We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Ranked #5 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I've stayed at the hotel twice and had a wonderful experience both times. My most recent trip was a mom/sisters long weekend. We reserved a 3 bedroom suite. The room and view was gorgeous. The hotel personnel were exceptionally friendly and the service was quick and satisfying. I wish that I could remember all of the names of those who gave us wonderful service: The young lady who worked valet/bell service, the service staff at the pool bar and the anchor café, the delightful hostess and our knowledgeable, personable waiter at the Waterscapes restaurant all made our trip so memorable. We loved Waterscapes, dining outdoor and ordering their room service. The food was excellent and reasonably priced. I can't wait to go back with my husband!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Number6of11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIExec, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Number6of11,
It was so nice to hear from you and to find out that your family had such a great time at our resort. Thank you for taking time to acknowledge our “exceptionally friendly” staff that you encountered throughout your stay. Our chef was pleased to hear that your family enjoyed the food and that you found the pricing to be reasonable. We too are looking forward to you returning with your husband in the near future.
Sincerely,
Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,176
    297
    115
    47
    20
See reviews for
594
566
34
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Best place we've stayed in MB. We were really looking forward to sleep (we have a child with special needs and have slept with a monitor since the day he was born). We were upgraded upon check-in to a 2 room unit. The room was giant and had a nice view of the Intracoastal. We slept very well and enjoyed the very attractive pool area. The carpets in the hotel need to be re-done, and room furniture was tired looking, but otherwise a great alternative to the other MB options on the beach. If you want a more grown-up spin on the Myrtle Beach hotel scene this is your best bet (especially in the shoulder season). We ordered room service for breakfast and I probably wouldn't do that again. It was a 3 star experience...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIExec, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hi Stephanie L. Thank you for choosing the Marina Inn for your recent visit to Myrtle Beach. I’m glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay and that you were offered a complimentary upgrade with a great view of the waterway when you arrived. It also means a lot to us that you felt our property was the “best place” you’ve stayed in Myrtle Beach. There are quite a few options for accommodations in our area and it means the world to us that you chose to stay with us. I was disappointed to hear that you felt the furniture and carpet in the unit was “tired looking” and that your room service experience fell short of the 5-star experience we strive to deliver each of our guests. We are working to address these concerns and appreciate you taking time to share your thoughts with us. Thank you again for taking the time and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham
Level Contributor
113 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed 1 night on our way back from Charleston. Picked this up on one of the blind sites and was happy that we paid their reduced rates. The room was comfortable but the carpets looked like a frat party was just there. We changed rooms and it was marginally better.

Pretty far away from everything which is good at the same time.

If they pick up their socks on the carpet I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelcritic-ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIExec, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Good morning Travelcritic-ca and thank you for taking time to share your feelings on your recent stay at the Marina Inn. I’m so glad that the room was comfortable for you despite your concerns with the carpeting. We have been addressing the carpet in our rooms over the last few months however, with the traffic they see during the summer months they need even more attention when things slow down a little. I hope that you were able to enjoy some of the other amenities and comforts of our Resort during your stay. I appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns with us and hope that you will choose the Marina Inn to stay next time you are passing through the Myrtle Beach area.
Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were so so disappointed. This hotel makes attempts to lure you into thinking they are exclusive. They are a three out of five on a good day -- a very good day. We had trouble checking in, computers were down. Looking for a romantic weekend, we were greeted with queen beds and horribly old wrinkled up carpet as a first impression. Upon returning to correct what I thought was an oversight, I was dismissed by the front desk clerk. It was just a job to her and she made that very clear to me that she had no desire to hear me or help me. I had to take a shower before our dinner reservations. The shower was dirty and not working. It had a very slow drip. I tried because I was short on time and could not wash the soap off. I tried to call the front desk and could not get a single extension. I finally got someone on the sixth attempt. The hotel must be seriously understaffed. We travel frequently and this was a first. A maintenance man was sent up to repair the shower. He said it was totally clogged and had to be replaced. This makes me question the maid service. Why wasn't this discovered in cleaning? The maintenance guy left a dirty footprinted towel that greeted us upon our return and there was debris left in shower. Incidentally, we had a terrible appetizer in the bar and "green" Hawaiians prior to finding our room. Sunday morning, we were awakened by children screaming down the hall for their grandparent. Tried to get a late check out on Sunday and they were not very flexible. Sunday was planned to be a pool day. We figured it was off season and barely saw people in the hall. No real flexibility, we just checked out and left. We have visited Myrtle many times and are still seeking something in the four/five star range with no luck. We were hoping this could be our sanctuary four. They could move up a notch by replacing carpet and working on customer service with something that is not robotic and superficial. On a plus, the valet center was awesome! They were quick, accomodating, and spot on every single time.

Room Tip: The rooms are very large but not luxurious....tired and worn looking. The overlook to the pool is ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidinMB, General Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Deb H: Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of The Marina Inn at Grande Dunes and I am so sorry that you were disappointed. I am sorry there was an issue with our computers at check in…that is rarely an issue here but I am sorry it started your visit out with a delay. We are in the middle of having carpets stretched and cleaned as I write this. Most importantly, I am sorry for your experience with the desk clerk. You and your experience is extremely important to all of us and if you did not feel that was the case, I am terribly sorry. I am also sorry for the issue with your shower. Yes they are inspected during daily cleaning. I am glad our engineering staff was able to make the repair but I am sorry for the dirty towel that was left. In summary there are quite a few things that happened that should not have and I am using your constructive details to do some retraining. Please know that our staff genuinely cares and I am truly sorry that did not reflect with your experience. I promise that your comments do not fall on deaf ears and will be used to make improvements immediately. Thank you for taking the time to let us know these details. It will help to make us better. Thanks again!!
David Nelson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I had the opportunity to stay at the Marina Grande Dunes in Myrtle Beach and were in awe of the hotel from the moment we stepped into the lobby! What a luxurious place! We were given a 2-bedroom condo with a great view overlooking the intercoastal waterway. The kitchen was big enough for two people to move about in, counters covered in granite, appliances were stainless steel. The master bedroom really had the "wow" factor, with a super large bathroom. Even though Marina Inn is not on the ocean, this place was so great and so close to everything in the area, we did not even consider that a problem. I hated to leave! We would definitely recommend this anyone thinking about staying in a really nice place in Myrtle Beach!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ASPSouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIExec, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
I am pleased to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us and that the decor of our lobby and the spaciousness of our rooms were to your liking. It was nice to hear that you appreciated the location of the Resort and all the places that we have nearby to enjoy. Thank you for taking time to post this review and for recommending our Resort to others. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family and I decided on the Mariana Inn @ Grande Dunes in Myrtle Beach partly due to the reviews. We selected the Mediterranean suite (5404), a studio with a full kitchen and pullout sofa and expansive bathroom. I must say the suite was pretty clean and the linen was decent. Although the resort isn't ocean front, the service is great. The resort provides a shuttle to their private beach which put a smile on my face everyday ( no crowds). I certainly would return and definitely will recommend this property to my family and friends. Next trip we'll reserve the 2 bedroom. I would have given 5 stars but the service charge is a little high; try $45.00 for 2 burgers, fries. Just bring your own lunch to the beach and there are plenty of restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Select a room facing the intercostal waterway and on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pecantann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidinMB, General Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Pecantan: Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of your recent stay. I am glad you enjoyed the Mediterranean suite…it is one of our most popular. Thank you also for your great comments about the resort, our private beach and the service your received. Everyone strives to offer the best experience possible for every guest and I am glad you found that to be the case. We are introducing a new Burgers menu with lower prices and a great assortment. We have heard we have some of the best burgers on the beach and are expanding our offering to make the selection more fun and different…..thank you for your input! We look forward to having you back soon!! All the best
David Nelson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Baltic suite which was a spacious room with two queen beds and a great balcony with view on the intermodal canal. Valet parking was included. Great breakfast where the kids eat free! Nice pool and a great shuttle bus to their own beach side. Cool cabana with reasonably priced hot dogs. Free beach chair with parasols. Beach is really fabulous for the East coast. We would recommend this hotel anytime.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank WhodatBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIExec, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear WhodatBelgium,
Thank you for taking time to share your family’s positive experience with others in the Trip Advisor community. It is nice to hear that you and your family were able to enjoy many of the extra amenities that our Resort provides for our guests and that the spaciousness of the Baltic suite was comfortable for you. We appreciate the kind words and your willingness to recommend our Resort to others. We hope that you and your family will come “sea” us again real soon.
Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
1.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,053 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - Broadway At the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
5.0 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Property: Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Address: 8121 Amalfi Place, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-8157
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Inn at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located to top area attractions; AAA 4 diamond rated since 2007 and a 2011 TripAdvisor Top 25 Hotel in the US. Amenities include private access beach with full amenities; pools, whirlpools, sauna, workout facility, two golf courses and tennis onsite & summer children's activities. Additional amenities include: Wi-Fi, valet parking, concierge and in-room spa services. Dining options range from casual to elegant and include our signature restaurant WaterScapes and Ruths Chris also located onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Inn at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Inn At Grande Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marina Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marina Hotel At Grande Dunes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing