We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Myrtle Beach finally has a great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Ranked #6 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Myrtle beach has always been to me that tourist trip family beach that you shake your head after you realize what it cost you and what you recieved. This has changed my friend. The service here is top notch almost to the wquaility of a boutique hotel. The rooms are well appointed and very current. The restaurant Waterscapes is unbelievable. My pork chop melted in my mouth. The dinner was so good we went back the next day and it was again great. The golf is world class and on Golf Digest's top 100. We will return.

Room Tip: water front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel2MyrtleBch, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2011

Lauren S, We are so glad that you found us here in Myrtle Beach and that you gave us the opportunity to welcome you to the Marina Inn at Grande Dunes! We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and that you gave us the chance to accommodate you. We work very hard to be sure each of our guests has a wonderful experience and we are very happy to hear that we were able to accomplish this for you! Chef James Clark and his staff will be very pleased to hear your thoughts on the Pork Chops as well! We appreciate you taking the time to write your review on tripadvisor and we absolutely look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,756)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,430 - 1,436 of 1,756 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2011

I had stayed in this hotel soon after its opening for just one night to attend a wedding the following day. I remember being pleased that a nice hotel had opened in Myrtle Beach, though it was not on the water. The wedding was not at the hotel, so other than admiring the landscaping and the room itself, I did not see much of the property.

This go round, I was attending a conference in the hotel and spent a lot of time on property. I was again pleasantly surprised at how nice the property is... The room is nicely furnished and had a pretty view of boats in the marina. The bathroom is particularly nice. I had to have room service for dinner and for breakfast a couple of days so I could work, and it was very good both times.

The conference space was VERY nice and the staff did an excellent job. The pool was too small and crowded for my taste, but I imagine most people went to the beach club. We have friends in nearby Murrell's Inlet, so we didn't make it to the beach.

Would be the ONLY place I would stay if I had to travel to Myrtle Beach again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

establishment was clean. clean is important, for any customer.

Room Tip: ask to take a look before being assigned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cgreencharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Property easy to get to and convenient to all types of shopping. Room is spacious and very clean. Property is 5 years old and well kept. Restaurant is literately a 4 star by AAA and a 5 star by my bride and me. Lynn the consire was soo helpful. she reserved seats and gave excellent off property eating recommends. Great bar and bar tender. Generous pours and great snack (sweet-hots). reservation desk was also very helpful when Lynn was not available. Looks like challenging golf course on the property but we did not get to chance it. We would highly recommend this resort for romance, family and business gathering.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the first floor. Too many people having too good a time late night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank460912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel2MyrtleBch, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2011

54171 Frank, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us here at the Marina Inn at Grande Dunes! And even more importantly, thank you for choosing the Marina Inn as your place to stay for such a special occasion! Maybe this can become your anniversary tradition! You are correct; the Marina Inn at Grande Dunes is going into our 5th year of operation and the housekeeping team works extra hard to ensure that the rooms look as good as they had on opening day. I am glad that Lynn was able to provide you with some recommendations on places to eat, she does always seems to know the best spots! The Resort Course at Grande Dunes that you are referring to is a par 72 with seven holes that play along the Intracoastal Waterway. It has numerous elevation changes, wide Bermuda fairways, generous bent grass greens and more than 34 acres of freshwater lakes. Next time you are a guest here at the Marina Inn at Grande Dunes you may want to try to get that round of golf in! Again we were delighted to have you as a guest during your anniversary and wish you many, many more to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

My aunt surprised us with a two-night stay at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes for our honeymoon last weekend, and it could not have been more perfect. The facility is beautiful, unlike anything else you will find in Myrtle Beach. Each staff member was courteous and unassuming. They pretty much leave you alone, but expedite your requests with excellent service and attitude. A very professional staff.

We stayed in the 2 bedroom suite, and the room was INCREDIBLE. Like staying in your rich friend's apartment. The furnishings were exquisite, and there was more than enough space for 4-6 people. The linens and beds were very comfortable, slept well every night. The bathrooms are huge, with separate toilets. The master has a separate shower and a fairly large tub. Our terrace looked out over the bridge, Intracoastal Waterway, and one of the golf courses. It was so nice to have coffee in the morning out there. And this was the first time I have ever stayed in a room with a FIREPLACE! Oh, it was wonderful. It can get pretty nippy in Myrtle Beach in winter months, and we enjoyed the fire each night and even turned it on in the mornings. We had a delicious, homestyle breakfast one morning, and the room service presentation was first-rate. I was very pleased with the price for the quality of service and accommodations.

We were not really taking in the sights, since we are residents and on a honeymoon, but Marina Inn is also very close to everything you want to do and see in Myrtle Beach - the beach, Barfeoot Landing, Broadway, theme restaurants. And I didn't eat there, but Ruth's Chris on site is supposed to be truly amazing.

Trust me, you don't want to trade in this great stay just to be on the beach. Most of the "nicer" properties on the beach are dirty, run-down, rat holes - a total crap shoot, since you are dealing with condo owners. It's just a few minutes to the beach anyway. Marina Inn has outdoor activities on the Grand Lawn, and the indoor pool and workout facilities are gorgeous. Had we been staying longer, we would definitely have used more of the amenities. The outdoor pool area is paradise, and apparently still open for brave, Nordic souls even in the winter.

This hotel is very close to being a five star property, so if you are looking for that sort of stay in the Myrtle Beach area, this is the ONLY place for you. There are no other hotels along the Grand Strand that offer this much luxury. And if the size and quantity of luxury yachts parked in the Grande Dunes Marina is any indication, Marina Inn is the creme de la creme.

Room Tip: The fireplace is WORTH IT in winter months, and if you want a more peaceful view with less busy-ness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TiffanySpiffany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel2MyrtleBch, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Tiffany N, Congratulations on the wedding! We wish you all the best with an abundance of love for a very long time to come! We feel very lucky that we were able to contribute even in a small way on such an important milestone in your life. Thank you for spending your honeymoon here at the Marina Inn at Grande Dunes! We also wanted to thank you for all of the wonderful comments regarding your experience here at the Marina Inn. We would agree that the fireplace is well worth it! Especially this time of year, it adds a very nice touch. We are very happy that you found the two-bedroom suite to be more then accommodating for you and your new husband. We do get a large number of families that choose the two-bedroom suites in the summer months because of how spacious they are. Thank you so much again for taking time to write this review. We would be very excited to welcome you back next year for your first year wedding anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Where to begin, let me first say "WOW!" Marina Inn, is not only a great hotel in Myrtle Beach. It has some of the best and friendliest staff, all members do their best to accomadate and make your stay a pleasant one. We decided to have our Marine Corps Ball here, there was not 1 complaint about our event. Merrill, Marissa, Crystie and the rest of the staff did everything to make sure we were well taken care of. All the smallest of details were done, rooms, food, ball room. You name it, it was my best ball I have attended to date. Will recommend and will personally stay when I come visit Myrtle Beach.

Raymundo Perez
GYSGT USMC

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GunnyP81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel2MyrtleBch, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

GunnyP81, we appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience here at the Marina Inn during the Marina Ball. Considering what you all do for us on a daily basis we were honored to serve you all while you were here for your event. We are so happy that you found the staff to be friendly and that everyone with your group found the event to be a good one. One of our main goals here at the Marina Inn at Grande Dunes is to make each and every person feel welcome and at home and when we hear that we were able to do that it makes us very proud. Thank you so much for giving us the opportunity to do that for you all. We look forward to welcoming you back as a group as well as you as an individual

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

The Marina Inn at Grand Dunes offers a fabulous location, delicious dining experience at WaterScapes and beautifully designed golf courses (Resort and Members courses). After staying at the marina last year, we decided to return for a stay at the Marina Inn to celebrate our anniversary!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seaandtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel2MyrtleBch, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Seaandtee, thank you so much for deciding to stay at the hotel after your visit to our Marina last year. We always love to see those guests that are able to enjoy different aspects of the property, weather staying on a boat at our Marina or in one of our units here in the hotel. We were thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant, WaterScapes as well as our two golf courses, the Resort Course and Members Club. We are curious to see which of the two courses you found to be more of a challenge as we are always looking for feedback from our guests. We do appreciate you taking time out of your busy day to write a review of the property and we are looking forward to having you back as our guests at either the Marina or the Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
1.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#16 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,214 reviews
5.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
4.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,195 reviews
2.4 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#5 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Address: 8121 Amalfi Place, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-8157
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#2 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $125 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Inn at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located to top area attractions; AAA 4 diamond rated since 2007 and a 2011 TripAdvisor Top 25 Hotel in the US. Amenities include private access beach with full amenities; pools, whirlpools, sauna, workout facility, two golf courses and tennis onsite & summer children's activities. Additional amenities include: Wi-Fi, valet parking, concierge and in-room spa services. Dining options range from casual to elegant and include our signature restaurant WaterScapes and Ruths Chris also located onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Expedia, Vacatia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Marina Inn at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Inn At Grande Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marina Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marina Hotel At Grande Dunes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing