We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ate there for my Birthday!”
Review of New York Prime

New York Prime
Reserve with OpenTable
New York Prime is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 877 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Between Highway 17 and the Ocean
Description: Golf Magazine’s choice for “where to eat with your clients” and “best steakhouse” by The Myrtle Beach Herald. New York Prime’s menu features USDA prime for every steak such as the monster 40oz. Porterhouse for two, colossal Baked Shrimp and fresh Florida Stone Crabs. The only all-prime experience on the Grand Strand, New York Prime Steakhouse offers an extensive wine list and seating for large parties.
Whiteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Ate there for my Birthday!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I've been to New York Prime many times before and it's always great! Ate there for my birthday. Had a card on the table waiting for me and confetti all over the table. It was a nice touch. :) I enjoyed my dinner. I had the lobster and it was great! (a lot to eat, as it was huge!) The lobster bisque was out of this world! Very attentive staff. As always, will visit again :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank southernbell7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    72
    24
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't get your hopes up....”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I will keep it short. This is not a NYC steakhouse in MB. I guess you shouldn't expect that but the steaks are $40-60 and they quality is poor. We had 11 in our group and ordered a variety of steaks. Across the board everyone was disappointed. Not worth the $$$. Ruth's Chris looks to be a safe bet.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA_Centraarchy, Public Relations Manager at New York Prime, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Chris, At NY Prime we serve only the best USDA Prime aged beef for every cut, including filets. I'm sorry to hear your group wasn't wowed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
158 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A little slab of NYC in MB”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I'm local and when we have guests in town who want a really high-end meal we take them to NYP. In my opinion NYP would hold it's own if dropped into any major metro food market in the US. Excellent beef broiled at extremely high temps. Fresh lobsters at 3lbs and up. Typical steakhouse a'la carte dishes like spinach, potatos w/ onions, asparagus.

Service has always been very very good. Jason was our preferred server for years but I believe he has moved on. All we have been served by however have been excellent.

Pretty good, but not great, wine list. Better than average for the MB market.

If having a full meal including apps, before dinner drinks, & wine with dinner expect to pay $75 to $125pp.

For a basic, but excellent, steak dinner for two, 1 side to share no wine, no frills maybe $70-80 plus grat.

Overall, for myrtle beach I rank it in my top 5.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another excellent Filet”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This place never fails me. Everything top notch and one of the few places that serves 14 ounce Prime Beef for their filet. Can't think of a better steakhouse in the southeast.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hwy170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“AMAZING Steak Dinner in Myrtle Beach”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you are looking for a fancy dinner, this is the place! It is very expensive but it is worth it. The service and food here is incredible. Everything is a la carte, so you have to order everything separately, but they allow sharing. My husband and I ordered one giant baked potato to split and it was more than enough food! The service is amazing, the present all the food to you before they serve it (and they actually serve it TO you). I overheard people saying they didn't like the charring on the steak but I thought it was delicious. You should definitely make a reservation, the place is small and was packed when we went at 8PM on a Wednesday night. Very romantic ambiance, which was perfect for a fancy dinner on our honeymoon. Loved it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New York Prime also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to New York Prime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing