We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“extraordinaire”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Old Vienna

Cafe Old Vienna
Ranked #14 of 871 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: German, Austrian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Serving Best German Food (with Austrian Twist) on the Grand Strand since over 18Years.... Dishes like: Sauerbraten, Veal Wiener Schnitzel,even Chicken or Pork Schnitzel, Cordon-Bleu, Hungarian Gulash, Jager Schnitzel, Bratwurst, Knackwurst, Weiss-wurst, Osso Bucco, Homemade Soups, Great Sandwiches and Fresh Salads, even Seafood
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“extraordinaire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

I am a veteran of the U S Army and served in Europe. The visit to cafe old Vienna transported me back to Vienna in my mind. Oh my goodness! It began as we talked to the chef and listened to his story and dream. The atmosphere was full of the old country. My wife had the Hungarian bean soup and loved it. I had the wurst plate and I am a nut who loves wurst and German sauerkraut. I was not disappointed at all. Our friends had a platter for two which was huge and difficult to eat all of it. The potato salad was soooo good! But make sure you save room for their out of this world deserts. OMG they melted in my mouth. Thank you travel advisor. The cafe is located in a strip mall on the right side that looks empty. Don't let that stop you this is a diamond in the rough.

Helpful?
Thank Gerald N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    141
    37
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pawleys island
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

A little difficult to find this delightful restaurant at the back of the shopping center but always worth the trip. If you want the experience of dining in an Austrian restaurant without the need to travel, this is the place. Each of the authentic dishes are prepared to perfection and served by a delightful wait staff. This is a one of a kind dinning experience in Myrtle Beach. In addition to the dinner menu, they offer a great lunch menu with seasonal specials. The chef's dinner speciality of Sauerbraten is a must have on any visit. Save room for a fantastic home made desert. Most importantly CALL FOR A DINNER RESERVATION. Don't miss this unique dinning experience on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Poorrichard2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton, Maryland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow, what a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Some of the best food I have eaten in a restaurant. Very friendly service. My wife had pork shanks, spaeztle, red cabbage and potatoes and I had veal Wiener Schnitzle, spaeztle, and red cabbage. Finished with warm apple struedel. All this with live entertainment, a soft guitar.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The absolute best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Old Cafe Vienna has the very best, authentic foods and the wonderful staff just adds to the whole experience. I highly recommend to anyone. Be sure to splurge, though you won't have room with the large portion sizes, you cannot turn down a cup of their delicious soup. It's amazing! Worth the drive or the flight from anywhere. Fantastic! Oh, don't forget the apple strudel.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mknmedizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bald Head Island, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“If only it were closer.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

For a long time we have wanted to have dinner at the Cafe Old Vienna.  Several times we have attempted to go there since we found it on Tripadvisor.  Good German restaurants are a rather rare commodity in eastern North Carolina so when we find an excuse to go to or pass through Myrtle Beach, and the timing is right, we’ve tried to go to COV.  We've shown up when they are closed.  We’ve shown up to find that reservations really are needed: full until closing. Haloween was our anniversary so we decided to make a day trip to Myrtle Beach, do some shopping and have dinner at last at COV.  On Monday, a day they are regularly closed, I called and left a message that we wanted reservations for Thursday at 7:00.  Tuesday, early, Martina called saying that they would be closed for dinner on Halloween. We now questioned our continuing desire to go there until she explained that Halloween was important for her kids and that they needed to be there for them. With that, we immediately changed plans and headed there for lunch figuring that anyone prioritizing their kids over keeping their business open deserved our support.

We are glad we did. We enjoyed a marvelous very early dinner of Jaeger Schnitzel, crisp breading, and tender moist inside for him. Pork Shanks and the same sides for her, all prepared perfectly. The Spaetzle and red cabbage sides, which we use as a barometer for the chef, were delightful. The cabbage was slightly sweet, slightly tart. Both were very much to our liking. The soup of the day was a heavenly cream of garlic. A bowl of it with good bread to mop would make a wonderful light lunch.

For desert an amazing Apple Strudel. One of the best either of us had.

We are now making more excuses to head down to Myrtle more often!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BHIguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Old Vienna also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Cafe Old Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing