We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rossi's:great food, convenient location, excellent service”

Rossi's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #235 of 915 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: All it takes is one taste – whether the delicate fish, the hearty veal or beef selections, tantalizing chicken choices, truly “al dente” pastas with their savory toppings – to recognize that here, EVERY dish is distinctively, deliciously, “a la Rossi.”Crisp salads, crusty-topped breads, a fine wine list, two intimate, softly-lighted rooms as setting, the “Eighty-Eights” piano bar, with sparkling entertainment until 2 am – and oh, those desserts! all add to the evening’s delight. And the service is the beach’s best!Come home to Rossi’s… the restaurant you’ve been waiting for.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Had dinner there with my wife. very comfortable setting, attentive service, good menu and drink selections. the food was tasty and well prepared. our server was personable w/o hovering but there when we needed something. recommend hearts of palm appetizer not often seen on a restaurant menu. We were there last year too and Rossi's still did not disappoint. If we go back, it's got to be worthwhile because there are so many dining options in MB.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossis_Manager, Manager at Rossi's Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thank you john a for your review. For 27 years we have counted on folks like you that seek quality food, attentive service, and an atmosphere you will not find anywhere else on the Grand Strand. Your business is greatly appreciated and your comments always welcome. Again, we thank you for coming home to Rossi's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 262 of 451 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

Our party of 6 arrived after 8 pm on a Saturday. Restaurant was not crowded, however we were seated at a round table so close to another group that we all had to shift our chairs around the table so that one of our group could even get in her seat. (Not a weight issue either. Tables were too close together.)
Five if us ordered the Chicken Parmesan ($19+) and I ordered Stuffed Shells ($17+). Spaghetti and other pasta dishes were all over $17. We also all had wine. Stuffed Shells arrived less than hot, and undercooked. I understand about al dente, but these were tough and dry. Four large shells were arranged naked on the plate with a blob of thick, very dark meat sauce plopped in the center.
The Chicken Parm came with a side of spaghetti accompanied by the same dark sauce. The chicken was covered in a brighter, fresher-looking sauce. One of the five portions ordered was significantly smaller than the others; nearly half the size. The waiter should have noticed before he served it. When we called it to his attention, instead of immediately bringing her a new portion, he initiated a silly back and forth exchange about how if she wanted more, he could bring it, etc. Then a manager came over to check on the situation. Again, he says "if you would like us to take that back and bring you another one, we will." They never brought her more. She said she had plenty, which was not the point! No talk should have ensued. They should have brought another plate!
The waiter must have wanted to go home, because he told us he would bring our check, with no offer of dessert. When we asked if desserts were made in house, we were told they all were. We order two tiramisu, a cheesecake with cherries, and a creme brûlée. After a minute or two, waiter returned to tell me they were out of creme brûlée. Tiramisu was ok, but cheesecake arrived without the requested cherry topping. When this was pointed out, the waiter brought out two maraschino cherries in a little dish! Who can't keep a can of cherry pie filling on hand and throw some on a piece of cheesecake!? (Cheesecake did not taste or appear to be homemade.)
We were hoping for a nice meal, but were disappointed. None of us will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Zoo_city_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossis_Manager, Manager at Rossi's Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Zoo_city_girl, Thank you for your thorough and honest review of your recent experience with us here at Rossi's. I remember that specific evening myself as I was the manager that spoke with your party.

The old cliche of learning something new every day holds true in business as it does in our personal lives. When something is brought to our attention it gives us the opportunity to evaluate first the validity of the claim and second, once the complaint is deemed valid or reasonable, a solution to that problem. We then hopefully do not make the same mistake or mistakes again.

In your case we were able to take away several valid points you made in our service, preparation, presentation, and finally price of our products. And I do believe it is safe to say this experience or part of it has possibly been present in other situations; for other folks as well only they may not have told us.

If you know Rossi's, we are in our 28th year of business not because we try to give a bad experience but because we learn from our mistakes. We make the necessary changes with that knowledge moving forward for the next 28 years on the Grand Strand and hope for continued success.

We, nor any establishment for that matter could be successful without folks like you who are willing to let us know how you feel. With that being said Rossi's owner, management, and staff thank you and we can only hope that maybe someday you change your perception of what is our Rossi's home and family and give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We go to Rossi's for all our special occasions. This time it was our 29th anniversary. Our waiter, Eric, was wonderful. We usually get the triple appetizer with fried lobster, fried scallops and a third selection that we vary. This time it was soft-shell crab. Since I didnt want to share a crab, Eric suggested we get the apps separately. He checked to see what we would get and how much more it would be than the set app price. He helped us with the best choice for what we wanted. The lobster came in big chunks and were juicy and popped in your mouth. The scallops were large and perfectly cooked. The softshell crab app gave us 2, so that I could share with my hubby. We also had a Greek salad for 1...that was more than enough for 2! We had told Eric that it was our anniversary, and had chatted with him about our years together. But, still, it was a surprise when he brought us a molten lava cake with a candle and he and other waiters sang to us! We love Rossi's, it makes us feel special, and with Eric in charge, we had a wonderful night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deane M, Owner at Rossi's Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thank you for your review Debbie T, we are so glad you chose to spend your romantic evening with us at Rossi's. We have been voted the "most romantic" on several occasions in the past 27 years by people like you who know good food and enjoy the old world ambiance that when you walk through the door takes you away to another place in time. We also appreciate you mentioning Erik, he was very proud as he read your wonderful review of his service. Again, thank you Debbie T. We appreciate your business and your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This place NEVER disappoints. Italian cuisine at it's finest, great service, outstanding food. They don't fleece you on the price either. Do not miss this gem!

Thank Tvteacher50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deane M, Owner at Rossi's Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your business and we are glad to have you come home to Rossi's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Game down to my favorite place to eat in Myrtle Beach! Food was awesome as always. I had Veal Masala it was the best I ever had so tender, my friend had Ribeye steak which was cooked to perfection! The owner Dean came over and was so gracious and a true gentleman. The staff was on the ball and had great suggestions. The atmosphere was authentic and perfect. We headed over to the piano bar 88's and danced the night away. Highly recommended this place! Can't wait to go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DocBTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossis_Manager, Manager at Rossi's Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you so much DocBTerry for the kind words in regard to your recent visit with us. Deane has spent the last 40 years perfecting his knowledge of the restaurant business and we now celebrate almost 28 years with Rossi's under Deane's direction. Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rossi's Italian Restaurant also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Rossi's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing