We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'm very surprised by all the good reviews!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Myrtle Beach KOA Kampground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Myrtle Beach KOA Kampground
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, MA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“I'm very surprised by all the good reviews!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Staff was nice, the campground was clean and it was walking distance to the beach... that's about all it had going for it. We were the only tent campers there, so maybe it's just a bad experience if you're tent camping. The "tent sites" are pretty much grass parking spots. There were no trees. The sites do not have fire pits, but the cabins do. This is odd b/c when you're tent camping, all you do is cook and hang out by the fire. When I mentioned this to the staff, they said they would give me a fire ring for a $50 deposit. Yeah... no way. Do they think we were going to drive off with their fire ring (that is worth $10)? I don't understand. Camp sites should have fire... period. This was also my first trip to Myrtle Beach... I'm all set with that place for the rest of my life... that is one dirty place!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vanonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    36
    15
    14
    4
See reviews for
105
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Very nice park about 2 blocks from the beach. It’s an easy walk /bike ride or the campground offers a shuttle. The campground rents golf carts but are only allowed inside the park. We rented from Best Golf Carts so we could take it outside the park. The park is located near the heart of Myrtle Beach but you will never know it when you're in the campground. We looked at 5 parks last summer and this was far and away the best in distance between sites, facilities, and beach access (although there are some CG's with direct beach access the sites are packed together--no thanks!!). The main bath house appears new (<2 years) and was very clean with lots of room. Notables: fire rings are available for a $25 refundable deposit; Pool and splash pad are outstanding; highly recommend you bring ant killer and spray around tires, jacks, stabilizers, hoses, anything that touches the ground. This will keep ants out of your RV.

There a two sections. The upper section is nice and has cabins, back-in, pull through, and tent sites. This section is very shaded, although if you have a satellite you can request a site with no trees to obstruct your view. There are a few "park models" for overnight rental in this area, but they appear to be well maintained.

The lower section (sites in the 300's) appears older and other than the few sites along the creek appear to be mostly semi-permanent. There are also several "stored" RV's in this section, many appears they've been stored for a long long time. It's too bad they've allowed the storage to detract from an otherwise outstanding park.

I rated this park lower because of the wifi and their lack of restrictions on the types of dogs(pits bulls & Rottweiler’s). For the first two days we had persistent wifi issues. Despite calls to the TengoInternet help desk, emails to their support, the problems continued. It appeared to clear up by the end of day 2 then resurfaced on day 4. The turn-around time noted on Tengo's website is 24 hours, clearly unacceptable for broadband help desk. To be fair, TengoInternet manages the in-park network but the data service is through Horry County Telephone, either one --or both-- could have been source of the problem.

Room Tip: There a two sections. The upper section is nice and has cabins, back-in, pull through, and tent sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

This was our first visit to a KOA, my children (ages 6 and 7) said they wanted to try camping. We rented one of their Kamping Kabins, and it was very nice/simple. The campground is a short (1/4 mile) walk to the beach, be careful with small children as you have to cross two busy streets (Kings Highway and Ocean Blvd). They do offer an hourly shuttle to the beach, but the walk was not bad at all. The campground was very clean, my kids loved the pool, splash pad, and bounce pillow. The bathroom/showers were very clean. Security was visible (on golf carts) throughout the night. The campground gives the feeling of being in the deep woods when you're less then 100 yards from this bustling resort town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gary f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

I have stayed at another campground in Myrtle Beach for the last four years, and this year I could not get into it. I then selected the KOA campground, I will never go back to the other campground. The people at KOA were extremely accommodating. I had a dead battery in my vehicle when I arrived. They jumped my vehicle and I offered a sizable tip and the gentleman refused. He said we are here to service our guest. Customer service is at its best at KOA. I have a 41' motor home, and they provided me with a nice drive through site. The have nice wooded sites and easy walking distance to the beach. I am looking forward to going back to KOA!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pagmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Great staff very friendly . Staying here is like being in the woods while only being a few blocks away from the beach . Nice tent site kids love the pool and the beach is amazing. Loving MyrtleBeach and MyrtleBeach KOA campground. Note if u come here in a tent bring a Fan its Hot and Sticky.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank William V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is my second time to the Myrtle Beach KOA and each time I have been so impressed. My kids just love, love, love this place. Pool, activities, banana bike rentals and the world famous jumping pillow! My kids (9 and 6) bring their scooters and I allow them the freedom to go everywhere in the park as I feel it is very safe and there are always friendly KOA personnel to help out. We rent the one room Kamping Kabin and that A/C is fantastic. I recommend the K-1 through K-7 or K-28 through K-33 Kabins -- the sites are spacious and private. We drive about 3 miles south to the Myrtle Beach State Park to go to the beach. It costs $16 per day for a family of four but the access to bathrooms and close parking to the beach are wonderful if you have small kids.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcbeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Second year at the KOA! This time we stayed in a cabin which was exceptionally clean and well appointed. This time we took more advantage of the parks' activities, which were very fun - especially the t-shirts. I will agree with a previous poster that the "sleeping loft" was a bit of a surprise when we arrived. It is only about 30" tall, only a bit bigger than an over the cockpit RV sleeping area. The service was 100% top notch. It is very apparent the employees enjoy what they do and are good at doing it. The children's jungle gym and rock wall area looked brand new and my 6 year old enjoyed them very much. The store again was well stocked and the price's were appropriate for the location.

Overall, this is my family's go-to place when we visit Myrtle Beach. Well done.

Room Tip: Think about visiting the Myrtle Beach State Park for your beach time. There is a small charge (coup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TLFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
6.0 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,014 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
#9 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,011 reviews
4.8 mi away
Myrtle Beach Resort
Myrtle Beach Resort
#65 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
#22 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Beach KOA Kampground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Beach KOA Kampground

Property: Myrtle Beach KOA Kampground
Address: 613 5th Ave S, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You simply won't find a better kamping location in this vacation mecca than the Myrtle Beach KOA. Established more than 40 years ago, it's now in the heart of this coastal city's myriad attractions--within walking distance of an amusement/water park, numerous miniature golf courses, restaurants and dazzling sand beaches. Live music theaters, countless restaurants, NASCAR SpeedPark, Broadway at the Beach, more than 100 golf courses and the new Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Boardwalk & Promenade are nearby. Stay and enjoy KOA's activities and new splash pad and soak up rays by the pool. Or you can take advantage of KOA's new beach shuttle. With all that convenience, you'll be delightfully surprised by the kampground's setting with shady sites scattered among mature trees. Kamping Kabins, Lodges and Park Homes also are available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Myrtle Beach Koa Kampground Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing