We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine Dining in Myrtle Beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean 17 - CLOSED

Ocean 17
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Deer Park, IL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fine Dining in Myrtle Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We are always looking for good places to eat when we vacation in Myrtle. Ocean 17 had only been open 2 weeks when we tried it in August. We decided at the last minute to try it out. Since it was so new we got right in. We were pleasantly surprised. The decor was very upscale, had a great looking bar area with fresh "happy hour" seafood display and had a live jazz duo playing. The service was great. The server greeted us quickly and told us about the specials. The menu was diverse for any specific tastes. From uniques seafood, to steaks, to upscale burgers. The sea bass in parchment that I had was the "best". The guys had the burgers and they said they were great. Owner came buy to introduce himself and solicit suggestions for improvement (we had none). Great start for this new place. We will go back when we are there next time. Already have recommended to a couple of local friends to go and check it out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelmomDeerPark_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    5
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Keeping it Classy in The Myrtle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Admit it, there just are not that many superb, four diamond-esque places in Myrtle Beach. Yes, yes there are many, many great restaurants here, but few you can recommend without any reservations for those with a well travelled pallet. Well congratulations fellow foodies, you have a new one. Their steaks can go toe to toe with New York Prime, a sensible seafood selection rivaling any other, and a combination of Mediterranean flair with old fashioned grilling. The wine selection is well balanced, very well priced yet it does not overwhelm you with choices.

Without a doubt we very reserved in our approach to the Ocean. But boy were we pleasantly surprised. Even the decor screams, "we are not your typical Myrtle Beach restaurant!" The beautiful blue seating, well matched baby blue decor and strong use of tile draws you to stare at the very unique ceiling. The bar is elegant and the perfect place to meet for a cocktail. There is even a cigar lounge which will sure to be a massive hit in due time.

Get your self some serious style points by checking into this gem and enjoying a fabulous, first class dinner like very few in the dirty Myrtle!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pizan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Myrtle Beach, SC
Level Contributor
119 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

It is really a family feel here. Morgan the wonderful server couldn't be more warm and accommodating. I've been 4 times. Tried the very tender delicious Cornish hen, the artichoke and asparagus salad from the antipasto bar, a lobster tail, the fine wine and their gourmet burger and sweet potato fries. The background music is Billie Holiday, some soothing jazz, even some classical. Beautiful colors and ambience. Very lively place to eat. Refreshing to have here! I hope to go back this weekend!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JB1894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A welcome change for the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

A surprise is waiting for you at Ocean 17. What a delight to find a different, exciting Mediterranean menu in Myrtle Beach. Delightful decor, impressive silverware and china await the discerning diner. Paella, lamb tangine were our choice. Both were excellent in taste and presentation. Very reasonable prices for quality dishes. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Delightful change for Myrtle Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Visited this restaurant on "Grand Opening" night. Very nice decor and a relaxed feel to it, the menu is not too large but carries some unusual items for Myrtle Beach. Nearly everyone at our table had a different dish, they were all prepared exactly as described, a good presentation and excellent tastes and flavors. Service was friendly and professional and prompt but we were not rushed and enjoyed a leisurly meal. I would recommend this Restaurant to anyone, Chef Sokun is a master with spices and they do not over power the dish but enhace the natural flavors. Wine list covers a lot of ground and there is something for every pocket and taste.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jwbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean 17 also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing