the inlet). I personally enjoy the Grand Dunes for a few reasons; quiet off the strip & beach location, great pool, across the street from excellent golf, & the anchor cafe. I originally found this property off of VRBO.com and tropically see the prices are better there. The rooms are large and will provide you with everything you need.

Room Tip: Check out VRBO.com but the property website has great options as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolfpacker88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shauna H, Front Office Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Wolfpacker88888, Thank you very much for so many kind words about us. We truly appreciate the fact that we are your only choice every time you stay in Myrtle Beach. Its nice to know that you also found our location to be exactly what you were looking for. We hope that you continue to stay with us here at the Marina Inn and we look forward to having the chance to serve you again soon !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,198
    301
    118
    48
    20
See reviews for
606
582
34
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for Memorial Day Weekend. Everyone in this property from Kevin and Sky at the front desk to the housekeeping staff were incrediable. I myself am a member of the hospitality industry, I have never seen customer service performed at such a level of excellence. If I do return to Myrtle Beach I will definately stay here!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vernisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMatMarinaInn, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi Vernisha B! Thank you for choosing the Marina Inn for your Memorial Day vacation. The management and staff at the Marina Inn strive to provide excellent customer service and we are pleased to learn of you positive experience. The Marina Inn offers an excellent summer vacation experience as well so we hope you will take advantage of these options consider a return visit then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Beautiful hotel with nice pool and bar. They offer shuttles to their beach property but depending on how busy it is, kind of a hassle. View of the canal is So so. If you want to be out at night wear your mosquito repellent!, food is very good

Room Tip: Get a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthCarolinaTripgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaInnManager, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for taking time to let us know of your recent experience here at the Marina Inn at Grande Dunes. Thank you for the positive comments regarding the beautiful hotel and nice pool and bar. As you had mentioned we do provide beach shuttle throughout the day to and from our private beach access area. Although parking for our guests is also available at our private beach access we do encourage our guests to utilize the shuttle for a hassle free experience. I am very sorry that you did not find this to be the case. We again appreciate you taking time to provide your feedback and do hope to welcome you back again while visiting the Myrtle Beach area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is a beautiful Resort! Large spacious regular rooms, comfortable beds, great pool area. The only thing I saw lacking was pool side food and bar service, no one came around, you had to go hunting for someone to place an order with. Staff was friendly and location is lovely.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganPicturechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaInnManager, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
MichiganPicturech, Thank you so much for taking time to share your review of the Marina Inn at Grande Dunes! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in our spacious and comfortable rooms. We are glad you were able to enjoy our great pool area, but so sorry to hear the food service was not readily available for you. We will make sure that our food and beverages managers are aware as we continue to strive for perfection. When guests let us know about their experiences and about any challenges, this helps us immensely to continue to provide our exceptional four diamond service. We hope that you will join us in the near future here at the Marina Inn at Grande Dunes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My boyfriend and I spent three nights at the Marina Inn over Memorial Day weekend for a mini golf vacation and had an absolutely excellent time!

I worked with Bill Ganz to select four courses, reserve tee times, and book the hotel. He was incredibly helpful, gave me his honest opinions, and was consistently responsive. We wound up playing Pine Lakes, Wachesaw, Willbrook Plantation, and the Dunes resort course. All were beautiful, fun, and provided a good mix of difficulty. For someone who had never been to Myrtle Beach courses before, with a boyfriend who has played golf his entire life (and is a bit snobby about courses), Bill set up an absolutely perfect itinerary that we could enjoy with ease.

The hotel and surrounding property are also lovely. We stayed in a spacious and clean room, with a balcony overlooking the pool area and marina. Breakfast by the pool area was relaxing, the pool bar makes an excellent pina colada, and the Anchor cafe that juts out into the waterway was great for a sunset drink.

Nearby, we discovered Bemini's Oyster Bar on Yelp and fell in love instantly. We went back the following night. Amazing atmosphere, amazing seafood - I highly recommend the steamed pot of crab legs and oysters - and a refreshingly local / non-tourist-trap vibe.

Overall, I credit the Marina Inn and Bill's help for what turned out to be an excellent golf weekend. We will be back next Memorial Day to do it all over again!

Room Tip: Definitely try to get a room overlooking the marina / waterway / pool area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidinMB, General Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Francesca M: First let me say thank you for choosing to stay at The Marina Inn at Grande Dunes and thank you also for taking the time to write such a thorough review. Bill is excellent at what he does and loves golf…which shows every day. You played a great mix of courses and I am very glad you were able to experience just a little of what Myrtle Beach has to offer in Golf with over 90 local golf courses. Thank you for your great comments regarding our property, pool bar and great drinks…we truly have a beautiful resort on the Intracoastal Waterway. You will need to try our private beach when you next visit Myrtle Beach…you won’t be disappointed. Sincerely, David Nelson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My family has been visiting the Marina Inn a couple times a year since 2009 and we've never been disappointed! Unlike other resorts/luxury hotels, I never feel like I've wasted a penny at the Marina Inn (except when purchasing food). We arrived around 11am knowing that our room would'nt be ready until around 4pm. When you "pre-check in" you're allowed to enjoy the amenities while your room is being prepared; so we spent all day and had lunch at the beach. We received a courtesy call around 3pm informing us that our room was ready. I take advantage of the Lowe's Foods "to go" everytime we visit and it is such a time saver! We can order our groceries weeks in advance and they'll be delivered to our room the day we check-in! The delivery person will even offer to put them away for you (remember to tip well :-)! The only reason I didn't rate this stay as "excellent" is because after visiting the resort for a few years, you notice small imperfections like a few dark stains (likely permanent) in the carpet or the very lightly colored chaise lounge with multiple stains. However, none of these things would prevent me from visiting in the very near future. I LOVE the new balcony furniture and I could be wrong but it looks like our bathroom had new fixtures as well! If I could suggest a couple things they'd be to have needs anticipated like, an extra blanket in the room and sheets for the pull-out sofa so guests don't have to call down for these things and a list of popular food delivery places in the area. I know there is food available at the resort but it's extremely expensive with limited options. I spent $50 on two burgers, one hot dog and three bags of those chips that cost you $0.75 in a store. Also, for those of us that choose to take advantage of the amenities prior to check-in...it'd be nice to be able to show the lifeguard something to prove that we're guests. There's nothing more embarrassing than to have the lifeguard ask you, in front of everyone, to see your room key as "proof" when you don't have one. And Lastly, when you've been to a resort year after year after year...it would be nice if there were some kind of record of that so we aren't repeatedly asked if this is our first time staying. I know it's a small touch but it really makes the customer feel valued. Something like, "Welcome back Mr. & Mrs Terrell! We haven't seen you since your wedding anniversary!" would be nice. If Ruth's Chris can do it, I'm sure the Marina Inn can :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaInnManager, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Crystal T, Thank you for your detailed feedback on your stay here at the Marina Inn at Grande Dunes! We are glad that you enjoyed the pre-check in service that we provide here for our guests who arrive early. It is greatly appreciated that you pointed out the minor imperfections because we work consistently to improve our European-Style resort. As you may know our on-site restaurant “Waterscapes” is one of the best restaurants in Myrtle Beach and provides a fine dining experience for everyone who desires a great meal. We are glad that you enjoyed your most recent trip here and we are eager to help you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately we only got to stay one night and got there too late to really enjoy everything this hotel has to offer. After a debacle at the sheraton we were forced to find some where to stay last minute. It was almost 9pm when we got there after booking online. We were greeted as soon as we pulled up by a gentlemen with a warm demeanor. I went in to check in and the staff was very nice. They had desks to sit while being checked in. We were given a list of amenities and directed to the set of elevators that would take us to our room. The only draw back was the room numbers were not correlated to the floor they were on. We didn't quite figure out the numbering system so it would have been nice to know which floor we would find our room, but that's a minor issue. The room was fantastic with a great view from the balcony. We ordered room service and the lady that answered was very friendly as was the gentleman that delivered the food. The bed was comfortable and we had a great nights sleep. We called the front desk the next morning hoping to stay another night, but they were all booked up. We decided we will come back and stay at some point in the future for a get away

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stacey f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaInnManager, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Stacey F, Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback regarding your stay with us. We were so happy to hear your experience was a great one. We are so sorry we could not accommodate you on an additional night's stay due to being sold out but we would definitely love to welcome you back again soon! Thank you again for the great feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
1.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,089 reviews
2.4 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - Broadway At the Beach
1.3 mi away
Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Property: Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Address: 8121 Amalfi Place, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-8157
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Inn at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located to top area attractions; AAA 4 diamond rated since 2007 and a 2011 TripAdvisor Top 25 Hotel in the US. Amenities include private access beach with full amenities; pools, whirlpools, sauna, workout facility, two golf courses and tennis onsite & summer children's activities. Additional amenities include: Wi-Fi, valet parking, concierge and in-room spa services. Dining options range from casual to elegant and include our signature restaurant WaterScapes and Ruths Chris also located onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Inn at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Inn At Grande Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marina Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marina Hotel At Grande Dunes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing