We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FINE!”
Review of Aspen Grille

Aspen Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Aspen Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 880 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 51st Avenue North
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“FINE!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were looking for a place with local foods, South Carolina cooking, but not the mass foods approach of all the buffets that line the road here. Aspen Grill is all of that. We lucked into the Wednesday evening 1/2 price appetizers and wine happy hour (4-7) in the bar, where we tried their version of fried green tomatoes. The bartender recommended we add crabmeat, saying we won't be disappointed. He was right! Excellent starter. You could easily and happily make a meal just on the appetizer menu.

But then you would miss the entrees and that would be a shame. A bowl of shrimp and corn bisque started the second half of eating and was great. We had scallops and their version of shrimp and grits. Both were excellent as well. The shrimp and grits included andouille sausage and just enough cheese to add great flavor, but not take away from the shrimp.

The experience was just what we were looking for. Another place to bookmark for return trips.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    121
    50
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Braselton, Georgia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A small gem in a town where fine dining is an oxymoron.”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I've been to Myrtle Beach several times over the years...mostly because someone else in my family made the plans. Each time I have struggled to identify a quality dining option in the midst of the Vegas style buffets. Now, thanks to Trip Advisor and the other on-line review sites, I found Aspen Grille. We had a very enjoyable meal for five on a Saturday evening. Good, but not great, quality food...excellent service...solid menu options...and, now I have found a destination for dining in Myrtle Beach. The location is nondescript from the outside, but the interior design is appealing in a non-complicated way. Give it a shot if you are looking for a little better dining choice when you find yourself in MB!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best meal of our vacation”
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We found this restaurant on trip advisor. Could not have been happier with it. Great atmosphere. It was a little loud, but not unbearable. I enjoyed the fact that there was a jazz pianist, but the size of the restaurant and the low ceilings did make it a little loud. The drinks were fantastic and the food was out of this world. Great waiter, Will. And the manager and chef both came by to check on us at times. I can't say enough about the food. We had a group of four and we always sample each others food. Everyone loved everything. The steaks were perfect and the seafood was spectacular. Great french onion soup and shrimp bisque. Then came DESERT! Didn't think we could possibly have room, but so glad we did. We will return.

Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
122 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“New Discovery”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I have been doing a golf outing to Myrtle Beach for more than a decade. We normally return to restaurants we have liked in the past and try one or two new ones. This year we finally got to Aspen Grille and thank goodness. It is now number one on our list in Myrtle. One person has the snapper special and raved about it and the fried spinach he had never had before. I had braised short ribs with a celery puree and spinach. Great meal, good service, the hostess checked on us several times and they had live music by a jazz trio that was outstanding (though I am not sure other patrons got it as much as we did. This is a real winner. Interesting menu, seasonal changes, and wonderful food. Now our first stop in Myrtle Beach.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Les R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
173 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nice choice”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Always reliably tasty food as well as ample choices, better then average wine list, excellent service and ambiance. Located at the end of a small strip mall, don't let the location fool you. For a special occasion or when treating yourself this is a solid choice; little pricey for those looking for affordable options but that is the only drawback. Great place for brthdays and the like and a very romantic place to take a first date. Spend the money, you'll be happy you did.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCDevsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aspen Grille also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Aspen Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing