We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pirateland was tons of fun!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We tent camped with 6 families - lots of fun! We booked adjoining sites right up by the beach. I loved the proximity to the beach, but if the sites are very close together, if you weren't in tents and wanting to be with your neighbor. Each site had a 10x10 shelter, which worked out perfectly. The kids had a blast, and biked all over the place! We were there off season, so the traffic wasn't bad, but I would bet in peak season, there would be an overwhelming amount of cars and golf carts on the main roads. Those driving around were very careful of people walking and riding bikes. The kids loved the mini-golf. They did go in the lazy river, though it was quite cold in October. The beach was very clean. It does get VERY narrow at high tide. I couldn't imagine everyone fitting in at peak season! The facilities were very clean, store stocked, and staff nice! We would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: If you are tent camping you can either use the RV sites up front, or stay back in the trees by the l...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VCarmody, Guest Relations Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review your stay! It's great to hear the group had a good time. We are in a great location here on the beach. And you're right; in the summer it is very busy. I'll pass along your compliments to the crew and hopefully we'll see you again soon (maybe when the lazy river is a little warmer - early June is usually pretty nice and not too busy)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
There are newer reviews for Pirateland Oceanfront Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 405 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

Went to the beach and stayed at Pirateland campground with my family the Cooper's! We were in site 837 was a very good site leval and with enough room to put up a large screened tent! The campground was very clean and quiet,they had a very nice outdoor pool and lazy river a mini golf course which we enjoyed and a very warm indoor pool and an extra HOT hot tub...maybe a little to hot..LOL..had a wonderful time while on our weeks vacay and anniversary trip!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minton2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VCarmody, Guest Relations Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers! This is a great time to be at the beach because it is a bit more relaxing and quieter than the summer. It's great to hear you enjoyed our amenities and some family time! I'll check with the pool tech about the hot tub temp. Thank you for staying with us and Happy Anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We just returned from our first week long camping trip in Myrtle Beach and stayed at Pirateland. The park was clean and the staff were friendly and very helpful reassigning us a different site when I asked to be closer to the ocean. The park is pet friendly and we camped with our 3 Greyhounds. The lazy river and pool areas were clean and well kept. Good amount of washers & dryers. We had difficulty with one of the dryers and a repair guy was there in less than 5 minutes. The sites were a good size and our site was very level. The bathhouses were a bit dated but were very clean and well taken care of. We've booked for next year already!!! This will definitely be a campground we return to every year and will definitely recommend it to our friends!!!

Room Tip: Seems to be a popular campground - so book early if you want to be in a prime area like oceanfront!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tlterrynva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VCarmody, Guest Relations Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to let others you enjoyed it! I'll pass along your compliments about the condition of the facilities and quick response time to the crew. We're glad you already booked for next year and we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We've been going to Pirateland for several years now and have always been pleased with our stay. We've stayed at the Villa's and the campgrounds and both were excellent.
Beach access is easy, the pools are great (especially the Lazy River).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VCarmody, Guest Relations Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for patronage over the years, and for taking the time to review the park! Great point about easy beach access. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This campground should be re-named partyland instead of pirateland. The people drinking, partying, is out of control. Some nights screaming could be heard till 1, 2 am. They have a golfcart "parade" in the evenings which consists of drunk people driving their golfcarts with music blaring. The security department at pirateland is the same department as entertainment, that much is clear, - regardless of what any rebuttle from the campground will say. I watched a security personnel encourage some folks on a golfcart in the parade to drink more, "chug, chug" he said to them. The golfcarts at this campground are out of hand, people flying around on them day and night, as if they are toys. It was not surprising, that on one of our last days in mid-august, a girl fell out of one during the day and fractured her skull. This is no exaggeration. Their WIFI is non-existent, cuts in and out and simply does not work properly. They tell you to try in their office/lobby area, we had problems with it there as well. The fireworks going off at night on the beach, if the campground WANTED to stop it, they could by calling the police, it is not the campers job to call them. The restroom showers have no hooks, benches, or anyplace to put your stuff, as well as no locks on the doors either. This is NOT a campground for families, we were there from early to mid august , and this is an accurate, honest review, so any rebuttle from the campground, - do not believe it folks!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VCarmody, Guest Relations Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to review the park. The remarks about personnel are disheartening and disturbing and should have been brought immediately to the attention of the Manager on duty. When the free Wi-Fi experiences high usage there may be signal interference. There is a 24 hour technical support line that will help guests get connected. The campground has called the police out to the beach to enforce beach ordinances, including the ‘no fireworks’ rule. There are hooks, benches, and locks on the doors, in the bathhouses. They are sometimes reported missing or broken, upon which they are replaced. We encourage people to stop by the park and check us out when they are in the Myrtle Beach area. We welcome travelers too see firsthand what the park, amenities, and crew are like! We're sorry you did not enjoy your stay here, we hope you enjoy any return visits to Myrtle Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We've been to pirate land probably 5 or 6 times now. We have only stayed on the villas on the lake side so others comments about loud parties in the sites near the beach I don't know about. I ve never had any problems. They are small rentals which I only need to sleep at night and im not very picky and appreciate the accomodtions for what they are, beach rentals. We like to go in august as the kids are heading back to school and the grounds are pretty quiet. We always get a golf cart, its convienient getting to and from the beach or just an extra set of wheels in addition to bikes. I really don't have anything to complain about, the staff are super nice and we rarely feel the need to leave the grounds for something to do. The beach is almost like having your own private one this time of year with plenty of space, if it rains you go to the indoor pool or arcade. I haven't been to other places to compare pirateland to but we love it and its worth the 10 hour drive. Only thing I could suggest is to bring heavy duty trash bags, while they provide them at the office they are thin and there is wildlife that will break into your bag and make a mess, per the earlier review about trash but its not as if it doesn't get picked up every morning.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livingthedreamonvaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VCarmody, Guest Relations Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your feedback! Sounds like you were here late summer which is a nice time to come as you mentioned because it is a bit more quiet than other times of the summer. It's great to hear you enjoy many things the park has to offer! And great note about the trash bags for potential travelers! The birds and squirrels really do a number on them. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The place is convenient although the camping areas are small and crowded. Our view when we come out of our fifth wheel is another campers sewer hook- up. Does not give refund if there is a change in your plans!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank giemony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vrcarmody, Guest Relations Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you for reviewing the park. The park is about 180 acres and we have over 700 campsites. Some areas are smaller than others. It’s unclear what area you were staying in. We encourage travelers to let us know if they do not like their campsite so we may try to accommodate you elsewhere if available. For campsite reservation cancellations we do give refunds, less a service fee, if notice is given in advance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Myrtle Beach
6.4 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,892 reviews
2.8 mi away
Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel
6.8 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
6.0 mi away
The Breakers Resort
The Breakers Resort
#31 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
4,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirateland Oceanfront Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirateland Oceanfront Campground

Address: 5401 S Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29575-8923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Also Known As:
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground Hotel Myrtle Beach
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing