We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best crab legs but nice place.”

The Original Benjamin's Calabash Seafood
Ranked #62 of 886 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Description: A landmark of the Grand Strand, The Original Benjamin's Calabash Seafood serves fresh local seafood daily. Our award-winning buffet is world-famous for introducing the Myrtle Beach area to cooking seafood Calabash style, which is lightly battered and deep-fried. If great food and a good time are what you're craving, then you've found the place. So sail on in for the adventures of a true nautical dining experience, and save room for an abundance of sensational food and memories
Troy, NY
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not the best crab legs but nice place.”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Another reviewer compared Crabby Mike’s to Benjamin’s so we tried Benjamin’s. Nice place. Nice atmosphere. Great service and a wide variety of dishes. Everything was clean. Came here mainly for seafood, especially crab legs and was disappointed. You are not allowed to choose your own crab legs. They hand you 2 clusters at a time. Don’t remember if server wore gloves but even if he did you immediately knew they were not very hot which proved to be the case. They also were overly cooked and had a very salty taste masking the sweetness of the crab esp. the shoulder meat. There were a few trays of prepared seafood dishes that were empty the three times we went up. Did like the butter fried shrimp, popcorn shrimp and chicken wings. Wife liked all the differently prepared choices of salmon. Will stay with Crabby Mike’s.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrawlingacrossUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    959
    521
    329
    156
    150
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Courtice, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Way too expensive for a buffet”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We should have been alerted by the brochures that offered anywhere from $2 off per adult to $4 off depending what hour of the day you visited them...the original cost was over $30 per adult and the food, in our opinion, was just average. Lots of ambience and beautiful decor including our table overlooking a small river..but we enjoyed the variety and selection more at Golden Coral at $11.99 per adult. To its credit, the servers were very friendly as were the other staff, but this dinner didn't cut it with us Canadian visitors.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Center, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Unforgettable!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Went with 2 other couples and started out with a cocktail at the bar until our table was ready. When I saw the buffet I couldn't believe my eyes! There was just so much food and a huge variety. Of course we had crab legs and they were so delicious! We ate until we were all bursting at the seams. I highly recommend it! The decor was really cute too.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Braileys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“We've tried others, but they don't compare”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

First off I will say, YES this place is pricey, BUT it has the widest variety of seafood and non-seafood items. Other places only offer fried sea food, but this place includes everything. There's fried and broiled seafood, a pasta bar that's made to order, a salad bar, lot of low country items, and a huge dessert selection just to name a few things. There is honestly something for everyone here, even if you don't eat seafood. If you're only going to go to one Calabash while you're in MB, go here!

They also do a military discount.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KT0218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Worth the money”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Worth every penny. For only 29.99 I probably ate 100 bucks worth of crablegs. Hushpuppies are the best! Host staff and our server Matt was great!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glukath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Benjamin's Calabash Seafood also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Original Benjamin's Calabash Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing