We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pirateland is our annual slice of heaven for a week!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground
Grafton, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Pirateland is our annual slice of heaven for a week!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Where to start. We've been going (with a group of families that ranges from 10-15 rigs) to Pirateland since 2001 for April School Vacation. Tho we camp all season long (a short season up here in New England), the Pirateland trip is what keeps us anticipating the start of a new camping season through our long winter months. In the weeks prior to departing Massachusetts for Pirateland, we're all posting past vacation pics on Facebook with countdowns to when we'll be in our little piece of paradise, alas, for a short week only! The sites are awesome, well maintained and the tiki huts are fabulous. The beach is spotless and inviting and the lazy river is the afternoon destination for us all! It is a large campground but spotlessly and you can rent golf carts for ease of getting around. Pirateland is also incredibly affordable compared to the few campgrounds in the Northeast with comparable amenities. You won't regret trying this campground out and I'll be you'll keep returning, just like we do! Enjoy your visit! :D

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aud E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    101
    61
    52
    43
See reviews for
279
46
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stony Creek, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have been camping at Pirateland every summer for the last 10 yrs and we love it. If you are older and prefer it quiet you would probably prefer to come the last 2 weeks of August when there are not many people here. If you are younger you may want to come in the peak of the summer when there is a little bit more going on. The place is great and even in peak season there are sites further inland that are a little more peaceful. I see a lot of people complain about the "party" atmosphere and it does tend to perk up a bit on the "strip" after dark so if you have a site very close to the ocean you will have a couple hours of harmless fun watching the golf carts ride up and down the road. If you are wanting a completely quiet campground with nothing going on, you may have to look somewhere else. This is a very fun campground that is family oriented and we love it. I hope they don't change a thing other than open the hot tub in the summer again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Corina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landis, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at Pirateland September 6-9, 2013. We enjoyed the place, but won't return. We didn't like how everything was far away from our campsite. We had a beach front property and we had to get into our car to get to the store, playground, and pools. We ended up not using any of these because of the distance. We also didn't rent a golf cart, because of the outrageous price. We spent all of our time on the beach, which was nice to have it so close. We didn't like the fact that there wasn't anywhere near us to rinse off our feet. We used the outside shower to clean up, but was hard to use because it got everything else wet! Also the bath houses were terrible. I have seen better showers in a roach motel, then this place. I have been in other campgrounds in Myrtle beach that has much better. The bathhouses need a upgrade! Just because of this, we will not return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LizzyFite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VCarmody, Guest Relations Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for giving us a try and for reviewing the park! The outdoor pool, lazy river, and camp store are centrally located in the middle of the campground. Looks like you stayed pretty close to the beach, about 300 yards or so from the pool area. We realize every vacation moment is precious and the 2 minute drive or 7 minute walk does take enjoyment time away for some. Some guests enjoy the pool and lazy river so much that it’s worth it for them. We do have campsites located very close to the pool and camp store for guests that prefer to be closer.

We do have outdoor showers for rinsing off located at the bathhouses in the beach area. Each site does include water hook up as well. A tip for guests – if you have a bucket handy, fill it with water and keep it by your camper door to rinse feet before you enter. Really helps cut down on sand in the camper. This year our bathhouses were rated 9 out of 10 by Good Sam RV Travel Guide & Campground Directory which performs onsite inspections every year. They were refurbished about 12 years ago and last year we made a lot of plumbing improvements. We are working on more improvements this year and we do appreciate your feedback. I am sorry that you will not return because you did not like our bathhouses and hope you will reconsider!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We decided to do some camping in a travel trailer and chose Pirateland as our destination. We went with another couple and they brought a 4 year old. IT WAS SO MUCH FUN!!!! The people who work at the grounds are all so nice and everyone we talked with has been coming here for years. They have an awesome lazy river, a huge pool with plenty of room, put put, golf carts to rent, fishing, paddle boating, and they are RIGHT ON THE BEACH! It had a nice family atmosphere. I will go back here for sure!

Room Tip: If you don't like a lot of dirt request a concrete pad. We liked being in the shade next to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We just got back from PIRATELAND, Myrtle Beach (August 11th - August 18th). We rented a villa/cabin and were very happy with it.

And now...

CAMPING: The location of the camping is great. You have many stores nearby: Walgreens, Walmart SuperCenter, Food Lion, many mini-golf, restaurants, Costco and Outlets. The camping is well maintained and clean. The pools are very nice, especially the lazy river, and the water was refreshing, which was a very pleasant surprise with the hot temperature! Since we were not in the high season period, they were less people on the site so we didn't witness any inappropriate behavior from other vacationers.

VILLA: Great, really clean, enough space for the family, confortable, loved them! It's a mobile home with everything you need in it. Since we were flying from Canada, we rented the linen (75$ for the week), which included the bedding and towels in the bathroom and kitchen. We really appreciated the accomodation. The only thing that was missing was the rental kit for the beach (beach chairs and sun umbrella). You can rent them on the beach but they are quite expensive (22$/day). You can buy the kit at Walmart for about 45$ (2 chairs + sun umbrella) or in any bargain beach store next to the camping. We were in the section closer to the swimming pools, which was our choice. It took us 5 min. walk to the beach and 3 min. walk to the swimming pools and other services (laundry, store, etc.). The only depleasant thing, we saw few cockroaches on the patio. We have been told that it was normal in the south. It seems they don't go inside the villas since they are "exterior" insects (that's what an exterminator told us via internet). Once you know it, you pay attention and close the door well. They are disgusting little things but they won't "bug" you! ;-)

BEACH: Everything is wonderful about it! The waves were fantastic and perfect for body surf, boogie board or simply playing in the water and on the beach. Kids (from 8 to 15 years old) loved it! We met a few jellyfishes... That was just bad luck. Life guards are used to it but you can make your own "potion" if you want: 1/2 water and 1/2 vinegar.

ACTIVITIES: Many things to do within 1/2 hour drive and you can get coupons (online or in coupons books at the front desk): Boardwalk, Wonderworks (house upside down, Family Kingdom, mini-golf, Outlets "Tanglers", souvenirs stores, Water parks, restaurants, bowling, etc. Talking about restaurant, the buffet "Crabby Mike's" is a fine night out. However, the price is not as nice. It's 30$ for all people above 12 years old (whether you eat sea food or not).

WILL WE GO AGAIN? YES!!!!! It's a wonderful place to go and we absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coukcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The location is great, but during our stay there was a sewer odor throughout the campground. They also ran out of golf carts. They claimed that this was a rare event. Otherwise a great stay! Many events for kids.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We visited Pirateland on August 3-10th. This was our first time here along with our first beach trip. I have two daughters 17 and 12 and they loved this place. We went to the beach and swimming in the mornings, explored during the afternoons but had to be back at camp by 9pm for the golf cart cruising. My kids had no desire to participate in the Bright light activities on the strand. We had such a great time we will definitely be returning. Each individual camp site was very spacious. We have stayed at a lot of commercial campgrounds and this was by far the best. I loved that each site in the beach area, had shelter over the picnic table. We were able fit two cars, our camper and a golf cart on our site. Although their was no shade , it was awesome to be able to feel the ocean breeze and hear the waves crashing from our site.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Myrtle Beach
2.8 mi away
Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel
6.4 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,822 reviews
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,113 reviews
0.7 mi away
Myrtle Beach Resort
Myrtle Beach Resort
#65 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
787 reviews
3.8 mi away
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
#10 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirateland Oceanfront Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirateland Oceanfront Campground

Property: Pirateland Oceanfront Campground
Address: 5401 S Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29575-8923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Also Known As:
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground Hotel Myrtle Beach
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing