We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic campground in MB”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I went to MB 4 times in a hotel, then bought a motorhome and went to PirateLand 3 summer already, next summer is already reserved!

This is the perfect campground, not too big as some which are as big as a city! There is sun shelter in the beach area where we always go, it is very close to the beach, you do not need anything else, location is perfect, it is pretty clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frederic54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thanks for reviewing the park! It's great to hear you've enjoyed camping so much! Enjoy your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 406 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

We rented a Cabin if you call it that, mobile home ? 3 bedrooms just enough room for you to walk one step to the left, right, ect smallest space ever !! That was OK i'm not that picky, but when I'm at a campground I like activities for the kids, the pool was nice if you like 90 water temps in july. The lazy river was nice, they did have one activity sundae making contest for the kids. so many golf carts watch out you will get run over !! The BEACH ,THE OCEAN is the BEST part of this campground . To drive 10 hrs from Southern NJ to this camp ground is crazy NJ has the best Beaches !! The only thing we don't have is a campground located right on the beach i'll give that to you SC you have those !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJ-sunshine3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! July is certainly our busiest time of the year! We do have daily activities all summer including games, crafts, vacation bible school, etc. Schedules are available at the front office, camp store, posted on campground bulletin boards, PirateLand Channel 2, and our website. Sounds like you stayed in a single wide park model rental. We have double wide units for rent as well; with much more space if needed! It's great to hear you enjoyed the beach here! We hope you'll consider returning for another visit. If you are looking for a quieter time of the summer try early June or late August!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I've been coming here my entire life and it's always fantastic. I never feel like I need to lock anything. It's always really quiet and the amenities are fantastic. Definitely recommend for families, couples, a group of friends, anyone really! (We have a permanent place here and it's great to have for a "vacation home.")

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank lovelythorns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

nice location,villa cabin was fairly clean,we left it cleaner than we found it, the mattresses were the worst we have ever slept on,golf cart rental price was off the wall.overall nice week near the beach,the mattresses ruined it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank condolandOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay! We replace mattresses for select units annually and I have noted your feedback for the mattress in this unit. We're sorry your week was unsatisfactory because of this. The golf carts are rented through Grahams Golf Cars and their rates are comparable to cart rentals at other campgrounds in the area. We hope you'll try us out again and if you have any issues with your accommodations please do not hesitate to contact me directly at (843) 477-8005. We appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Our family rented one of the Executive rentals for 4 adults and 3 kids. In years past we had always camped, but with the growing family, and lack of a camper, it became a more viable option for the vacation rentals.

We were located at the back of the resort, farthest from the beach. However, there was never any problems with noise. The trailer had basic amenities, which is fine considering they are vacation rentals and an affordable, ocean front property.

Our only complaint about the vacation rentals was the lack of kitchen supplies. We had to go out and purchase our own cutting boards, cooking utensils, etc., because of the very limited if any items that were available.

We had one issue during our visit where the front door handle broke off, and after calling in the repair, the repairman arrived within minutes. Superb, quick service.

Guests are on their own for housekeeping unless they want to pay a premium. This was fine for our needs, just keep in mind, you are in a beach environment, so you will need to bring a broom and dust pan to keep track of the sand that comes in on little toes.

The property provides great amenities onsite including putt-putt, a large outdoor pool, separate kids pool, and lazy river. We spent some portion of every day at the pool complex, just keep in mind, some times are busier than others.

Overall, we have stayed at Pirateland several times, and continue to return due to its prime location and family friendly atmosphere. Everyone needs to remember, regardless of whether you are in a tent, mobile home, or vacation rental, you are in a campground and not a five star resort. So plan accordingly and have a great time at the beach.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Justin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Where to start. We've been going (with a group of families that ranges from 10-15 rigs) to Pirateland since 2001 for April School Vacation. Tho we camp all season long (a short season up here in New England), the Pirateland trip is what keeps us anticipating the start of a new camping season through our long winter months. In the weeks prior to departing Massachusetts for Pirateland, we're all posting past vacation pics on Facebook with countdowns to when we'll be in our little piece of paradise, alas, for a short week only! The sites are awesome, well maintained and the tiki huts are fabulous. The beach is spotless and inviting and the lazy river is the afternoon destination for us all! It is a large campground but spotlessly and you can rent golf carts for ease of getting around. Pirateland is also incredibly affordable compared to the few campgrounds in the Northeast with comparable amenities. You won't regret trying this campground out and I'll be you'll keep returning, just like we do! Enjoy your visit! :D

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aud E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have been camping at Pirateland every summer for the last 10 yrs and we love it. If you are older and prefer it quiet you would probably prefer to come the last 2 weeks of August when there are not many people here. If you are younger you may want to come in the peak of the summer when there is a little bit more going on. The place is great and even in peak season there are sites further inland that are a little more peaceful. I see a lot of people complain about the "party" atmosphere and it does tend to perk up a bit on the "strip" after dark so if you have a site very close to the ocean you will have a couple hours of harmless fun watching the golf carts ride up and down the road. If you are wanting a completely quiet campground with nothing going on, you may have to look somewhere else. This is a very fun campground that is family oriented and we love it. I hope they don't change a thing other than open the hot tub in the summer again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Corina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Myrtle Beach
6.4 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,922 reviews
2.8 mi away
Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel
2.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,190 reviews
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
6.0 mi away
The Breakers Resort
The Breakers Resort
#31 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
4,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirateland Oceanfront Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirateland Oceanfront Campground

Address: 5401 S Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29575-8923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Also Known As:
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground Hotel Myrtle Beach
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing