We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, Not Great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chestnut Hill Restaurant

Chestnut Hill Restaurant
Ranked #62 of 868 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Chestnut Hill is nestled along a small lake filled with alligators, turtles and much much more to delight the whole family while dining. We feature only the freshest of ingredients and make every sauce and dressing from scratch. We serve fresh and local seafood, Certified Angus Beef, and specialize in mesquite grilling our food over an open flame. Happy Hour is every day from 4-7 PM in our lounge bar and we have an early bird smaller menu every day from 4-6 PM. Sunday Brunch Buffet is served every Sunday from 10 AM till 1:30 PM. Private dining facilities are available with the best kept secret in Myrtle Beach, Known as "The Packhouse", which is upstairs and totally private. Please call today for a reservation.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
287 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good, Not Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Went for Sunday Brunch with a group of friends. Large selection with the usual choices, but the buffet seemed to be driven by the need to keep the cost down in this very competitive market. The peel and eat shrimp were good as was the salmon; the crab cakes were tiny. Plenty of other choices with desserts perhaps the best. There might be something to "Have dessert first..."

The service was prompt and gracious and our waiter even said "thank you, I appreciate it" at tip time. The decor was okay if a bit dated. In the lobby they were advertising dinner specials at high prices, I'd be a little hesitant to spend that kind of money there. For Sunday brunch a good place to go, but before a second visit, I might try other places.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    157
    69
    34
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food & Family friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Enjoyed our meals though they were nothing stellar. A fun place to go with a family because watching the turtles & alligators is entertaining.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivyland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Trip Advisor patrons beware”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Not as good as others have led on. Don't get me wrong. If you are in the market for a good happy hour or alligator feedings by the lake then enjoy yourself. But, if you want a gourmet meal with good service, than look elsewhere. Our waiter was overwhelmed with a 16 person table. He should have had assistance but didn't. Was hoping for better but was underwhelmed. One plus, good fried oysters and very good fresh baked breads and muffins.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Ohio
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just average at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Our food just didn't seem to be fresh. The crab cakes were to perfect to be hand packed, suspect frozen and had no flavor. The scallops in the seafood pasta were chewy. We read the reviews and thought we'd give it a try, mistake. My lemon drop martini was disappointing as well, $10 for lemonade (instant) and vodka. Overpriced and average at best.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointed in this local icon”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Party of six, torrential rain/thunder/lightening but we braved it for the sake of our out of town friends. Greated nicely, relaxed in the comfy waiting area til our late-arrivers came in.

Hubby loved his scallops - which they kindly offered to do half broiled, half fried. One friend had crab legs which he said were "all knuckles". I ordered shrip and grits - my favorite. The vegetables were waaay too salty, as were the shrimp and grits which were covered in an overly salty "brown gravy" that tasted like a thick McCormicks packaged gravy mix. I was unable to eat it, and although I was graciously offered an alternate my companions were nearing the end so I declined. I will say the restaurant was apologetic and accomodating and didn't charge for my meal at the end.

Because of the storm, there were literally only 2-3 tables occupied - at opposite ends of this large room. We were seated on the farest side of the room where a small family group with two whiney children were seated. But we saw they were almost done so didn't request a change of seating.

Our server was super great, attentive, friendly throughout. But after serving us drinks and taking our orders, they seated yet another large, noisy family group (maybe a dozen people including unruly children). Now, we don't have anything against families dining out, but in an almost-empty restaurant on a stormy night, there was plenty of opportunity to seat us/them apart from instead of on top of each other.

We had looked forward to a special night out at a Myrtle Beach icon but were sorely disappointed in all but the service. Will try ONE more time someday to see if this is the norm or an exception.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MBSCtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chestnut Hill Restaurant also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Chestnut Hill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing