We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Too large for southern comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kingston Plantation Condos by Hilton
Ranked #33 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Too large for southern comfort”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Our family stayed here for two nights. Luckily, we did not pay pay as much as we could have paid because we used a Groupon. The property has great landscaping. We were a little disappointed that we were assigned a condo that was the furthest point from the front desk, small water park and the only beach access point on the property that cannot be walked with young children...it was about a five minute drive. There were a lot of cars, golf carts and people all around the property. The room was clean, but we were not given any paper towels or dish washing liquid to rinse silverware and glasses...what is up with that? We had a few bad experiences with customer service. We requested free shuttle service to the beach and was told it would take no more than 5 minutes...we got in the car and drove to the beach after waiting 15 minutes and making a failed attempt to contact the front desk to get a status. Our key stopped working on day 2 and we asked housekeeping to let us in the room. The housekeeper said she could not and that we would have to contact the front desk. However, there are no phones outside and she did not use her phone to make the call for us...poor customer service. We decided to go out in town and stop by the front desk to get a new room key upon our return. Upon our return to the property that night, we stopped by the front desk and requested a new room key. The rep reprogrammed both keys we were issued upon arrival after insulting our intelligence with her sly comments about why the key stopped working. We drove all the way across the property just to find out that both keys still did not work. We took the long drive back to report the problem again. This time we talked to someone else at the front desk who gave us several keys and called onsite maintenance to meet us at the unit to ensure we gained access to the room...why did it take multiple trips/requests to get to this point? We drove back to the unit and found the maintenance man at the unit...he was also having trouble getting into the room. The lock was broken and he spent 10 to 15 minutes repairing it. We spent 30 minutes total trying to get into our room...not the best experience. We contacted the manager who agreed to provide us with breakfast and refund any resort fees...he was limited in what he cold offer because we used a Groupon. That was a nice gesture, but a little too late. I doubt we will go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iknowtravel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    374
    175
    121
    97
See reviews for
695
213
18
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stay at Kingston Plantation annually, either for a conference or personal travel. We enjoy the setting, it has everything we need and the staff has always been most accomodating.

Earlier this month we stayed at Windemere by the Sea in a 2 bedroom condo. I called about 30 days in advance to express our desire to utilize the screened in porch during our stay. The Manager did a great job of explaining the requirements of the owners in the rental program, and then expressed his willingness to make sure the unit we rented met our needs.

When we arrived, our unit had a clean and usable screened in porch. It met all of our needs.
The Manager was a great communicator, and it was obvious that they made an effort to insure the unit we were assigned met our needs. I give them the highest marks for communication and putting the customer first.

We had our family over for my cousins birthday, and it was pefect in every way!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sail2there
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We have stayed at Kingston Plantation Condos 4 times now. In the past it was affordable and mostly consistent. Our rate for a two bedroom unit, same week of the year, went up from 149/night to 239/night in just three years.

Kingston is well situated to all MB attractions and has the two hotels and a health club, so those are all pluses...beautifully landscaped grounds help too....but:

1. The Units are very, very inconsistent - my sister in law, travelling with us, had to be given keys for 6 rooms before she found one that was clean, and had the beds and bathrooms as listed in her reservation. We are 6 people and cook most days on vacation...our unit? 1 paring knife, no cutting board, no oven mitts, only butter knives otherwise, no baking sheet, sorely understocked. And their answer was simply - you get what you get, they make no promises about the stocking of the rooms.....cheaper units in other complexes in the MB area guarantee you the items that must be in the kitchen, or get them for you, but here - paying far more than those places - they basically tell you to get lost! Amazing!

Our Unit had white rugs that were absolutely black with dirt and wear.

The "light housekeeping" you pay extra for is just: emptying the garbage, throwing your bedding on the bed(not making it), and handing you new towels if you ask. 4 of our 7 days they knocked after 4PM and just handed us the towels, as we were back from our day out and getting ready to go out.

2. The beach is great, the pools are well kept but incredibly small for a massive hotel, tower and condo complex.

3. On their website they list lots of daily events(beach olympics, pool games, trivia, DJ), etc....and as on our last trip...this list was largely a work of fiction. On a Weekday in August their hand written daily update of activities mentioned pool games, trivia and more...same on their website and the room materials...but when my daughter and I asked why the pool games hadn't started, they said "we aren't doing them anymore"....and when we went back to ask about trivia, they informed us that they were only doing the activities you pay for now(like $10-15 per kid to make a craft, etc)...that there were no free activities. I mention this mostly because this was also true on our last trip, and if you are thinking of going to Kingston because the activities might make it worth the money, DON'T!

So a good complex, but be careful that your room is good, or ask for another, don't take Laurel Court 103!

Room Tip: Be very specific when checking in and tell them you need a clean room, well stocked, they may take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4girls2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was our 4th trip to Kingston Plantation - we love the beach, the Splash pool and the resort as a whole. This time was the first time we experienced any problems - namely roaches - or palmetto bugs in our villa - realising this is the south we bravely tried to stick things out for three days but the number of bugs increased over that time so we felt we had to complain. I was very disappointed in the initial attitude of the front desk staff to our issue. There was no apology - infact the lady I dealt with did not look up from her computer and it was only on pushing the issue we managed to receive an upgrade and discount from the manager. The new ocean view condo was great and with a baby I was simply glad to be away from the bugs. However on check out the discount applied to our room was not what had been intially stated - I was able to get it recfitied but again I was disappointed in the attitude of the frint desk staff who implied I was lying!

Our family did have a good vacation overall but our interactions with the front desk left us with a sour taste in our mouths.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Very nice condo's in large complex. Right on the beach (or very, very close) depending on your property. We visited a friend for two days. Even the pullout couch was more comfortable than the two queen beds at our 'higher class' resort. Large rooms and balcony...plenty of room for everyone, yet cozy.
Affordable prices. Family friendly. Great view from room of the beach.
Far enough from 'downtown' but close enough to everything.
I spent a lot more money to go to 'Pawley's Island' and it was wasted, I'll be coming here again for sure.
Only complaint was the wait on the elevator during peak times...but this is to be expected.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyx86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luvstotravel30
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This was our first time in Myrtle Beach and it was a good family weekend getaway. Check in to the hotel at main Embassy Suites lobby was easy, not too long of a wait because we checked in late in the evening. We stayed a the Brighton Tower Condos in a 2-bedroom condo. The location was great for 3 kids (ages 8,7 and 5) because we were right near the waterpark and beach was right there. The condo was spacious but dated and not that clean. The shower in the master had mildew around the edges and we decided we all showered in the other bathroom with the tub. There were marks/stains on the walls and rug, didn't bother me too much since i always wear my shoes at hotels anyway. There were clothes left from the previous occupants in one of the dresser drawers. Kitchenette was adequate with everything you need.

The food at the poolside cafe was good and reasonably priced. We didn't do the breakfast buffet, it would've cost $60 for 2 adults and 3 young kids. We opted starbucks instead. All in all we would stay again for convenience and the spacious condos.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvstotravel30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Kingston Plantation is our favorite resort in Myrtle Beach. I'm surprised at the number of negative reviews. This is our 5th stay here and they have all been great.

They offer a full service Hilton, full service Embassy Suites, and condos and villas. We have stayed in the South Hampton condos, North Hampton Condos, and the villas in Richmond Park. The views from both condo towers are great, as you're right on the beach. The villas are more private and offer a lake or park like view. It's importnant to note that all the condos and villas are individually owned so they may be decorated differently and vary greatly. Depending on which villa out get, you could be anywhere from a 3 to 10 minute walk to the beach. If you want an indoor pool be sure to request North Hampton, as tu have to be staying there to use it. There is a full service health club that all guests have access to and has an indoor pool.

There are about 9 or 10 swimming pools, hot tubs, lazy river, and a kids water park. The service is excellent throughout the resort. They also have a DJ playing by the pool. His name was Joe and was very accommodating with requests. He was also great with the kids with contests, etc.


It's also good to know that whether you're staying at either one of the hotels you can use any of the pools on the property.

It is conveniently located in between Barefoot Landing and Broadway at the Beach. There are literally 1,000's of restaurants in the area.

Overall, a great resort in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-Passat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
3.2 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,088 reviews
2.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#3 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,056 reviews
4.0 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,307 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingston Plantation Condos by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston Plantation Condos by Hilton

Property: Kingston Plantation Condos by Hilton
Address: 9800 Queensway Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-5266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#43 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingston Plantation Condos by Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingston Plantation Condos by Hilton are privately owned condos managed by Hilton and are located in north Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, on the Grand Strand. Nestled on 145 lush acres along a mile-long stretch of Myrtle Beach, our condo rentals and vacation villas are close to area attractions, dining and recreation. Choose a spacious vacation condominium, lodge or villa with all the amenities you need, managed by the brand that you trust. Condo options range from large guest rooms in beachfront towers to four-bedroom villas, many with full kitchens and washer/dryers. Kingston Resort amenities available to those who book through Hilton include nine pools, a Sport and Health Club, and Splash Waterpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Kingston Plantation Condos by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingston Plantation Condos Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hilton Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Kingston Plantation
Hilton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Kingston Plantation Myrtle Beach Sc
Kingston Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing