We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Good place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kingston Plantation Condos by Hilton
Ranked #32 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Raleigh, NC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good place”
Reviewed September 9, 2006

I'd give this place 8 out of 10 stars. I will tell you that the picture on the website for this property looked nothing like our unit. Having said that, our 2 bedroom condo was nice. I was disappointed that there was not nearly enough cooking things (measuring cup, cutting board, only one small frying pan, no strainer for pasta, etc) in the kitchen. We had a condo overlooking the water park, which was open Wed- Sunday only from 10 - 5 pm. That worked well for us, but could be a problem if you're vacationing early in the week. The master bath was very poorly lit and we ended up using the second bathroom instead. Our unit wasn't cleaned very well - I had to clean the bathroom before I'd put my two kids in it. We did have a great time. The washer and dryer were very nice to have as well as the full kitchen. Master TV didn't have VCR or DVD player. Living room only had DVD player. We will stay again.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank abbysmom2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    379
    182
    125
    98
See reviews for
718
215
18
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2006

We spent our yearly family vacation here and had a great time. It was booked by a travel agent who had never been to the propery. I read the reviews prior to going and was a bit afraid. My sons loved the waterpark and the beach. We brought bikes with us and had a great time riding around the property. Great location. We did try some of the suggestions for restaurants. The Farmer's Daughter was a disappointment and so was Lone Star. We did enjoy Senor Frogs and having the Walmart so close. The Villa housekeeping was often late in the day, but did the necessary cleaning, but not over and above. The villas was a little dated but tolerable. The television worked along with all the appliances so I was happy. Overall it was a great trip and we would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — decor dated
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank loghau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, GA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2006

Brighton Tower condo was roomy and clean. The management is pretty poor however: check-in is a mess, housekeeping was sometimes after 5pm (this trend is surely related to the check-in problems), There is little to no communication for basic items like pool hours(10 to 8), where to get beach towels (boxes near the pools), resort daily activities (basic program online, recorded message available - perhaps up to date, perhaps out of date), check out time (don't know but we checked out at noon which seemed to be fine), cost of beach chairs/umbrellas ($30 see the life guard). The beach was very crowded arriving after 11am would relegate you to at least three rows of people away from the water.

Pool side restaurant was pretty decent, but only about 10 tables for the thousands of guests on the property. Plan to fix most of your own meals or travel off property. There was info in the room for a couple of restaurants that would deliver but they were so overwhelmed that they were quoting 2 hour delivery times minimum.

The "water park" is really a water playground suitable for children under 10. Our 11 years old was quickly bored, while our 7 year old enjoyed several hours a day there.

Overall we had a good time on the beach and the room was nice, but I would say our good time was in spite of the poor property management not because of it.

  • Liked — Rooms were big and comfortable
  • Disliked — Poor management
  • Tips/Secrets — Go for the room and beach, be prepared for poor management
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank GeorgiaTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2006

Finally have time to write a review of our stay at Margate Tower in Kingston, during the week of July 1 - 8.

Good:

(1) Room. Having stayed in MB for > 25 yrs, there are many adjectives that we've used to describe our stay. Elegant had never been one of them -- until now. Our 3 BDR ocean front unit was so ornately furnished it looked like it came straight from the pages of an Ethan Allen catalog. At over 2200 sq feet, the unit is enormous and had more than enough room for the 7 of us. The beds were probably the most comfortable I've ever slept in -- think Marriott but with a down pillowtop. There were 3 bathrooms and the master bathroom is HUGE with a separate jacuzzi and shower. There is a full size kitchen equipped with every utensil that you could possibly need/want. There is also a laundry room with a full size washer and dryer, which seemed especially nice when compared to the horrendous combo unit that we suffered through last yr at Avista. My only minor complaint was that the unit was perhaps a little too nice -- it felt more like we were visators in someone's house than vacationing at the beach.

(2) Fitness center - One of Kingston's highlights is the 50000 sq ft fitness center located near the front of their property. It is free for hotel guests, and is state of the art with an aerobics studio, free weights, machines, and racketball courts.

(3) Beach - The beach in front of Kingston is very wide, and even at high tide, we never felt overly crowded. Margate's location is a little less crowded than the beach in from of the Embassy Suites which we noticed while taking walks. Unfortunately midweek there was an unusual jellyfish invasion. We saw many people get stung, and thousands of jellyfish in the water and washed up on shore; which prevented us from going into the water much during the later half of the week. We almost always go to MB during the 4th of July week and this was the 1st time we had seen so many jellyfish -- usually their peek season isn't until August. Another complaint that isn't necessarily Kingston specific -- MB really should pass an ordinance that prohibits people who bring their own umbrellas from being able to set them up in front of the people who have paid to rent them. Either pay or set up your umbrella BEHIND the paying customers -- it is extremely rude and inconsiderate otherwise.

(4) Parking. Margate has it's own parking garage conveniently located directly next to the tower. We had no problems navigating our large SUV nor did we have any difficulty finding parking places, even late at night when we would usually return.

(5) Elevators: We were amazed that a tower with > 25 floors could have elevators arrive so quickly. We later learned why. To prevent kids from hitting all the buttons, and slowing down the elevators, the tower has created an ingenious solution -- no more than 3 buttons can be activated at one time. Very cool.

Neutral

(1) Restaurants: There is a sit down restaurant inside the Embassy Suites, which is not bad. We ate there for lunch while waiting for our room to be ready for check in and enjoyed it. We ate there later in the week and did not like it as much, so hence the neutral rating. You can also get lighter fare outside of the Embassy at the bar next to the major pool area; but we didn't so I can't comment on it.

Bad:

(1) Checking in: An absolute debacle. As others have noted, it was completely unacceptable to have only 2-3 people working the check-in counter on the busiest weekend of the yr in MB. The line snaked throughout the lobby as many frustrated vacationers were forced to wait for hours past the scheduled check-in time. We were told that our room would be ready by 2 pm (check-in is at 3 pm) but at 5 p.m. we were still waiting outside our room since it wasn't finished being cleaned. Many other people were still in line even longer than us.

(2) Pools: There simply aren't enough pools to accomodate the large number of people who stay at Kingston. Margate has 2 beautiful pools but they are extremely small and were infested with kids. For several days one of the pools was closed for suspicious reasons -- the sign said it was closed due to glass in the pool which we heard was caused by a couple of drunk college kids who threw beer bottles into the pool from their balcony -- but we never received confirmation. We don't have small kids so we avoided the waterpark area, but from the numerous high pitched squeals, it seems like kids love it. I wish Kingston would have an adults only pool or at least add a couple more.

(3) Dogs: We've stayed at many condos in MB and NEVER had we stayed at one where they allowed pets. Well Margate Tower does. Condo owners (but not guests) are allowed to have their stinky pets in the units as well as in the elevators. As one who is allergic to pets, I find this appalling. I think it is disgusting and very disrespectful to us who are paying large amounts of money to stay in a condo, do not want to have to worry about the presence of pet dander. I am currently trying to contact the homeowners association to demand an explanation and hopefully retraction of this abominal procedure. This factor alone is bad enough to make us reconsider whether we would ever stay here again.

Overall we had a fun stay but the dog factor may prevent us from staying at Margate again.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
23 Thank joe6606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2006

We had never been to Myrtle Beach before and had a reservation at another resort up until a week before our trip. After reading reviews of the OTHER resort on Trip Advisor, we changed our reservation to Kingston Plantation. We couldn't have been more sorry that we did that! The resort is beautiful and loaded with amenities like the waterpark, rental bikes, great beverage and food service at the pools. However, those amenities didn't make up for the problems we had. It began badly on the first day when check-in took over 5 hours. The busiest weekend (July 4th!) of the summer and they have exactly 2 front desk staff. Each visit to the front desk required at least an hour in line just to get up to the counter. We finally got checked in to our villa with an upgrade to include free breakfast and the manager's reception. Breakfast was a disaster. The first morning, we were told we couldn't eat in the dining room even though there were tables available. We were sent to the ballroom where a buffet was set up. The food was cold, dishes were dirty, and my 5 year old son drank curdled milk. Very little staff and no apology. After two days of our free breakfast, we started eating elsewhere. Each day someone from Housekeeping came to our villa to take our dirty towels but never left us clean ones. One day two, we were given a $20 room credit per night as an apology for this but still no clean towels. On day three, we were given an additional $25 credit and finally got clean towels and an upgrade to the higher level housekeeping services. In all of the resort, I only found 3 pleasant staff members: Bob at the front desk, the woman who rented us bikes at the health club, and the guy who waited on us at the pool. Other than that, the staff couldn't care less about our experience. Check-out was also bad because our supposed $25 credit had never been credited. It finally was with some complimentary Starbucks. It seems like the resort is satisfied with rotten service to its customers and thinks they can make everything all right by offering credits. No, thanks. If we go back to Myrtle Beach, it won't be to Kingston Plantation.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jeweber02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2006

We just got back from 4 days at the Kingston Plantation, Brighton Tower. This was our first vacation with our one year old son, so we wanted a nice room (knowing that we would be spending time in the room during our son's naps). We were very pleased with the two bedroom, two bath condo in the Brighton Towers at the Kingston Plantation. It was very, very spacious with a huge patio deck with access from the main living area and the master bedroom. The kitchen is very well equiped with granite countertops, full stove and refridgerator, etc. I would say that the walk to the splash pool is a little far to walk to with a one year old, but not with older children. The splash pool was always a little crowded, but was lots of fun for the whole family. There are pools everywhere you look. The beach was very nice in front of the property and it was easy to go back and forth from the beach and the pools. I normally like to experience different hotels, but when I return to Myrtle Beach, I would love to stay at this property again. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Shilling1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2006

We just returned from our stay at Kingston Plantation. We rented from an individual. Our condo in Brighton was great. The unit was a three bedroom/three bath lockout. We were traveling with friends and rented the entire unit. It was great to have three bathrooms. Each family had their own bathroom. The view is listed as oceanview which worried me, but it was great. You could easily see the ocean just like an oceanfrontview if you angled your chair. The furnishing were what you would expect to find in an upper-middle class home. In fact, it had the same sectional couch that I have in my living room. The splash park entertained the kids for several days. My mom enjoyed the well furnished balcony. The kitchen had every appliance and utitensil that you could ever need. There was plenty of silverware and dishes for three families. The housekeeping staff did a good job keeping things clean. All of this was impressive but I was most impressed by the elevators. Yes, the elevators. Every year the elevators in the other places we stayed were so slow you spent half your time waiting. At Brighton the elevators were quick. The grounds were well kept and security was always in sight. the activities were well supervised. We counted eight lifegaurds at the water park. The children' s activites were well staffed and the staff worked well with children. I felt the price we paid was a good deal for all that we got.
Now for the bad news. Check -in really is the worst. We arrived a little early (2:00-2:30). Check-in is printed as 3:00. We went to Wal-Mart and figured that it would be ready when we returned. The line to check-in was almost out the door and there were only two people working the desk. We finally got in our room at 4:00 which the desk person said was check-in even though it was printed on the paperwork as 3:00. We were lucky. On Sunday, I went to get a coffee and people were still waiting to get in their room at 7:00p.m. This is a real issue for the resort. Also, the front desk did not alert housekeeping that we were to receive daily housekeeping. We didn't get our room cleaned the second day and I didn't call the lady we rented from until Monday. When I called housekeeping to find out why, the front desk check-in did not indicate to housekeeping that we were to have housekeeoing. Housekeeping apologized and took care of the problem but the front desk offered no apology.
Overall, we will return and hope that check-in goes better.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank susan_volfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
6.5 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,093 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#6 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,705 reviews
3.1 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#43 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,462 reviews
6.9 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingston Plantation Condos by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston Plantation Condos by Hilton

Property: Kingston Plantation Condos by Hilton
Address: 9800 Queensway Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-5266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#43 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingston Plantation Condos by Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingston Plantation Condos by Hilton are privately owned condos managed by Hilton and are located in north Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, on the Grand Strand. Nestled on 145 lush acres along a mile-long stretch of Myrtle Beach, our condo rentals and vacation villas are close to area attractions, dining and recreation. Choose a spacious vacation condominium, lodge or villa with all the amenities you need, managed by the brand that you trust. Condo options range from large guest rooms in beachfront towers to four-bedroom villas, many with full kitchens and washer/dryers. Kingston Resort amenities available to those who book through Hilton include nine pools, a Sport and Health Club, and Splash Waterpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kingston Plantation Condos by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingston Plantation Condos Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hilton Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Kingston Plantation
Hilton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Kingston Plantation Myrtle Beach Sc
Kingston Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing