We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We've been to pirate land probably 5 or 6 times now. We have only stayed on the villas on the lake side so others comments about loud parties in the sites near the beach I don't know about. I ve never had any problems. They are small rentals which I only need to sleep at night and im not very picky and appreciate the accomodtions for what they are, beach rentals. We like to go in august as the kids are heading back to school and the grounds are pretty quiet. We always get a golf cart, its convienient getting to and from the beach or just an extra set of wheels in addition to bikes. I really don't have anything to complain about, the staff are super nice and we rarely feel the need to leave the grounds for something to do. The beach is almost like having your own private one this time of year with plenty of space, if it rains you go to the indoor pool or arcade. I haven't been to other places to compare pirateland to but we love it and its worth the 10 hour drive. Only thing I could suggest is to bring heavy duty trash bags, while they provide them at the office they are thin and there is wildlife that will break into your bag and make a mess, per the earlier review about trash but its not as if it doesn't get picked up every morning.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livingthedreamonvaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VCarmody, Guest Relations Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your feedback! Sounds like you were here late summer which is a nice time to come as you mentioned because it is a bit more quiet than other times of the summer. It's great to hear you enjoy many things the park has to offer! And great note about the trash bags for potential travelers! The birds and squirrels really do a number on them. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    95
    58
    50
    41
See reviews for
259
42
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

The place is convenient although the camping areas are small and crowded. Our view when we come out of our fifth wheel is another campers sewer hook- up. Does not give refund if there is a change in your plans!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank giemony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vrcarmody, Guest Relations Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for reviewing the park. The park is about 180 acres and we have over 700 campsites. Some areas are smaller than others. It’s unclear what area you were staying in. We encourage travelers to let us know if they do not like their campsite so we may try to accommodate you elsewhere if available. For campsite reservation cancellations we do give refunds, less a service fee, if notice is given in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

First the staff is very helpful and nice. Easy check in/out. Noise was not a problem, nor was location. Bathhouses are clean and nearby. Sites are good and the covered areas are great. Second, this basically is a trailer park with lots of permanent trailers . The pool is terrible as the deepest is 4 feet. All activities stop by 5. My kids were terribly bored by the third day. Compared to other campgrounds in the.area wehave stayed in, this is lacking in major ways. People in general were not friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAMPINGQUEEN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vrcarmody, Guest Relations Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. It’s great to hear you encountered helpful staff and were able to enjoy some aspects of the park. We are a little confused however by your activities comment and low rating. Generally, almost every day in the summer, we have activities that last until about 8pm and some nights even 10pm. This information is available for public viewing on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
70 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We read the reviews for all of the oceanfront campgrounds before making our decision .... we were especially surprised to see that the customer relations folks actually take the time to read an respond to comments that are left.

We are accustomed to camping in the Adirondacks were campsites tend to be a bit more sprawling and rustic ... so, we had to put everything into context when we went to Pirateland realizing that this wasn't really going to be a "camping" experience as much as a place to stay while at the beach. The sites are generally wide enough but not very deep ... the roads are narrow and there is an abundance of golf carts moving about ... actually, the place is so big you really need some mode of transportation and I guess the golf carts are a better alternative than a constant stream of pickup trucks. Our site was close to the beach so walking was our primary mode of travel to the beach ... though I must confess, we spent most of our time visiting other attractions around MB. The only negative about our site was the sewer point ... it was higher than our blackwater outlet on our trailer ... ours is a Jayfeather that is build lower to the ground than most which played into it ... if we had a bigger rig it wouldn't have been a problem.

We didn't find it be a "party scene" with load music as others have mentioned ... I think it's the luck of the draw with where you end up and who is around you while at the campground. Based on this, our first time experience, I wouldn't hesitate bringing small kids. Although the place looked to be at or near full capacity, we never felt over crowded ... Although we never took advantge of the pool or the lazy river, we did drive past it several times at different times of the day ... it never appeared to be over crowded.

The staff we encountered were all super nice and friendly when given the opportunity with one exception ... and I say this more to poke fun than as a negative ... the security folks ... seriously fellows, at least try and crack a smile and don't be afraid to return a friendly wave ... we're not all bad guys.

Regarding the facilities ... restrooms were maintained adequately but are looking a little tired. The wi-fi is not reliable ... i found myself boucing back and forth between 3 different services (including the neighboring campgroud) in order to stay on line ... for me this was a working vacation so have this access was important.

The camp store, the snackbar/arcade area, the laundramat, and the other facilities were all first rate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYnowNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vrcarmody, Guest Relations Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for choosing us and taking the time to review the park! We especially appreciate your comments about site location and park layout to potential travelers as they may help first time guests be a little more prepared. We are with a new WI-fi provider this year and overall the feedback has been better, but the need for bandwidth in the summer is very great and there is room for improvement. When you return I hope you'll try the lazy river and pool! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

If you have kids that need sleep do NOT stay here! The music is like a dance club and staff can't do anything about it or doesn't want to. We will never stay here again!!! The music is coming from all directions, people are screaming and drunk. It's 11 at night and my family and I just want to sleep. We did call the police last night for the fireworks going off on the beach (because staff said they couldn't do anything about the beach area) and thankfully there are no fireworks tonight. Wish I could call the police for the screaming and load music inside the campground...do not stay here with young kids!!! It's terrible at night! Not a relaxing time at the beach and camp sites are so close together you have privacy! And I don't see how the big campers get in their spots. Over crowded, small spaces, load music, and drunk people every where.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank syrpjcc555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vrcarmody, Guest Relations Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback to potential travelers. The summer is a pretty busy time for us; the park is quite active with families of all ages. We enforce quiet hours from 11pm to 7am. Something for all travelers to consider is site location. Guests staying on oceanfront sites are in the busiest areas and will likely have a completely different camping experience there, as opposed to staying in a quieter area a little further from the beach. Also the time of the year is something to consider. Myrtle Beach has great weather in the Spring and Fall! Those wishing to stay away from the busiest times of the year may consider trying us out when fewer families are traveling. We hope you return to Myrtle Beach and enjoy your next experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

When calling to make our reservations, Desk clerks were VERY friendly and the man I spoke with made me make my final decision to give Pirateland a try. Upon arrival the lady at the desk was not as friendly. She gives me the map with our site outlind in marker and a route to get to that site knowing we had a 36 ft 5th wheel in tow..the roads are VERY narrow, as we approach our site we realize there is NOWAY we were going to fit on it, Back to the desk I go to get another site, the next one was big enough to get on but once our slides were out we were kissing the trailers next to us..If you want a cold drink while enjoying the pool and the sun you had to gather all your stuff up and pray you had money to rent a golf cart to drive to their snack bar or back to your site..Bath houses could use a good scrubing, also in need of updating. I would say the best thing I have to say about this park was the sweet cleaning lady that waited a few minutes on me to finish drying my clothes in the laundry room after 10 PM which is the time they close, I was use to Mrytle Beach travel park that leaves theirs open all nite and was unaware of the closing time. To many golf carts flying in all directions!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starbucks4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vrcarmody, Guest Relations Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for giving us a try! We appreciate your taking the time to give us your feedback. It’s great to hear that some crew members were great, yet disheartening you did not find the same level of service from all. We’re sorry you were not able to get in to your first site, and that the other was a tight fit. The park is very busy in the summer with a lot of bikes, carts, and nearly every site full. The site sizes vary, and the ease of getting in depends on a lot of factors. We’re happy to be in our 46th year of operation. Maneuvering units and vehicles around the campground at our busiest times needs some extra care. This is especially the case in the inland area where there are a lot of trees. We have some wide open pull thrus (a lot easier to get in to) that you may find more accommodating if you should decide to try us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Park, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We have been coming here for 5 years straight and stay for 4 weeks in the beach area. This place is wonderful for our family with kids ages 6 and 8. The beach is conveniently located at the edge of the campground. The nights are fun for all ages. From 9 to 11 there is a golfcart parade. Campers have a fun time driving their decorated golfcarts as they play their country songs on their ipods down the dedicated parade route. The riders and those observering have a great time giving high fives. The kids look forward to this every night. Security is at both ends and in the middle to make sure everything is safe and fun for all. Once 11pm hits, its quiet hours...and this place gets dead like a door knob....its silent! Nobody is partying till 3am....infact...nobody is partying past 11pm. One thing I must say is that security does an incredible job. Those that have a problem with this place are those that have an issue with following rules! Rules are there to be followed and enforced which makes this the main reason why we love Pirateland. On another note...the beach does not belong to Pirateland or any of the other campgrounds....they cannot control the tides or the fireworks being launched from it. It does stink during high tide but hey...its not much effort to move your chair back. The fireworks are fun to look at and those launching stop by 11pm also. Thank you Pirateland for another wonderful summer for our family of 4 and we will see you again next July.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vrcarmody, Guest Relations Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences at PirateLand with other travelers! Seems that your family enjoys many aspects of the campground's atmosphere. We'll be sure to pass on your compliment to the patrol staff. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Myrtle Beach
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
10.2 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,047 reviews
2.8 mi away
Surfside Beach Resort
Surfside Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Surfside Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
0.7 mi away
Myrtle Beach Resort
Myrtle Beach Resort
#68 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirateland Oceanfront Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirateland Oceanfront Campground

Property: Pirateland Oceanfront Campground
Address: 5401 S Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29575-8923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Also Known As:
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground Hotel Myrtle Beach
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing