We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE BEST!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Captain's House

Sea Captain's House
Ranked #35 of 868 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Sea Captain's House has been a staple in Myrtle Beach cuisine since the 1960's. Family owned and operate, they pride themselves in preserving true hospitality values and providing relaxing dinning experience with great food. Serving a delicious buffet style breakfast, a full lunch and dinner menu with the freshest local seafood, the Sea Captain's Houses continues to be a local and visitor's favorite.
West Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
184 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“THE BEST!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

What would a trip to the beach be without coming here? I don't have a clue...We simply love this place! We haven't found another place here to compare to the food or the service and the view is to die for...oceanfront!We come here every year for their breakfast buffet when we celebrate our Anniversary and we both love it! My husband loves the cook that cooks the omelets just to your specifications! Next time you are in Myrtle Beach, come here for their breakfast buffet..you won't be disappointed, I assure you!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thegrayhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,690
    1,070
    552
    216
    123
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sharpsburg GA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wish we had found it sooner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Each year we spend a week in Myrtle Beach to wind down after our busy Christmas season. We've generally been disappointed with the restaurants and prefer to buy our fish & seafood and cook at the condo. But this year, we found Sea Captain's on our last day. We ate more than usual for lunch but the luncheon prices were so reasonable and the menu so tempting. We started with an oyster cocktail, six plump, juicy, fresh oysters in small dish with a large side of cocktail sauce. They were the best oysters we had all week. We shared a chopped salad and then we both had the seafood muddle, a rich light tomato based soup with volumes of shellfish and fish. The serving of muddle was way more than we anticipated for a low price of $12.00. Clearly we ordered too much. We skipped dinner but reflected all the way home on how good the lunch was at Sea Captains. And, by the way, the view was wonderful. The only detraction was that the wait person seemed very distracted. We were at the tail end of the lunch crowd and perhaps she was just wanting lunch to be over.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peerke_and_Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our First Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We found this place searching the internet of where to eat. I like the history of the place so we decided to check it our. The food was good, the atmosphere was GREAT! The service was good too. A little more than I usually spend on a dinner, but then again, you are at the beach and this place is ocean front dining!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
73 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food, Drafty Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

The food at this restaurant was very good, I recommend the Crab Cake sandwich. Though I do remember the restaurant being very drafty. We ordered coffee and dessert to warm ourselves! The porch also has nice views of the ocean.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zach C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OK but just”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Have visited the restaurant several times before. It's becoming very expensive. Waiter was a little less than attentive.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sam154980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Captain's House also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Sea Captain's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing