We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The Coldest Beer in Myrtle Beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chuck's Steak House

Chuck's Steak House
Ranked #31 of 855 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Chuck's has been offering the original steakhouse and salad bar concept since 1979. Thick, juicy, hand cut Certified Angus Beef steaks, prime rib, lobster tails, Prime pork chops and chicken are all charcoal broiled to perfection. Casual dining amid rustic elegance. Chuck's offers a waterway view, three fireplaces, and a large library. Reservations are accepted but are not necessary. A children's, early bird, and senior citizen's menu are also available. Serving dinner from 4:00 PM Daily. Our Happy Hour is 4-7 seven days a week. At Chuck's we only serve premium bar brands. Chuck's is a smoke free restaurant. Chuck's was voted Best Steak 2015, Best Happy Hour 2014 and 2015, and Best Signature Cocktail 2015. Chuck's was also a Finalist in Best Burger 2015 and Best BBQ 2015. Chuck's was awarded the TripAdvisor Excellence Award in 2015. Chuck's Steak House in Myrtle Beach is individually owned and operated.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Coldest Beer in Myrtle Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

They only have 3 beers on draft but they make sure they do those right! Frozen mugs and great happy hour pricing. We also had the best (freshest) baked potatoes we've had in a very long time. Service was timely and complete. Been here many times over the last 20 years. It is still very good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JT B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    460
    175
    84
    67
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gallipolis, Ohio
Level Contributor
127 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“prime rib heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had beer battered onions rings as an appetizer, and they were great! The prime rib is slow cooked and served with hot au jus and creamed horseradish served on request. Can't wait for another myrtle beach trip to try this place again. Their steaks are hand cut, they have an early bird menu, a happy hour, a senior and kids menu available. The restaurant over looks the intracoastal waterway. Food prepared to perfection, and a very appealing appearance. The Tanger outlets are nearby,

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blgpts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Two strikes, Chucks, YOU ARE OUT!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have eaten here twice now. NOT a cheap place to eat, but BOTH times the steaks were VERY mediocre. And both times terrible service here. The steak quality is not as good as an Outback. But the place we found and LOVE is TBonz, not far away from Chucks and worth the drive. Chucks is hit or miss and we MISSED on both times. PASS on it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NCMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Guest Relations Manager at Chuck's Steak House, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
On behalf of the owner, management and staff at Chuck's Steak House, please accept our apology for your subpar dining experience at our restaurant. We all appreciate the amount of time and effort you invested in writing your review.

David and Sandy Adams have owned and operated Chuck's since 1979. Our general manager has been with us for 16 years and our broiler cook for 26 years. We are the only independently owned restaurant in Myrtle Beach that offers Certified Angus Beef products, and we are one of only four that still hand cut all of our steaks on a daily basis. In other words, "We care."

We would like the opportunity to serve you again and prove that we are capable of good food, good service and a good time at our humble establishment. We've been around a long time, we have a very dedicated clientele, we care about our customers, and we rely on repeat business.

Please contact Dennis or Bruce at 843.449.7611 or chuckssteakhouse@sc.rr.com so they may discuss your dining experience in person. Thank you again for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greer, sc
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“ok but nothing great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Went during Happy Hour. We were seated at a table, but had to go to the bar for Happy Hour drinks to bring back to the table. Limited meals. Food and drinks weren't anything great. Doubt I will ever go there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
311 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Fantastic Salad Bar - Entrees, be selective”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

There are pros and cons to this restaurant. First the pros - their complimentary cheese and crackers along with their salad bar are excellent. The salad bar is one of the best we have seen in SC, 3 types of lettuce to choose from and a plethora of toppings and dressings. Delicious, worth a trip here just for the salad bar. The crab cakes were also excellent, full of crab with very little filler. Two our our party of 4 ordered the sirloin steaks, which were tasty, cooked to order and tender. The other two ordered filet and prime rib. The filet was average and was cooked well done as ordered. The butter on the baked potato was either cut with something or unsalted, tasting "off" to the diner. The 6 oz. Prime Rib was 3 ozs. of fat, once trimmed the small amount of remaining meat was chewy. This was one of the worst Prime Ribs ever ordered and among the thinnest. We were surprised, perhaps if you order a larger cut, there is less fat and it would be thicker. The baked potato was ordered with sour cream only but again, either it was mixed with something or on the verge of spoiling as it did not taste like sour cream. We would return for the salad bar and the sirloins but would not recommend the Prime Rib at all. Another con for me was the profusion of stuffed animals all over the restaurant. Chuck's is badly in need of redecoration.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisnSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuck's Steak House also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Chuck's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing