We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not so good...”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

First the staff is very helpful and nice. Easy check in/out. Noise was not a problem, nor was location. Bathhouses are clean and nearby. Sites are good and the covered areas are great. Second, this basically is a trailer park with lots of permanent trailers . The pool is terrible as the deepest is 4 feet. All activities stop by 5. My kids were terribly bored by the third day. Compared to other campgrounds in the.area wehave stayed in, this is lacking in major ways. People in general were not friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAMPINGQUEEN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vrcarmody, Guest Relations Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. It’s great to hear you encountered helpful staff and were able to enjoy some aspects of the park. We are a little confused however by your activities comment and low rating. Generally, almost every day in the summer, we have activities that last until about 8pm and some nights even 10pm. This information is available for public viewing on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    101
    61
    53
    47
See reviews for
286
46
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We read the reviews for all of the oceanfront campgrounds before making our decision .... we were especially surprised to see that the customer relations folks actually take the time to read an respond to comments that are left.

We are accustomed to camping in the Adirondacks were campsites tend to be a bit more sprawling and rustic ... so, we had to put everything into context when we went to Pirateland realizing that this wasn't really going to be a "camping" experience as much as a place to stay while at the beach. The sites are generally wide enough but not very deep ... the roads are narrow and there is an abundance of golf carts moving about ... actually, the place is so big you really need some mode of transportation and I guess the golf carts are a better alternative than a constant stream of pickup trucks. Our site was close to the beach so walking was our primary mode of travel to the beach ... though I must confess, we spent most of our time visiting other attractions around MB. The only negative about our site was the sewer point ... it was higher than our blackwater outlet on our trailer ... ours is a Jayfeather that is build lower to the ground than most which played into it ... if we had a bigger rig it wouldn't have been a problem.

We didn't find it be a "party scene" with load music as others have mentioned ... I think it's the luck of the draw with where you end up and who is around you while at the campground. Based on this, our first time experience, I wouldn't hesitate bringing small kids. Although the place looked to be at or near full capacity, we never felt over crowded ... Although we never took advantge of the pool or the lazy river, we did drive past it several times at different times of the day ... it never appeared to be over crowded.

The staff we encountered were all super nice and friendly when given the opportunity with one exception ... and I say this more to poke fun than as a negative ... the security folks ... seriously fellows, at least try and crack a smile and don't be afraid to return a friendly wave ... we're not all bad guys.

Regarding the facilities ... restrooms were maintained adequately but are looking a little tired. The wi-fi is not reliable ... i found myself boucing back and forth between 3 different services (including the neighboring campgroud) in order to stay on line ... for me this was a working vacation so have this access was important.

The camp store, the snackbar/arcade area, the laundramat, and the other facilities were all first rate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYnowNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vrcarmody, Guest Relations Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for choosing us and taking the time to review the park! We especially appreciate your comments about site location and park layout to potential travelers as they may help first time guests be a little more prepared. We are with a new WI-fi provider this year and overall the feedback has been better, but the need for bandwidth in the summer is very great and there is room for improvement. When you return I hope you'll try the lazy river and pool! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

If you have kids that need sleep do NOT stay here! The music is like a dance club and staff can't do anything about it or doesn't want to. We will never stay here again!!! The music is coming from all directions, people are screaming and drunk. It's 11 at night and my family and I just want to sleep. We did call the police last night for the fireworks going off on the beach (because staff said they couldn't do anything about the beach area) and thankfully there are no fireworks tonight. Wish I could call the police for the screaming and load music inside the campground...do not stay here with young kids!!! It's terrible at night! Not a relaxing time at the beach and camp sites are so close together you have privacy! And I don't see how the big campers get in their spots. Over crowded, small spaces, load music, and drunk people every where.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank syrpjcc555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vrcarmody, Guest Relations Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback to potential travelers. The summer is a pretty busy time for us; the park is quite active with families of all ages. We enforce quiet hours from 11pm to 7am. Something for all travelers to consider is site location. Guests staying on oceanfront sites are in the busiest areas and will likely have a completely different camping experience there, as opposed to staying in a quieter area a little further from the beach. Also the time of the year is something to consider. Myrtle Beach has great weather in the Spring and Fall! Those wishing to stay away from the busiest times of the year may consider trying us out when fewer families are traveling. We hope you return to Myrtle Beach and enjoy your next experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

When calling to make our reservations, Desk clerks were VERY friendly and the man I spoke with made me make my final decision to give Pirateland a try. Upon arrival the lady at the desk was not as friendly. She gives me the map with our site outlind in marker and a route to get to that site knowing we had a 36 ft 5th wheel in tow..the roads are VERY narrow, as we approach our site we realize there is NOWAY we were going to fit on it, Back to the desk I go to get another site, the next one was big enough to get on but once our slides were out we were kissing the trailers next to us..If you want a cold drink while enjoying the pool and the sun you had to gather all your stuff up and pray you had money to rent a golf cart to drive to their snack bar or back to your site..Bath houses could use a good scrubing, also in need of updating. I would say the best thing I have to say about this park was the sweet cleaning lady that waited a few minutes on me to finish drying my clothes in the laundry room after 10 PM which is the time they close, I was use to Mrytle Beach travel park that leaves theirs open all nite and was unaware of the closing time. To many golf carts flying in all directions!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starbucks4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vrcarmody, Guest Relations Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for giving us a try! We appreciate your taking the time to give us your feedback. It’s great to hear that some crew members were great, yet disheartening you did not find the same level of service from all. We’re sorry you were not able to get in to your first site, and that the other was a tight fit. The park is very busy in the summer with a lot of bikes, carts, and nearly every site full. The site sizes vary, and the ease of getting in depends on a lot of factors. We’re happy to be in our 46th year of operation. Maneuvering units and vehicles around the campground at our busiest times needs some extra care. This is especially the case in the inland area where there are a lot of trees. We have some wide open pull thrus (a lot easier to get in to) that you may find more accommodating if you should decide to try us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Park, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We have been coming here for 5 years straight and stay for 4 weeks in the beach area. This place is wonderful for our family with kids ages 6 and 8. The beach is conveniently located at the edge of the campground. The nights are fun for all ages. From 9 to 11 there is a golfcart parade. Campers have a fun time driving their decorated golfcarts as they play their country songs on their ipods down the dedicated parade route. The riders and those observering have a great time giving high fives. The kids look forward to this every night. Security is at both ends and in the middle to make sure everything is safe and fun for all. Once 11pm hits, its quiet hours...and this place gets dead like a door knob....its silent! Nobody is partying till 3am....infact...nobody is partying past 11pm. One thing I must say is that security does an incredible job. Those that have a problem with this place are those that have an issue with following rules! Rules are there to be followed and enforced which makes this the main reason why we love Pirateland. On another note...the beach does not belong to Pirateland or any of the other campgrounds....they cannot control the tides or the fireworks being launched from it. It does stink during high tide but hey...its not much effort to move your chair back. The fireworks are fun to look at and those launching stop by 11pm also. Thank you Pirateland for another wonderful summer for our family of 4 and we will see you again next July.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vrcarmody, Guest Relations Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences at PirateLand with other travelers! Seems that your family enjoys many aspects of the campground's atmosphere. We'll be sure to pass on your compliment to the patrol staff. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is a busy campground with many many decorated golf carts going to and from the ocean, lazy river, store, food shop or just cruising around the campground. If you are right next to the oceanside road or on one of the two main streets in and out from the ocean you will have alot of golf cart traffic and will right next to the evening cart parade with all the various forms of music and noise. We stayed 6 sites back from the ocean and heard only an little noise. This is not a quiet mountain camp, this is a very busy place. Most of the cart drivers are ok but there are always a few that are "distracted".
We had a site issue that took several days to resolve. We found most of the staff friendly.

The ocean sites at Pirateland are much bigger than those a Ocean Lakes, but the inland sites at Pirateland are smaller and harder to back in to than the bigger inland pull through sites at Ocean Lakes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turf1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vrcarmody, Guest Relations Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
We appreciate your taking the time to give us a review! Thank you for giving some great suggestions to potential travelers. If you have have an opportunity to try us out sometime in the off-season you may like the more laid back atmosphere. September and October are great because the weather is still hot enough to swim and sunbath, but not too hot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Camped alot as a child and have alot of fond memories. Now at 50 just went camping with friends for the first time since I was a child and found it to be alot of fun, Convenient and comfortable, Piratesland in S Mrytle Beach is so close to everything. The location is such that you have a nice sea breaze and there are lots of shady lots available. If that doesn't keep you cool then there is the lazy river, very large and cool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momldoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vrcarmody, Guest Relations Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thanks for your review! It's great to hear that you had a good time and that your getting back in to camping! We are in a really great location and the lazy river is one of the longest in the area. We hope to see you again soon! Enjoy your next camping adventure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Myrtle Beach
6.4 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,863 reviews
2.8 mi away
Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
10.1 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,148 reviews
0.7 mi away
Myrtle Beach Resort
Myrtle Beach Resort
#72 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirateland Oceanfront Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirateland Oceanfront Campground

Property: Pirateland Oceanfront Campground
Address: 5401 S Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29575-8923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Also Known As:
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground Hotel Myrtle Beach
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing