We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Local Sub Shop/Deli”
Review of Dagwoods

Dagwoods
Ranked #185 of 886 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch
Melbourne, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Local Sub Shop/Deli”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Was taken there by a business colleague who lives locally. A bit over-rated for the hype. Sandwich was good, atmosphere was good, price was fair. Nothing bad, just another local sub shop.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    32
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We ordered take-out one day for lunch. They were packed. Not open for dinner, so be aware they close at 4 PM. The subs were good, not as big as they say they are, but very tasty. I ordered the dagwood's dipper as a wrap. Everyone in our party wish they had more, because they were still hungry. All in all a very good place to eat and would eat there again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyssia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ugh, service......”
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

The deli sandwiches are amazing here. My wife got the club, and I got the big roast beef, turkey, ham, Swiss and pepper jack sandwich. Both were delicious. The fries are a seasoned variety, which are also very good.

For an appetizer, we got soft served pretzels and cheese dip. Delicious! Best of all, they were only 4.99 and you get 5!!

Dessert however, warrants some serious help here. I reccomended skipping dessert and just going down the road to the Hershey's Creamery.

The service was pretty bad when we went. Granted, it was on Tueaday night, which is when they have team trivia night. So, if your fine with waiting forever and watching tv while you wait for your food, then you will love this place.

We will go back before we leave and see of the service is any better because the sandwiches were simply THAT good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mack-Party-Of-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Was a favorite lunch spot while stationed at Myrtle Beach AFB...”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We used to eat here back in the late 80s/early 90s while stationed at the Air Force Base. I was able to visit Myrtle Beach recently and was delighted to see that they were still there (unlike a lot of other places I used to frequent back in the day). I got there as they opened and got my usual sandwich - the Beach Boy, no tomato, add pepper jack. When I got my sandwich I was amazed that it still tastes as good as I remembered. Everything was always fresh. In fact, the bread was so fresh it was still warm. I love this place and hope it's around for many years to come!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Acetylcysteine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hill, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Chili just like my Mom used to make”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The chili is the best I've had in a long time. Nice pintos, onions, green peppers, and lots of meat. Did not come out of a can, that's for sure. Sat outside in the covered gliders (nice touch considering restaurant is parked in the middle of a big parking lot.). Service top notch. Soup and sandwich lunch combo a bargain. Garlic/butter wings (10) for $5 special a great deal. Huge sodas.
Large sandwich menu!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thop3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dagwoods also viewed

Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Dagwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing