We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Romantic Getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Ranked #6 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 12, 2014

End of February/Beginning of March-My husband and I recently decided to hop on a plane and head south for a mini trip to Myrtle Beach. We had such a great time, and I was very impressed at the Marina Inn at Grande Dunes. The valet gentlemen were very attentive and friendly. Joanne, the Guest Service Specialist (and more), made us feel like we were at a Bed and Breakfast. Our room was awesome-huge, with a fabulous balcony that overlooked their massive and gorgeous pool/spa area and marina. The amenities were lovely-bathrobes, mini fridge/kitchen, beautiful and large bath, and the pillows and comforters were awesome! We even had a bottle of champagne waiting for us in our room! The weather this time of year is a bit chilly (58-60), but there were fire pits in the pool/resort area!!! In the three days, two nights we stayed, we spent an afternoon wine tasting (there are several -we went to Carolina Vineyards but plan to go to LaBelle Amie or another actual vineyard), an afternoon visiting all the shops at Broadway By the Sea, and we hit several awesome restaurants (yes, my husband made me go to Captain George's for a seafood buffet, and it was really good!). There are so many great places to eat- go to WaterScapes at the Marina Inn - it's lovely, and is recognized as a top restaurant in Myrtle Beach. We had breakfast at Eggs Up, and it was great--we want to try Croissants (it got rave reviews) . If it's too cold for you this time of year, ask for a room with a fireplace-we plan to when we go back in the fall. I love the fact that this time of year the tourists haven't arrived in masses yet, so you experience the hotel, restaurants, and attractions in a stress-free, less crowded manner. Very romantic escape! Pack your sneakers and swim suit -they have an indoor pool as well, along with a fitness room. Can't wait for the outdoor bar to open in spring! Do go to the bar downstairs for happy hour!

Room Tip: Definitely get a room that overlooks the Intercoastal and Marina. Also, as mentioned, if it's c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank townsendwedding t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaInnManager, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear townsendwedding t, Thank you so much for the incredible feedback you have provided regarding your latest trip to the Myrtle Beach area! With so many options to choose from we are happy that you choose to stay with us during this recent trip. We appreciate the positive feedback you provided regarding our Valet staff as well as Joanne, one of our senior front office associates. Joanne is truly a shining star and we are lucky to be able to call her part of the team. We will be sure to share your comments regarding Joanne and the rest of the staff as it is always good for them to hear the feedback our guests are providing. We are glad you were able to take advantage of a number of our on-site amenities and are glad to hear they met your expectations. It seems you and your husband took full advantage of the incredible area attractions, shops and restaurants that the area has to offer and had an enjoyable stay all around. This is what we love to hear! Thank you so much again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back home this Fall!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,772)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

950 - 956 of 1,772 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

This place was an escape for us. It was comfortable and clean. The staff was extremely nice as well as helpful. I can't say anything bad about our stay. Well there was one bad thing, the checkout day. We weren't ready to leave.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hyperde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaInnManager, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Hyperde, Thank you so much for taking time to write such a positive review in regards to your most recent stay here at the Marina Inn at Grande Dunes. It seems like your tag line "Best Hotel Stay Ever" sums it up and we are so happy that you found this to be the case. We will be sure to share your positive feedback with our team members as they look forward to receiving positive feedback from our guests. During your next stay we will have to work on that pesky check-out day! We were just as sad to see you leave as you were to be leaving. We are definitely looking forward to welcoming you back again soon! Thank you again for the wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I searched online for his birthday weekend on March 8 2014. It was gorgeous and had spectacular views. The staff was amazing!!! We book through Expedia and it was a great off season price. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS TO EVERYONE. We will be back and are making a tradition out of it.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Krumpes33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaInnManager, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Krumpes33, We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Marina Inn at Grande Dunes! We appreciate your positive feedback and are excited to see that you will be making a tradition out of your visit to the property. We are definitely looking forward to having you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in MB for decades and wish I'd known about this place sooner! Our room had a separate full kitchen, king bed and fold out sofa, a fireplace and a private balcony overlooking the intercostal waterway. The Staff was super nice- very attentive- fast valet - fast and yummy room service-GREAT breakfast-bar off of the lobby(closes kinda early) the meeting rooms were nice- the lobby area has drinks/snacks and a few other items for sale, which was nice when I needed a last minute diet coke. The indoor heated pool is beside the workout room, both are a nice size and look great my daughter loves the pool! We will definitely be back!

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Teri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaInnManager, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Teri S, Thank you so much for your recent review regarding the Marina Inn at Grande Dunes. We were so happy to see your positive feedback regarding your stay with us. We were very happy to hear you enjoyed your large room with the full kitchen, fireplace and private balcony. We will be sure to share your positive comments regarding our staff with them as they always enjoy receiving positive feedback. We are already anticipating your return to your new home away from home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This hotel is okay. The staff is nice enough. There's a resort fee, not terribly expensive, but you'll get it by it the moment you check-in. It includes free coffee, wi-fi . . . Maybe it's a seasonal thing, but there was no breakfast restaurant in this resort. Waterscapes restaurant in the resort was nice/good, expensive. The "Reflections" bar in the resort served food, sub-par. We ordered what was supposed to be a 1/2# cooked "medium" hamburger and fries [to share] was a 1/4# well-done hamburger on a fast food style bun and cold fries . . .for $14. Disappointing. I think the bartender was glad we had a couple wines by that time and we're starving.

Pool was fine, clean. Towels, chairs provided -- faces a waterway. I guess we were lucky that it was early March and basically non-peak season.

If you're even remotely serious about working out, you may find the "gym" disappointing. I choose to go to a YMCA about 2 miles away. Plus, there's a really nice walk/run/bike trail that weaves from the hotel to the Y. The Y charges a $12 day fee/but there is in/out privileges. Huge class list throughout the day.


Charleston. Great day trip. About 2 hours away. Take a walking/carriage tour of the area. Book in advance. Take advantage of some great restaurants. We went to lunch at Husk.

Hungtington Beach State Park -- about 20 miles away. Walking trail. Beach access, clean/quiet -- better place to hang out if you have chairs/towels with you. Nice enough to see and spend time.

Myrtle Beach boardwalk. Okay, very family oriented and touristy. Beach access.

Murrells Inlet: not much. Some restaurants. Touristy.

La Belle Amie Winery: close to the resort. Nice. Friendly people. Obviously, you're not in Napa/Sonoma but it killed some time on a chiller day.

Room Tip: Not sure how to choose a "good" room. Seems to be luck of the draw. I think we were ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly F, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you cs11 for taking the time to provide a very detailed and thorough review of your recent stay. We appreciate both the kind and the constructive comments. Our team strives to maintain the highest level of quality and comfort in our accommodations as well as engaging hospitality. I apologize for the challenges that you experienced with your meal at Reflections. It is a priority for our team to make sure you are happy with all aspects of your stay. It is extremely disappointing to hear that we fell short on that goal. We hope to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to the Myrtle Beach area to share our continued product improvement and unfailing service! We also invite you to try our award-winning restaurant; Waterscapes, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We visited Myrtle Beach to watch my daughter's college softball team play at Coastal Carolina. I researched several hotels and condos in the area to find a 4-5 star type hotel. I was surprised that Myrtle Beach did not have many. The Marina Inn at Grand Dunes and the Marriott kept coming up as the 2 best hotels in Myrtle Beach. The Marina Inn did not disappoint. From the moment we arrived from the valet experience to check in (beautiful lobby) to walking through the doors of our beautiful room, the Marina Inn exceeded our expectations. This is a beautiful 4 diamond hotel. First class all the way. We were able to meet the GM and he treated us like royalty.

The rates are much more reasonable at the Marina Inn due to it being on the Intercoastal Canal (rather than the ocean), but the views of the canal and the golf course are quite beautiful. We rented a 2 bedroom which was very spacious. It had a full kitchen, eating area, large living room, 2 nice size bedrooms and 2 large bathrooms. The rooms are decorated very upscale and warm, unlike many of those tacky, minimal and cold feeling beach condos. Our rate was less than what I would pay for a hotel room on the beach and a lot nicer.

So if you don't mind not staying on the beach, this is the best property in Myrtle Beach. Request a canal view. The fireplace was a nice touch, especially since the nights were cold. I really like the concept of this hotel being like a condo with huge rooms and 2 bedroom options. However, since the rooms are owned by the hotel (and not individual owners), the décor is first class and consistent. We have stayed at a number of very nice beach condos where the owners cheap out on the furnishings. So two thumbs up for the Marina Inn at Grand Dunes.

Room Tip: Request a canal view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaInnManager, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Bob B. Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate the positive comments regarding your stay and were so happy to hear that our facility did not disappoint. Although we of course prefer warmer weather we are glad that you were able to enjoy the fireplace in your spacious two-bedroom suite while it was a bit cold here at the beach. We would agree that although we are not right on the beach the views of the waterway, marina and golf courses are just as breathtaking. Hopefully during your next visit it will be a bit warmer and you can take advantage of our shuttle service to our private beach access area. We again are very happy you enjoyed your stay and we do look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed at the Marina Inn at Grande Dunes for the second time over president's week. It was such a wonderful experience. Our first visit was several years ago and I always remembered the hotel because of its excellent service and beautiful surroundings. I always wanted to return. My memory did not fail me. Everything about the resort is just wonderful. Every staff member is friendly, polite, and helpful in all the right ways, sincere!!! The suites are beautiful, the bathrooms are luxurious, the kitchens have everything you need. Even the grocery store down the road is beautiful. We used the pool and the outdoor hot tubs. The facilities are all immaculate. The views from the pool and hot tub area are lovely. It is all very relaxing. We just love the restaurant. The food is fresh, local and delicious. I look forward to returning again. Five stars!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4504. It was a three bedroom suite. The view of the waterway was lovely. When I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BW123Summit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaInnManager, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

BW123Summit, We appreciate you taking time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us here at the Marina Inn at Grande Dunes. We were very happy to hear that you were able to return again after staying with us a few years back. We were even more happy to hear that you enjoyed this stay as much as the last. Thank you so much for the kind words regarding our staff being friendly and polite. We will be sure to share this with them as it is always nice to hear what our guests are saying. Thank you again for your wonderful review and we do hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.4 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#4 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,358 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
1.2 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
4.9 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,070 reviews
9.6 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Address: 8121 Amalfi Place, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-8157
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#2 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $121 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Inn at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located to top area attractions; AAA 4 diamond rated since 2007 and a 2011 TripAdvisor Top 25 Hotel in the US. Amenities include private access beach with full amenities; pools, whirlpools, sauna, workout facility, two golf courses and tennis onsite & summer children's activities. Additional amenities include: Wi-Fi, valet parking, concierge and in-room spa services. Dining options range from casual to elegant and include our signature restaurant WaterScapes and Ruths Chris also located onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, Vacatia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marina Inn at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Inn At Grande Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marina Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marina Hotel At Grande Dunes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing