We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't stay here unless you brought your cleaning supplies”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carolina Tarheel Motel
Ranked #125 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed April 21, 2009

The big NO REFUND sign when we checked in should have warned me. But the price seemed reasonable. ($50 per night). I asked about the pool when we checked in because the sign said heated pool but the pool looked dirty. He said it wasn't open yet. I asked him did that make people change their minds he said the price usually is what attracted people. He gaves us our key to room 204 and the remote for the tv and off we went. The only steps we saw going up to the second floor were at the end of the hotel so we used those. They are the old timey metal wind around kind. Charming but dangerous. (I can't imagine that it is safe to climb them when you are wet from the pool.)
We got to our room it looked ok. A little run down but ok from first impressions. My husband was doing a walk through and he sais cool a kitchenette. But that soon turned to disgust. There was mold in the refrigerator and on the floor around the refrigerator. There was old food on the stove top and crumbs all in the kitchen chairs. There was actually food still on the silverware IN the cabinet. (The note on the back of the door said the maid does not do dishes and they will charge you $20 for leaving dirty dishes. Well apparently they were serious about not doing them no matte what!) GROSS. So needless to say we did not go in there again except to turn on the a/c (it is in the kitchen)
Next stop the bathroom. The two biggest issues I had was that there was hair from previous guests, there was tried blood on the wall next to the sink, and the showere curtain was moldy. It is hard to take a shower in a hotel without the showere curtain sucking up near you and it was awful trying to keep it from touching me. There were a few other issues with the bathroom like not alot of water pressure and the drain stopped up but that sometimes happens in older hotels.
Another thing is the lamp over the bed didn't work we discovered that it was unplugged and then we discovered for good reason. There was black electrical tape around the cord and the wall socket cover was broken and exposed the plug. I am not sure but I think that is a fire hazard.
The ice machine did not work and when I asked about it the woman said that she thought it had been broke "a couple of days". There was so much dust on the top of it you could tell it had been broken for awhile and the lid was broken so when you lifted it you thought it would come off in your hand.
The first night we were there a couple of rooms next to us had some rowdy kids in them but they weren't too bad, just yelling out a few times but they settled down pretty quick.
We had decided to make the most of the situation because of the no refund sign so we didn't use the kitchen and tried to clean up the rest a little bit so we would be comfortable.
I think the mom and pop hotels of old are slowly being taken over by people just trying to make a buck. Even if they are old they can still at least be clean. This one wasn't.
MY ADVICE: DON'T STAY HERE UNLESS YOU BRING CLEANING SUPPLIES AND ARE WILLING TO CLEAN IT BEFORE YOU STAY IN IT. I did add photos so that people could see what room 204 looks like so if they stay in it hopefully it won't look like that.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank penind41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolinaTarheelMB, owner at Carolina Tarheel Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2009

Not once did this guest come to management with any complaints. If they weren't satisfied when they checked into their room, they should have come right back to the office and explained why they were not content. They easily could have been moved to another room or given a refund. We have never denied a valid refund request. The pool was not open in April because it was still too cool. The pool opens in May once it is warm enough for guests to enjoy the water. The pool is no longer heated because it is cost-prohibitive. There are two sets of stairs on the property. The spiral staircase referred to in the review is on the front of the motel. There is another set of concrete, carpeted stairs in the hallway, which the exit signs will direct you to. The ice machine was not working as of the day before this guest checked in. It was not something that could be repaired, and a new ice machine was on order. There was ice available for guests in the office. The ice machine is located outside in the hallway, and as anyone who as ever been to the beach knows, we have a constant breeze that carries with it lots of salt and small sand particles. I am assuming that this is the dust that the guest said was on top of the ice machine. This dust accumulates in a matter of minutes in the condensation on the ice machine. This guest's stay was during spring break, so there were younger guests in rooms close to hers. Younger guests are required to pay a deposit, which encourages them to follow all of the motel's rules. If this guest felt that her neighbors were too loud, a quick phone call down to the office would have been appropriate. The only time that this guest contacted the office after check in was to obtain the password to log in to our free wireless internet. Management prefers to check rooms behind the maids, but when people are checking into rooms as quickly as guests from the night before check out, it can be hard to accomplish. Once again, if you check in and there is a problem with your room, you have to address this with management before it can be resolved. We can't fix a problem that we don't know even exists.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 17 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2009

We were able to get away to Myrtle Beach for a weekend and we ended up staying at the Carolina Tarheel. We checked rates across the street at an oceanfront hotel, and they wanted over $100 a night, but the rate at the Carolina Tarheel was only $45 plus tax. It's a nice, small, family-owned property, and it was very clean and quiet. Our room was on the first floor, and the floors were tiled, which was really nice. We could even see the ocean from our room's large windows. Granted it was a weekend in February, but we were just thrilled with the rate that we paid, and the room suited us just fine. We just walked across the street to get to the beach, and there's a grocery store around the corner. Broadway at the Beach is just a 3 minute drive away. There are TONS of restaurants close by, several within walking distance, and nitelife like Bummz and Studebaker's are just a couple of blocks away. We felt very safe. The parking lot is well lit and clean. We even hear that they will soon have wireless internet at the Carolina Tarheel. We'll be sure to stop here again as soon as we can get back to Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank carolinabeachtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Greensboro, NC
412
Reviewed June 26, 2006

OK, to be fair let me first say that this is not the kind of accomodations I would normally stay in. We were actually in Myrtle Beach looking for an Oceanfront place to relocate to. Because of complications at another hotel, we ended up staying at the Tar Heel for a night because it was the first place we could find that actually had a friday night vacancy. The gentleman at the front desk was polite, but a little inexperienced. For the price this place probably wasn't that bad, but it's definitely for the very budget conscious traveler. Being that it was Friday night, there were some rowdies there, but they weren't too loud for too long. I'm assuming someone asked them to quiet down. The bedding seemed freshly laundered, but the decor was a little dated. Depending on how much you want to save money, this could be a decent place to stay, but if you normally stay oceanfront at a resort, you might want to reconsider the tar heel.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2006

We recently stumbled upon the Carolina Tarheel at 1801 Withers Drive. This quaint motel is just a block away from Ocean Blvd., so it's much quieter than motels on the Blvd., but we could still see the ocean from our window and walk across the street to the beach. A lot of the rooms have the most beatifully tiled floors, and it was so quiet at night! We could hear the partiers at a motel across the street since no one was on duty over there, but we didn't hear hardly a peep from anyone at the Tarheel. A room of military guys started to get a little rowdy around midnight, but the young man at the front desk quickly quieted them down, and we were able to sleep peacefully and woke up to one of the most beautiful sunrises over the ocean. We are planning another trip to Myrtle Beach in April, so we will be sure to make our reservations soon. Maybe we'll see you there!

7  Thank TTCinSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ringo3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Breakers Resort
The Breakers Resort
#29 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4,188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
1,962 reviews
1 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
#34 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4,457 reviews
4.3 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
2,659 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Tarheel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Tarheel Motel

Address: 1801 Withers Dr, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3231
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $71 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Carolina Tarheel Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carolina Tarheel is a small, quiet, family-owned motel located on the corner of 18th Avenue North and Withers Drive in downtown Myrtle Beach. We are within walking distance to the beach, restaurants, nightlife, a grocery store, and many other attractions. We offer rooms with one, two, or three beds. One parking space per room is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Carolina Tarheel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolina Tarheel Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing