We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Review Highlights
Great place to camp!

We LOVE camping here- away from the big overpriced campgrounds- this is a peaceful shaded place in... read more

Reviewed yesterday
samandemsmommy1981
The best place to go to the beach

I stumbled into here by accident. I didn't know the state park had a beach. That was a very lucky... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Juan L
,
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Read all 1,782 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Myrtle Beach
from $49.71
More Info
from $47.49
More Info
from $32.25
More Info
from $37.95
More Info
Reviews (1,782)
Filter reviews
1,782 results
Traveler rating
1,103
491
114
49
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,103
491
114
49
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fishing pier nature center walking trails picnic shelters beach access beautiful beach rest rooms gift shop great pier clean restrooms per adult south carolina grand strand off season sites pavilions woods
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
287 - 292 of 1,782 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile

Clean bathrooms,awesome atmosphere, close access to the beach (quiet, nice and no tourist stuff or huge hotels!) Friendly service EVEN Wi-Fi, lot for tent 32$/night+TAXES - i will book again ✌

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank juliatV2682AG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017

The park includes beach access, as well as a campground. The beachfront itself is not the largest you will find in the area, but the major perk (in our opinion) is that there are no hotels lining the edge of the beachfront. The beach is bordered by only dunes & park facilities (playground, parking, playgrounds & boardwalks). The boardwalk itself is scenic, and meanders though the dunes with flowers adorning each side in the grassy areas...ideal for romantic walks.
There are also very large oak trees at random along the way. The ocean front area is very scenic, and includes multiple shelters / bathroom facilities (and outdoor showers along the way) making it a great place for pictures, picnics, cookouts, family get togethers, etc.
If you are into fishing, there is a fishing pier there as well that appeared to be quite popular. We did ride through the campsite area briefly, and found it to be small, basic yet clean and tranquil.

We would highly recommend for anyone looking to get away from the crowds, hustle and bustle. Also, the park entrance fee ($5 per adult, less for kids) also provides you the same daily access into Huntington Beach State Park 15+ miles south, which we would also recommend, as it has its own hotel free charm, and even a small castle to explore (yes, a castle, really!!).
Enjoy!

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank Joey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2017

Myrtle Beach State Park is great place for Family picnic, birthday party or family reunion. There are shelters you can rent in advance or occupy free of charge if its empty

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Vodolaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2017

Myrtle Beach State Park is beautiful oceanfront, sandy beach,park and fishing pier. It offers ample parking. Gift shop that provides all the amenities you need for a good time – ice cream, snacks, toys, souvenirs, soda, etc. Fishing pole rentals and bait are also available at the gift shop. Picnic tables with umbrellas as also available next to the gift shop. There is large fishing pier with a covered pavilion to fish or just sight-see. The pier provides great views looking back on the beach and toward the hotels and tall Myrtle Beach Building to the North. There is a large sand chair on the pier with Myrtle Beach written over the top for photo opportunities.

To sun bath you can bring your own umbrella and chairs – just make sure your umbrella is smaller than 7ft 6 in because the life guards do check. But there are several lawn chairs with umbrellas already set up on the beach for rental. They are easy to spot they are blue tall back chairs with large yellow umbrellas every couple of yards across the beach. You just have to see the life guard about renting them. Some smart people set up chairs beneath the pier where there is always shade and no umbrella is needed. Others set their chairs at the water's edge where it breaks into foam to keep cool.

During our visit we walked the pier to see what was biting and take pictures. Later, we walked the beach front in search of sea shells. There were lots of shells here, mostly smaller ones. I saw one man shoveling up the sand and sifting it to collect the shells. We walked toward the North close to the large buildings of Myrtle Beach. Once we were done touring we set up our own chair and umbrella. Relaxed reading books and listening to music through ear phones. We stayed until the wind started to pickup later in the day. A nice, relaxing, peaceful day at the beach.

Myrtle Beach State park is located on South Kings Highway (US 17 Business N). Admission is $5 per adult, $3 for children 6 to 15 years of age and free for 5 and younger which you pay from your car as you enter. We had free access to both state parks – Myrtle Beach State Park and Huntington Beach State park (in Murrells Inlet) during our trip – with a SC Park Passport on our car visor provided by our timeshare for the week..

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank W8LT3R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2017

nice employees that are at check in to where yoiu pay to come into the beach, we weren't camping, but they offer that too have a pier with mini store too. and two hands full of covered pikniking areas for families

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews