We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of New York Prime

New York Prime
Reserve with OpenTable
New York Prime is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 870 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Between Highway 17 and the Ocean
Description: Golf Magazine’s choice for “where to eat with your clients” and “best steakhouse” by The Myrtle Beach Herald. New York Prime’s menu features USDA prime for every steak such as the monster 40oz. Porterhouse for two, colossal Baked Shrimp and fresh Florida Stone Crabs. The only all-prime experience on the Grand Strand, New York Prime Steakhouse offers an extensive wine list and seating for large parties.
Orangeburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Food was excellent as always. Chuck our waiter was great. Asked it we wanted to enjoy each course before placing our order. It was my husband's birthday so he was greeted with a card on the table and cute little decorations

Helpful?
Thank debeizbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA_Centraarchy, Guest Relations Manager at New York Prime, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We are so happy you chose us for your special occasion! We always want you to feel special and appreciate when you visit NY Prime! We hope you join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    71
    24
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conway, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food excellent service sub par”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I have visited approx. a half dozen times over the last few years, always having a great meal and experience, so when my date wanted to go out for steak this was the place. My date suffers from celiac disease so had asked about gluten free choices when making reservations. None of our questions were answered by our waiter and as a matter of fact were told he was not a "dietition". She actually went to the hostess and asked about something and still didn"t get an answer.We were served luke warm coffee and when my date got hers back, it was swimming with grounds. One waiter wiped his running nose on his sleeve as he was serving and another sneezed as he was bussing a table close by. When we were leaving we looked for a manager to talk to but there was nobody even at the hostess stand. My date called and spoke to someone a couple of days later but was basically given the brush. We spent alot of money and could very easily get a much less expensive steak elsewhere in MB and most likely will. I work in the hospitality business and have recommended NYP to many people, but will not anymore. I hear Angelos has a great steak. FYI, with the amount of people suffering from allergies nowaday's, maybe you should consult a "dietition"

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA_Centraarchy, Public Relations Manager at New York Prime, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Michael Y., I want to sincerely apologize for the sub-par service you experienced at our restaurant. Making our guests feel welcome and well cared for is our highest priority and I am very sorry that you did not experience the level of service and attention that our guests have come to expect. We take allergies very seriously, and I have already taken steps to ensure that lapses such as this do not happen again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Isle City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“If you want Steak, this is the place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner here. Service was excellent. Food was top of the line. Pricey, but well worth it! Don't waste your time on tourist traps. This is an excellent steak house. Ask for Lee; excellent server!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank madotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA_Centraarchy, Guest Relations Manager at New York Prime, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review! We appreciate your business and want you to be this spoiled everytime you visit us! Hope to join us again when you are in the Myrtle Beach Area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

I ate here with a good friend of mine and will start taking clients here. Excellent service, food and atmosphere. Very pricey but you get what you pay for. My only complaint was they let people smoke at the bar...this was not a huge detraction from my experience, but it was a little irritating.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arby1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA_Centraarchy, Guest Relations Manager at New York Prime, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! We would love for you to start bringing your clients in! The smoking is a tough call, some love it some do not. I will pass that bit of information to the VP of CentraArchy. It is always our pleasure to serve you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Best steak in a long time ,My wife had the Sea Bass ,prices are to par for the food you are receiving .AAA+++ great night thanks

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank salintheusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA_Centraarchy, Guest Relations Manager at New York Prime, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi Salintheusa,
Thank you for the kind words about your visit to NY Prime! We are a bit pricey but, as you know , worth every dollar! We only us the freshest and top of the line PRIME ingredients and it shows. We are so glad you joined us and hope you visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New York Prime also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to New York Prime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing