We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than standard seafood”

Sea Captain's House
Ranked #44 of 894 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Sea Captain's House has been a staple in Myrtle Beach cuisine since the 1960's. Family owned and operate, they pride themselves in preserving true hospitality values and providing relaxing dinning experience with great food. Serving a delicious buffet style breakfast, a full lunch and dinner menu with the freshest local seafood; the Sea Captain's Houses continues to be a local and visitor's favorite.
Florence, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Better than standard seafood”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great location, on the beach. One of the few in MB on the water. We've never had a bad meal here. A little on the pricey side for what we would consider more standard "grilled or fried" seafood fare, but the food has always been very good. Wait times can be a little long, but there is a nice bar overlooking the beach, so the wait is comfortable and the atmosphere nice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,085 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,934
    1,166
    615
    233
    137
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not that great”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have tasted much better at a cheaper price. To top that I have gotten a lot more food for better price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rodriguez20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our new favorite restaurant”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We've been going to Myrtle Beach for almost 30 years and now that the kids are grown and have families of their own my wife and I stayed in a different part of Myrtle and discovered the Sea Captain's House. It was the best meal we have ever gotten in Myrtle. Yes it is a little pricey, but not too bad, but so isn't any nice seafood restaurant. It is now our favorite seafood restaurant in Myrtle. Will definitely go back on every vacation to Myrtle Beach.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent, hidden, waterfront”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Everything was excellent from the house merlot, house salad, hushpuppies, catch of the day, to the creme brûlée! Must return!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frostburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I'm coming back ......”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Expected wait was well worth it. Sea Captain is much bigger than it looks from the outside. We sat at the small bar and enjoyed the conversation with the two busy bartenders. The lounge areas were crowded but you can go on the outside grassy area and enjoy the great ocean view while you wait.

There are many choices on the menu. She Crab soup was delicious. Shrimp and Grits are the best I ever had. I liked the white sangria too. Prices were not cheap, but not outrageous. Bartenders and waitress were busy, but efficient and personable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Captain's House also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Sea Captain's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing