We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok but nothing great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chuck's Steak House

Chuck's Steak House
Ranked #34 of 837 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Chuck's has been offering the original steakhouse and salad bar concept since 1979. Thick, juicy, hand cut Certified Angus Beef steaks, prime rib, lobster tails, Prime pork chops and chicken are all charcoal broiled to perfection. Casual dining amid rustic elegance. Chuck's offers a waterway view, three fireplaces, and a large library. Reservations are accepted but are not necessary. A children's, early bird, and senior citizen's menu are also available. Serving dinner from 4:00 PM Daily. Our Happy Hour is 4-7 seven days a week. At Chuck's we only serve premium bar brands. Chuck's is a smoke free restaurant. Chuck's was voted Best Steak 2015, Best Happy Hour 2014 and 2015, and Best Signature Cocktail 2015. Chuck's was also a Finalist in Best Burger 2015 and Best BBQ 2015. Chuck's was awarded the TripAdvisor Excellence Award in 2015. Chuck's Steak House in Myrtle Beach is individually owned and operated.
greer, sc
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“ok but nothing great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Went during Happy Hour. We were seated at a table, but had to go to the bar for Happy Hour drinks to bring back to the table. Limited meals. Food and drinks weren't anything great. Doubt I will ever go there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    150
    77
    61
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
294 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Fantastic Salad Bar - Entrees, be selective”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

There are pros and cons to this restaurant. First the pros - their complimentary cheese and crackers along with their salad bar are excellent. The salad bar is one of the best we have seen in SC, 3 types of lettuce to choose from and a plethora of toppings and dressings. Delicious, worth a trip here just for the salad bar. The crab cakes were also excellent, full of crab with very little filler. Two our our party of 4 ordered the sirloin steaks, which were tasty, cooked to order and tender. The other two ordered filet and prime rib. The filet was average and was cooked well done as ordered. The butter on the baked potato was either cut with something or unsalted, tasting "off" to the diner. The 6 oz. Prime Rib was 3 ozs. of fat, once trimmed the small amount of remaining meat was chewy. This was one of the worst Prime Ribs ever ordered and among the thinnest. We were surprised, perhaps if you order a larger cut, there is less fat and it would be thicker. The baked potato was ordered with sour cream only but again, either it was mixed with something or on the verge of spoiling as it did not taste like sour cream. We would return for the salad bar and the sirloins but would not recommend the Prime Rib at all. Another con for me was the profusion of stuffed animals all over the restaurant. Chuck's is badly in need of redecoration.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisnSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The best part was that our party of 6 were seated right away, however it went down hill from there. We gave our orders and were directed to the lower salad bar, which was a complete disaster. The entire salad bar was in disarray, lettuce everywhere and items needing replenished. There weren't even any rolls available at the lower salad bar. My friend and I ordered the same steak and when her's came out it looked like a normal steak, however mine looked like it was cut from the end of a roast. I ordered mine medium as I do like a pink center, it was cooked almost medium well and was tough to my taste. Everyone else did enjoy their meals. Our waiter was quite friendly and did a good job keeping our drinks full.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank janellm3441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family visited Chuck's for the first time this past week and had a great time. Two of us ordered their larger sirloin which was delicious, my brother and his wife had the large filet which they loved. We all had our steaks cooked medium which were cooked to perfection. The salad bar was ok but that wasn't why we were there. I ordered a bottle of wine for our table which was presented the proper way. I was allowed to taste the wine and approve before our glasses were poured. The waiter Yahshoo provided us with great service and we will be back on our next trip to Myrtle Beach. =D

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“So good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Steak, lobster and pork chops were ordered for the party of 4. The food and the service was excellent. Our server was very sweet and attentive. The chocolate martini was outstanding, I wanted the recipe. We had so much food that we had steak & pork chops with eggs for breakfast the next day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuck's Steak House also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Chuck's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing