We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach location with Fine Dining Select Service and worth EVERY Penny!”

The Library Restaurant
Ranked #90 of 880 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $49
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 13th Avenue North
Description: Established in 1974, the Library Restaurant has long served the Grand Strand. Our tuxedoed wait staff has a combined 100 years of experience. The Chef prepares the finest cuisine fresh daily. Our rare tableside service is a Library tradition. From the tableside Steak Diane to Flambé desserts, the Library represents perfection.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beach location with Fine Dining Select Service and worth EVERY Penny!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Fabulous experience with all the right touches. Loved the fun of the back lit bar menu...added a contemporary flare to the more traditional and fine dining atmosphere. Excellent service with several Table side options for cesear salad, 3 entrees and several desserts. Learned a thing or two along the way from an informative owner and server but not intrusive. On the higher end of cost for beach dining but well worth it if you enjoy nice service, good food and a relaxed atmosphere. Highly recommend for a quiet evening, pampered service and delicious flavors if you have some deep pockets. Stellar service, food and one's leftovers are even packaged, labeled, stored and presented to you by your server when exiting...a nice final touch!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    38
    9
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow! Fantastic! The best of the best!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Don't be fooled by the unassuming exterior. We received the best service ever and the food was spectacular. We chose the Caesar salad prepared table-side, amazing fresh fish, and we couldn't pass up the dessert! Pricey but worth it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank stanleyhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Distinctive Dining Experience”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We Prioritized dining at The Library based on rating and proximity to where we are staying in Myrtle Beach. Nearly everything about the experience was distinctive and superb. The She Crab soup was to die for; I was trying to figure out if I could order a huge bowl carry out for next day lunch. Rolls were HOT, simple romaine salads had great dressings, veal and shrimp dish was especially good - really tender veal. We remarked that it was difficult to choose our entrees because so many sounded delicious. We shared the chocolate caramel walnut cake that was sinful but observed others entertained by the makings of banana flambé and crepes Suzette. We're thinking about returning for a total table side preparation dining experience, including Caesar salad and one of the steak entrees and desserts prepared table side. A rare experience these days.
Note: our only disappointment which has left a little bitter taste was that after we paid the bill, left a handsome tip, filled out a glowing comment card, my husband pointed out that we had been charged $7.50 for vegetables which were brought to our table and offered after our entrees were served. I had 6 haricots verts, my husband one small potato, a few beans and carrots. This charge for two helpings of vegetables we did not order when we placed our order is unconscionable. It should have been more obvious that completing the half empty plate with a few vegetables was an additional charge. I certainly would have skipped the green beans, and my husband would have gladly added the vegetables to his plate; they were flavorful after all.

Helpful?
2 Thank marylll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“amazing food and service”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

this is a small, completely inconspicuous restaurant located right on the N. Kings Hwy. only two blocks from the SkyWheel in Myrtle Beach.

Everything about this restaurant was done with the customer and the food in mind. There are only a few tables, I didn't count them, but I don't believe there were more than 10-12 total in the restaurant. Plenty of space for everybody. Very personalized service from the waiters to the chef/owner. They still provide tableside service for multiple entrées/salads/desserts. It is wheelchair accessible.

It is on the pricey side, but you absolutely get what you pay for here. Entrées start at around $25. The appetizers, soup, salad, main entrée and dessert were all wonderfully prepared and delicious. They also have a very nice scotch menu for dessert.

If you're looking for a special night out in the Myrtle Beach area, go to the Library! You will not be disappointed

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Blaslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Upscale special occasion destination.Exceptional service in an intimate atmoshere. Expect to pay more, but the food was excellent.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Library Restaurant also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Library Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing