We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“golf carts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground
Reviewed June 25, 2012

i have read so many bad reviews based on teens in golf carts. blame who's really responsible! officials chose to give 16 yr olds license NOT pirateland! you are in more danger in a parking lot. secondly, if underage kids are driving its the PARENTS fault not the campground. it is clearly stated on the rental agreement that your golf cart will be taken from you if you are caught letting underage drivers drive it. i know for a fact that the campground patrol does enforce the curfew. yes, if you want quiet between 9-11 choose a site that isnt so close to the ocean. think of the alternative, you could lug all of your chairs and beach bags to the ocean in 90 degree weather...or better yet, those who complain should choose a hotel. i love pirateland. they are kid and animal friendly. the atmosphere is one of a neighborly and kind enviroment. i will be back this sunday and i cant wait!

Room Tip: this is a campground....you should choose what works for you. close to the beach, around the lakes...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gemini2tru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
There are newer reviews for Pirateland Oceanfront Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 404 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2012

This was my first experience camping and camped with family in a travel trailer. I regularly used the bath house and it was clean and uncrowded every time. There are good places to bike, and the area seems safe. Security patrols throughout the day and evening. The golf cart parade at night is the equivalent of cruising down on the strip but if you get a site far enough away from the main roads it's not troublesome. We were about 4 sites from the beach road which made for an easy trip in carrying all the beach stuff. The lazy river is the biggest I've ever seen and was so relaxing. The pool is saline and is big enough to accomodate a lot of people comfortably. My only complaint would be the lack of condiments for the coffee at the general store. Powered creamer??? Come on now! :-)

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the beach road or main roads unless you are a hardcore people watcher.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank jackandtara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the park! I'll mention the coffee creamer request to the Store manager. Great tip about the oceanfront sites!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Tonight is our 4th night at Pirateland Campgrounds & we couldn't be happier. We have a decent size lot 4 spots down from the ocean front site. The bath house is very clean & never usually busy. The pool & lazy river are nice & warm. The baby pool seemed cold, but it didn't bother our 4 yr old. I've read complaints about wi fi, but we haven't had any issues connecting or staying connected. Drawbacks: as w/ any campground around here, you're going to have the "golf cart" issue. Every night from 9-11pm, there's a golf cart parade of sorts. For this reason, do NOT pick the campsites right next to the beach. Also, pay the extra $ for the sites w/ the pavillion. We've strung clothes line & hung up our wet clothes & towels. FYI, we drove through Lakewood Campgrounds today to see if we're missing anything. While nicer amenities, it was clausterphobic & ridiculously packed in there! Pirateland's sites are def much larger & the campground is much quieter & more spacious! We'll be coming back!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TN_Mamato4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our park! Early to mid June is a great time to come because it's just starting to pick up. We appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

THis was our first camping trip to the beach, and we choose Pirateland basically based on an internet search. We loved Pirateland and would go back tomorrow if we could! While the sites are extremely close to each other, the other amenitites of the park make up for that. WE had an oceanfront site and loved being ten steps from the beach. The lazy river, pool, and kiddie pool were pristine. We also visited the indoor pool and loved it. The comfort stations were spotless as were the pool areas! Our only complaint would be that the sites are mainly dirt. A concrete slab would have saved us a lot of sweeping and vacuuming!
Loved Pirateland and we are glad we stayed there. We have heard that some other campgrounds are also super, but we loved the lazy river here! We'll be back

Room Tip: We liked the beach front sites, but there is no shade. if you want shade, stay farther back beyond...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Georgiabigfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Thank you for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your first time with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This was our third visit to this campground. We went over spring break. Naturally it was very busy with lots of kids. We had oceanfront sites. The only issue is the gazebo across from our site which is the beach access tends to get taken over by teens from about 8p-11p. There is security which enforces quiet hour at 11p. The teens on the golf carts tend to get a bit crazy too. Also they need to update the bath houses for better ventilation. If someone was showering it became a sauna. Highly recommend staying here with kids and worth the beach front sites

Room Tip: oceanfront sites are highly recommended
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karenqn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We have visited Pirateland in the past - maybe 5 years ago. After an incident when a worker attempted to steal from our campsite, we didn't go back for a while. We have chosen nearby Ocean Lakes and Lakewood for our more recent trips to Myrtle Beach but decided to give Pirateland another try on this Easter trip. We were very disappointed. The property is not very well kept up. The arcade, store, and restaurant are all small, not very well appointed, and have a "snakey look" with the ivy growing all over the front and sides. The staff was not very friendly, the indoor pool looked murky and cloudy. They are so determined to make sure that you are not a minute late on checking out that they stand at the gate and write down the time that you are leaving. Thankfully, we left a couple of hours before check out but wonder if they would have charged for another day if one was even 5 minutes late leaving.
I would strongly recommend going next door to Lakewood or just a short way down to Ocean Lakes for a much nicer campground experience. The prices are all about the same but you certainly would get much more for your money at one of the other two places.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vrcarmody, Guest Relations Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Thank you for giving us another try. We are very sorry you were disappointed. We've hosted many return guests in 46 years and our goal is to ensure they have a great experience and want to return. Our park has a nostalgic feel and is the smallest of the three campgrounds mentioned. The front gate crew usually takes parking passes from campers checking out and may make notes on the pass, but we do not charge people for being five minutes past check out time. We hope you enjoy your future stays in Myrtle Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Took my family for the first time camping. We went for 4 days. 2 out of 4 we had rain. If you are planning a trip, check your weather. Camping in the rain is no fun.

Camper turned into a damper, with wet towels and wet clothes from swimming. Amenities on site are great. Shower/Bath houses are clean. There was always toilet paper and soap. The general store is great, everything and anything. We didn't use the rec room or laundromat. We did eat pizza which was good for onsite & $10+ and the arcade was fun. The Lazy River and pool area were fun. You can take your drinks with you everywhere, just use a coozie.

Everyone has golfcarts. Think of kids driving around all the time with stereos. Also this place was very dog friendly. If you don't want to deal with your dog, board her/him at the K9 Cabana on Dick Pond Road.

Myrtle Beach itself is very touristy. Think Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge, Branson, etc.. on the beach. Every 10 feet is a tourist store with towels and shot glasses. We ate lunch at Dirty Dons. This was very good and economical choice.

If you want true local flavor head south on 17 to Murrells Inlet. Go to the Marshwalk. There are a bunch of restaurants and bars there. Very friendly, Good atmosphere. Lots of seafood type restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tokizy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Myrtle Beach
6.4 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,891 reviews
2.8 mi away
Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel
6.8 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
6.0 mi away
The Breakers Resort
The Breakers Resort
#31 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
4,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirateland Oceanfront Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirateland Oceanfront Campground

Address: 5401 S Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29575-8923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Also Known As:
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground Hotel Myrtle Beach
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing