We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club
Ranked #89 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Norristown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Stayed at the Schooner II from 4/4-4/7/12. We were very pleased with our stay. We stayed in room 703, which is a one-bedroom suite, with an angled ocean view. All of the one bedrooms have the angled ocean view and all of the two bedrooms are oceanfront. The common areas (lobby, 2nd floor lounge, elevators) are pretty dated, but don’t let that discourage you. The suites/condos are spacious and have everything we needed. When you walk in there is a small open room with bunk beds. In the back is the master bedroom (nice size), then the bathroom and extra outside sink (a little dated but clean and nothing anyone should complain about) and in the front is an eat-in kitchen with full size appliances (stove/microwave, fridge and dishwasher) and living room. There is a sectional sleeper sofa in the living room, so there is plenty of seating. Both the living room and bedroom have good size flat screen TVs and there is a DVD player in the living room. You can check out videos from the front desk, but we never did this so I can’t advise what kind of selection they have. The pool is a little small, compared to some of the others we saw, but it wasn’t always crowded and the beach is right there. The hotel is in a very good location. It’s at top of where the shops/restaurants begin, so it’s convenient to everything without being in the middle of the commotion. Although we rented a scooter for a few days, we were in walking distance from anything we needed. The front desk staff (Nikki) was great! We were able to store our bags before our room was ready and after we checked out before our flight home. Would definitely return and would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mattaltieri7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    32
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
47
25
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

Stayed at the Schooner II over Match Break and had a predominantly positive experience at the hotel.

The rooms are spacious and although the decor is slightly dated the rooms were clean and the appliances were obviously new.

the hotel was fully booked yet was still quiet as it tends to appeal more to adults and couples rather then families with young children as there is little for them to do at the hotel.

There isn't a restaurant at the hotel but there is a Starbucks on the corner and other bars/restaurants in close proximity so it isn't a problem.

Overall the hotel was fine however a couple of things negative things do stick with me. The smell in the communal areas and the cleanliness of the bedding. We were on the 13th floor and every time we went out into the hallway there was a less then pleasant smell. The bedding was another issue. The smell was not great (to the point where my wife went out to Walmart to get a Fabreeze spray) and they looked old and were not exactly the whitest sheets.

In fairness we asked for the bedding to be changed and they did change the bedding but the smell was exactly the same. Im assuming its something to do with the washers they use or the products but it was not a pleasant smell.

Room Tip: try not to get a room ending in 3.... All of them are the rooms closest to the elevator shaft and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scottandros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

My husband took to me Myrtle Beach to celebrate our 19th anniversary and my 51st birthday which both are on January 25th. We were there with a group of three other couples. When I made the reservation through Hotels.com I was booked at the Schooner I. We arrived ahead of the other couples, checked in and realized we were booked at the Schooner I not Schooner II. One of the other couples were booked incorrectly as well but was able to correct the error before checking in. My neice explained to the front desk personnel at Schooner II (do not have her name) that we were at Schooner I and not Schooner II. The young lady took the time out of her busy schedule to contact the front desk personnel at Schooner I explain what happened and they decided if we were in agreement we could stay the one night at Schooner I and move to Schooner II the next morning. Needless to say we were very pleased with this kind gesture of the front desk personnel at Schooner II. We were able to join the rest of our group and enjoy our planned weekend together.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms have a great view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debora G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrebonne, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

Super, good time I got there. Rooms are large, location is super, not too far from the boardwalk and downtown. Staff is very nice and helpfull, takes the time to answer your questions. Balcons on the side are very small, this is the only negative point. Recommand for families, it's the type of a condo.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kannapolis, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at the Schooner II since it was built. I booked a mini stay through Hotels.Com (bad idea) to find out when we arrived that no such reservation existed. The young lady at the front desk immediately apologized for the inconvenience and began to find us a room. We had to upgrade to a two bedroom oceanfront for $100 more - which we weren't crazy about- but whatcha going to do. I love the lounge on 2nd floor, the workout room, sauna and whirlpool on the 15th floor are just fabulous. We wouldn't stay anywhere else - in fact we plan to go back the first of the year, but calling them direct [---].

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thatpricekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Been returning early Nov. for 6 yrs now and always enjoyable stay. Our comfortable 2 bdrm unit is overlooking the beach & also offers bonus of georgeous sunrises. Located right in the centre of things it's close enough to walk to a few restaurants and other services. Staff are always helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Within walking distance, a couple of blocks, to a few restaurants and other services.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mollyreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
132 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

Used a "banked" week for this hotel right on beach in Myrtle Beach. All units had ocean view. Our one bedroom was spacious and clean with nice decor and furnishings. There was a bonus room with a bunk set for kids. Full kitchen was well equipped. Free wi-fi. Beach towels provided. Lounge chairs by pool and grassy area between pool and beach. Lounge on 2nd floor had free coffee and lots of books and games. Only drawback was that laundry was coin operated and on only 2 floors of the hotel. There was a decent fitness center, spa and racquetball court (unusual we thought!) on top floor. Friendly staff manned the reception desk. Easy walk to Boardwalk and several restaurants. Would stay there again. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Meridian Plaza
Meridian Plaza
#124 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts
0.2 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#135 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Carolinian Beach Resort
Carolinian Beach Resort
#40 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
#108 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#93 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club

Property: Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club
Address: 2108 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3224
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schooner Ii Beach/Racquet Club Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing