We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food”

Sea Captain's House
Ranked #41 of 894 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Sea Captain's House has been a staple in Myrtle Beach cuisine since the 1960's. Family owned and operate, they pride themselves in preserving true hospitality values and providing relaxing dinning experience with great food. Serving a delicious buffet style breakfast, a full lunch and dinner menu with the freshest local seafood; the Sea Captain's Houses continues to be a local and visitor's favorite.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
490 reviews
328 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

The Captain serves mainly seafood and we had a large party of 14. The bar was crowded but service was excellent. Luke was our waiter and he did an excellent job. Food quality was good, not great but good. Our items all arrived hot and plentiful. Deserts were excellent and,we,bought several to,share. Key Lime Pie was a favorite, along,with chocolate pecan pie. All and all a very good meal and a Myrtle Beach tradition.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,089 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,935
    1,167
    616
    233
    138
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“still a great restaurant in Myrtle Beach”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Fantastic ocean front restaurant. Breakfast buffet with omelet station great value, quality and variety. Great service. Have been visiting this place for years, and it remains top rate.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Food with medicore service”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a nice restaurant but try not to go when it is VERY busy. The food was very good and but the service medicore at best.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AHollis64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just Ok”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I was expecting the most delicious food as per other reviews but it was just ok. Nothing to rave about. I was excited to try the She Crab Soup and honestly it had a similar taste/texture of Clam Chowder. Did not seem seasoned enough. Crab Cake Sandwich was too overcooked and had no seasoning as well. Other items on our order were a little better. This was a take out order and we waited patiently for few minutes knocking on the little window and no one was there. Felt embarrassed and out of place. The whole Take Out experience from placing a phone call to order, which I kept being put on hold to wait for Sue to receiving the food was very poor. They seem to cater better to their diners then take out guests. I do not see ourselves coming back ever again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HON4E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food, and great views!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Very nice restaurant! We loved sitting by the window with a wonderful view of the water. We stopped in right when they opened for dinner and we were seated right away. The staff was very polite and attentive to our table....quick with refills. They know how to cook fish! My husband had the special and raved about his meal. The hush puppies were amazing! Seriously the best hush puppies we have ever eaten! The fish platter was huge and everything was cooked perfectly. The portions were large, we really could have shared an entree.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dianag99217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Captain's House also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Sea Captain's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing