We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nasty !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Grandma's Kitchen - CLOSED

Grandma's Kitchen
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
“nasty !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

this food was some of the worse i have ever ate , they're was a sever from outta the country waiting on us and she acted scared that we were gonna say something about this piss poor establishment, after we paid our ticket then she began to tell the story's of people walking out because of the food. we should have known better when someone from the kitchen came out of the back with a container of tap water and stirred it into some of the food on the buffet to make it moist, i can only imagine what short cuts are taken for them to save money. its kinda sicking to know that the owners of this place could seem to care less about peoples safety when it comes to food prep and sanitation especially @ $15.00 per person its a total rip off stay away from this place if you value your family's health

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    20
    16
    19
    97
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hickory Grove, South Carolina, United States
1 review
“Never go there”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I went there with my family and we got the buffet. The food is not great!! and there was roaches in the bathroom. The on top of it we had to pay around 70 dollars!!! They are ridiculus!!! I will never go there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We went here for supper and got the buffet because nothing else on the menu looked appealing. We should have listened to the people in the parking lot, they were leaving and not happy with the price or the food. The buffet is very expensive and the food was not good at all. The place is not exactly clean. The waitress was polite.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank FamilyVacation1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dry Ridge, Kentucky
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Breakfast Buffet!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This place has an excellent breakfast buffet, with excellent food, all for 7.99, great value. Staff was friendly but all new, and knew little about the menu, and location - which is poor customer service.

Would definitely return.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dmille_ky244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“There is NOTHING positive about this place!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My wife and I come to Myrtle Beach at least once a year and enjoy eating at all types of restaurants. We wanted to try Grandma's Kitchen this trip. So very sorry that we did.

After waiting several minutes for a server to even acknowledge us, we decided on the buffet. After trying to find something that even looked edible, my wife got a pancake and a french toast stick. I have an iron stomach and loaded my plate with eggs, hash browns, bacon, sausage, and some sort of rice dish. There was not one single food item that was edible. Bacon tasted like it had been cooked in old burnt grease, sausage was dry and leathery. Eggs were runny and slimy. French toast was hard and cold. Pancakes had no flavor.

At that point we decided to leave. We had taken less than 10 bites of food. We stopped the server and asked her for the check. When we politely told her that we did not care for the food, she rolled her eyes and demanded to know what was wrong with the food. We politely told her. She said "Sorry" and handed us a bill for the full purchase price of the buffet. Not wanting to start our trip off with such a bad experience we decided to pay the bill.

At the counter another woman asked if everything was ok. We told her that it was not. She was very argumentative when we explained what was wrong, telling us that there was nothing wrong with the food and stated twice that she has never had a complaint about their food. She did remove the cost of the buffets from the bill, charging us only for our drinks.

It amazes me that this place is still in business. If the staff spent half as much time and energy maintaining their restaurant as they did defending their terrible food, it might have a fighting chance.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Hooper2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandma's Kitchen also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing