We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roomy, modern, great view... but found 2 cockroaches”
Review of Carolina Grande

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carolina Grande
Ranked #51 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2007

As soon as you walk in, the room just invites you in. Everything looked fairly new, decoration was quite modern and gave the tropical/beachy feel. Having a full kitchen was priceless, especially with having two kids (ages 2 and 1). Master bedroom had a large, comfy bed. Bathroom was clean- no hesitation to bathe the babies in the tub (of course, after I scrubbed it down with bleach- but that's just my mommy-OCD). Living room was spacious enough, this is where my daughter first started walking! She just got up and started waddling around. The balcony was nice and breezy looked out into the ocean. It would've been a full view, if not for the Carolina Grande's partner- The Best Western right in front. The hotel has 6 pools! This includes the very entertaining lazy river at the Best Western. The kids would've stayed in there the whole day. No extra fees for the tubes, but there's also no lifeguards at any of the pools. Anyone can also go in and out of the pools whether or not they are staying at the hotel. No one was checking hotel keys. The beach was great. Not crowded at the end of August since schools in South Carolina go back mid to late August. Parking was free at the hotel. Kids activities everyday- ice cream, crafts, etc. Timeshare folks called the first 3 days, I told them we are already owners with Wyndham. They got a bit snippy and asked why we didn't tell them this info right from the start. Felt like person was ticked off I wasted her time as she tried to recruit us to attend a presentation. Overall, loved the place except for the two cockroaches we found. Skeeved us out a bit- making sure we inspected our bags when we got home. Apparently, roaches are common in the south and that finding them at the hotel was no biggie. Lady at check asked if they were dead or alive when I told her of our find. "Does it matter?" I asked her and gave her our keys and checked out a day early.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travelingbabies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 183 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2007

We stayed at this property through an RCI exchange for $269 for the week in a one bedroom. For the price, you can't go wrong. The units are still new and unworn. Beds weren't the most comfortable and a trip to Wal-mart to buy a few extra pillows is in order, other than that, well.... as all prior reviews the elevators are the biggest issue. But going into it, you know what to expect so you are prepared.

Beach is directly across the street. You can use the pool at the Best Western, but the pool at the resort was much nicer and cleaner. The pictures on line not do the pool at the Carolina Grande justice, therefore I suggest they update them.

All employees you came into contact with were very nice and friendly. Our only negative experience was we had booked 2 other rooms for family members and I specifically requested no one be contacted for a timeshare tour and that request was totally ignored and they kept calling all three rooms. Solution... unplug your phones, ha, ha. That truly was the only negative thing we experienced. So that being said, I highly recommend this resort. We were not traveling with any children but this was a very family type resort. Would I return, for $269 a week, heck yes!

1  Thank FiveStarTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2007

Ok so we arrived at The Carolina Grande 8/19/07 around 1pm. Our room wasnt ready but that gave us time to check out a local Mexican Restaurant, Chalupa's. Average mexican meal for 4 people bill was 35.00. Within an hour we are called by the front desk to let us know our room was ready. Check in went smooth. Kathryn at the front desk was very helpfull. Believe what you read about the elevators!!!! They are snail slow as well as hot as a sauna!!! Good News I was told that they are putting in 2 new ones. The parking garage has very small spots so be carefull. Usually if you goto the 4th floor you can find something. We were in room 1706 and 1606. The view was pretty nice. We had 1 1bdrm and were very happy with it. Being that it is a brand new resort everything is in great shape. Washer and Dryer in the unit. You are responsible for the laundring of all your towels during your stay unless you want to pay for a towel exchange. The pool is in the 6th floor and was very cold our entire stay .Although that never kept us ourt of it. My kids really enjoyed the lazy river at the Carolinian across the street. On thursdays they offer a kids club afternoon. I would recommend for kids under age of 10. My 11 year old was very bored. They offer many diffrent activities for the kids. A casino cruise on Wednesdays for 10 bucks. The beach was wonderfull and there ISNT ANY BREEZEWAY!!!!! The front desk lady chucked when i asked where it was. The beach itself was very sandy no seaweed.. The only real complaint I had was you are only given 2 garbage bags for a 7 day stay!!!! I asked the housekeeping staff and was told they dont have garbage bags. All in all it was a great vacation and The Carolina Grande is a very nice property.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nanniesma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2007

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BakasyonsaLikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2007

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank BSUCards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank 3sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2007

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MiddleClassTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Myrtle Beach
4.0 mi away
Horizon at 77th
Horizon at 77th
#52 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carolinian Beach Resort
Carolinian Beach Resort
#70 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ocean 22 by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.2 mi away
Meridian Plaza
Meridian Plaza
#115 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
307 reviews
9.7 mi away
Shore Crest Vacation Villas
Shore Crest Vacation Villas
#6 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Grande

Address: 2505 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3240
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $206 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carolina Grande 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Carolina Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolina Grande Hotel Myrtle Beach
Carolina Grande Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing