We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Clean and well kept” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Ranked #3 of 216 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hopewell, Virginia
Level Contributor
398 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Clean and well kept”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at marina Inn Grande Dunes for several years on our annual men's golf trip. Bill Ganz ,their golf concierge, is excellent The rooms are large, clean and well maintained. The breakfast buffet is good and quick. The location is central to most courses in North Myrtle. I only wish it were on the ocean instead of the intercostal waterway

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank molarman26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidinMB, General Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear David

Thank you for your recent review and thank you for being a return guest of The Marina Inn at Grande Dunes.

Bill Ganz, our golf concierge, was recently promoted from hotel concierge and your comments regarding Bill are gratifying. Bill really cares about our visiting golfers and their experience and I am glad his efforts are noticed. Thank you also for your comments regarding our room size, cleanliness and condition. These are all priorities for us and your comments are appreciated.

Our location on the Intra-coastal allows us to be in the hub of activity while still being a relaxing and quiet experience. Just a reminder, we do have our own private beach, which we are happy to take you to, which is less than a mile away….our drivers are at your beckon call. David, once again, thank you for your great feedback and I look forward to your return next year….if not….sooner!! All the best, David Nelson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,133
    288
    112
    44
    20
See reviews for
578
539
34
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Castine, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

new hotel on the intercoastal waterway. Nice large rooms.Light in bathroom was dim. Only breakfast option was a $14.95 pre fix - so we went out each AM to find breakfast. Only valet parking so a tip is an additional cost each time you leave or return to the hotel. Noise level in room above the pool was not relaxing, especially the loud music.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms over the pool - which most are! Choose one on the back side, overlooking the intercoasta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidinMB, General Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Gene,

Thank you for your recent review of The Marina Inn at Grande Dunes.

As you mentioned we are one of the newest properties in Myrtle Beach, thank you for staying with us. Our breakfast buffet which you refer to, is completely optional and our ala-carte menu is always available. (By the way, the breakfast buffet, which golfers love because it’s so quick, also includes eggs to order and pancakes cooked to order…it’s a pretty good deal and our comments have been very positive.)

Valet parking is always free to our hotel guests and the tip is completely optional. I have reinforced this policy with our bell and valet team….a lot of guests will give a tip once a day, if they come in and out frequently….or at the end of their stay, but please know this is completely optional and the service is FREE to all hotel guests.

If a room around the pool is not your cup of tea, I would recommend a room overlooking the Intra-coastal…..the view is both relaxing and scenic. You can watch boats of all sizes cruise by or watch golfers playing the Grand Dunes Course while sitting on your deck.

I look forward to you seeing you when you return!! All the best, David Nelson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wilkesboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our association held a conference at Martina Inn at Grande Dunes in April. The accommodations, conference rooms, food and service staff were fantastic! I would recommend this location to anyone planning an event in the Myrtle Beach area.

Room Tip: If you have a large group traveling together consider the 3 bedroom suite - very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidinMB, General Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Linda,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. There is nothing more gratifying for us in the hospitality business than to have satisfied guests. Your comments regarding our conference space, food and service are appreciated more than I can express. Your positive experience is what we strive for each day! On behalf of our entire team, thank you! We hope you have you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I totally enjoy my stay. The staff was very friendly and the valets were great. My only negative is that housekeeping needs to do more than make the beds and take out the thrash. This hotel is beautiful and I would rate as a 5 star experience, but housekeeping staff barely cleans the room.

Room Tip: Suites are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TevesterS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Our Daughters wedding was at the Members Club at grand Dunes during the month of April 2013.The majority of our guests stayed at the Marina Inn and everyone had a positive experience with the hotel.The rooms are oversized and the bathrooms are very attractive and modern.I would highly recommend staying at this hotel or planning an event at this venue.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wylie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

My wife and I were looking forward to staying at what Trip Advisor rated as a 4 1/2 star facility. Not sure who is rating this place, but they must have low standards. It took 45 minutes one evening to get Housekeeping to bring us 2 clean bath towels because the maid forgot to replace them when she cleaned the bathroom. The next day we did not get our room cleaned till after 6 pm. The front desks reply was "obviously we are running behind". We had to put hand towels at the base of the shower because it leaked water on the floor. The lights in the room flickered on and off for no reason all week. The tile floors in the entry hall and bathroom had hair on them and a soapy very slippery film. The carpeting in the hallway outside of our room was never vacuumed the entire week of our stay. The front desk check in is cumbersome and not well organized. The Marina Inn is living on its past laurels as it is not worth the price of admission nor is it a 4 1/2 star facility. Kenny G.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidinMB, General Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Laurie and Kenny G,

That you for your thorough review of The Marina Inn at Grande Dunes. First let me thank you for staying with us and I am terribly sorry we dropped the ball in so many areas.
Most of your issues revolve around the quality of housekeeping and I am happy to report that as a direct result of your issues, we have retrained our team in the fundamentals. This includes but has not been limited to inventorying replacement linen, overall cleanliness and getting rooms cleaned on time.
We have revisited the check-in process and feel we have made improvements to our system and the experience. We also hired a professional glass company to repair all shower doors that were leaking….this project is about 50% complete as of this writing.
Once again, I want to thank you for taking the time to let us know what you experienced. It is only thru feedback such as yours, that we can continue to make improvements. Your comments are not just appreciated…they are welcomed.
I look forward to your return visit where I am sure you will see the many improvements due to your caring input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My daughter & her now husband booked the Marina Inn at Grande Dunes for their March 23rd wedding, it was supposed to be outdoors in the courtyard, but weather would not allow. The staff assured us inside the ballroom would be wonderful, they went far above and beyond to accommodate our every need and also anticipated things we didn't think of. I reserved a two bed suite so the bridal party could enjoy lunch and two bathrooms while preparing for the event, I wanted to deliver most of our personal and lunch and brunch items early, check in was at 4:00pm but a request was made of housekeeping to expediate and we were in the room by 11:00, so greatful, also decorations were delivered day before and even though peparation for a high prom was in process they found the time and room for us to store our decorations. I was up in our room with my daughter and when the cake was being displayed, the staff took the inciative to look in our leftover decorations to complete a beautiful cake table, something that I did not have the time to do, these people know what they are doing when it comes to making a dream wedding. The ballroom was beautiful and was secured away from the set up tables for the reception, after the ceremony all enjoyed cocktail hour and the ball room was transformed into what my daughter had dreamed of, right down to all the candles being lit, we were continuely updated throughout the entire event of food service, bar tab, ect. A place to book your event even if your a control freak like me, as they cover all requests, and go way beyond your expectations. Sincerely, Debbie Dawson

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
1.2 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
5.0 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,944 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
2.4 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Property: Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Address: 8121 Amalfi Place, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-8157
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Inn at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located to top area attractions; AAA 4 diamond rated since 2007 and a 2011 TripAdvisor Top 25 Hotel in the US. Amenities include private access beach with full amenities; pools, whirlpools, sauna, workout facility, two golf courses and tennis onsite & summer children's activities. Additional amenities include: Wi-Fi, valet parking, concierge and in-room spa services. Dining options range from casual to elegant and include our signature restaurant WaterScapes and Ruths Chris also located onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Marina Inn at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Inn At Grande Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marina Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marina Hotel At Grande Dunes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing