We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic”

Bodo's German Restaurant
Ranked #265 of 886 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Authentic”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice to see a German restaurant cooking old world style . Hope you stay here for a very long time . Danke

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Notsyscofood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    28
    8
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“1st German restaurant”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I went to Bodos German Restaurant in Myrtle Beach. We live here and have never been. Food was fantastic and way too much! Took a lot home....looking forward to lunch tomorrow. Staff is the family from "host" to bartender / waiter and cook.....all family all the time...can't wait to go back....would recommend to everyone

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cruisinsharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A dive worth stopping at”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Don't let the decor scare you off, if you are looking for elegant ambiance , this is not your place. This is a family owned beach casual restaurant with virtually no wall space left that hasn't been written on or had a picture pinned to it, but if you want homemade German food , then by all means stop. They are known for their potato pancakes, you have to order them in advance to get them there in a timely manner, so call ahead, but well worth it. Their saurkraut is slightly sweeter than average, which I kind of liked. Schnitzel was great -I prefer mine a little crispier but still it was great (you could see the owner hand making everything by the way). Of course the potato salad was good, and I would love to have tried the brat sampler, which looked great (I saw someone else eating them) but you just can't eat everything! I'm gonna have to make a trip back to try some of his other offerings. We had 4 people and nobody had a bad thing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank treehuggersfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bodo's is awesome!!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Never miss going to Bodo's when I visit Myrtle Beach, have been going there since 1984! Pre-order your potato pancakes, they are fantastic!! Very causal and incredible food! Don't miss it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CWfromMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“"Großes Restaurant" "Great Restaurant" great food”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Been coming to Myrtle for 12 years, past this location many times but never noticed Bodo's before (my loss). Every year we look for a restaurant that's a hidden gem, a place locals hang out at, the "Cheers" of the neighbourhood.... "Bodo's".

As soon as we stepped in the door the owner 'Axel' treated us with a warm welcome. The place certainly has a unique look to it with 30+ years of memorabilia on the walls, but the place has a great vibe and the the music is great, classic rock and some unique tunes like Johnny Cash singing in German.

As for the food, best meal this trip, home cooked taste, great portions. The house salad comes with a Champagne dressing that Axel's father made, just delicious. My wife had the Chicken Schinitzel with red cabbage and German potato salad, chicken was moist, the potato salad was a warm salad with no mayonnaise , really good. I had the Rouladen also with red cabbage and Spetzle. The Rouladen is thinly sliced beef, rolled up with a slice of dill pickle, braised in a gravy, sounds strange... But MAN!! Just outstanding. Desert was apple strudel, served with ice cream that we shared, best we've ever had.

If your in Myrtle looking for a unique place to eat, have a few beers, feel welcome like a friend, check out Bodo's, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodo's German Restaurant also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bodo's German Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing