We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST OF THE BEST!!!!”

The Library Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Library Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #89 of 870 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $49
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 13th Avenue North
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
93 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“BEST OF THE BEST!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

First visit for dinner on 2/22/13 and will now become regulars. There simply are not enough superlative adjectives to adequately describe an incredibly magnificent dining experience. The greeting by owner Shad makes you feel instantly welcome and at home. His comment that he wants his guests to spend at least 2 hours for dinner is unheard of in today's world. Our waiter, Danny, was the consummate professional, having been there for 27 years. Salmon was one of the specials, and when asked if it was wild caught or farm raised, he actually knew the answer. May not sound like much, but try that question anywhere else. On to the food. I started with Escargot, which is virtually impossible to find in the MB area. Outstanding. Next, She Crab Soup - like nothing else anywhere. House Parmesan salad - very tasty. Veal & Shrimp - best I've ever had. Bananas Foster prepared tableside - couldn't finish it. Wife had Carpaccio, She Crab, Salad and AMERICAN (Colorado) Rack of Lamb. We haven't been able to find any Lamb other than New Zealand in too many years to count. Every bite was a mouth watering delight. We've been to some of the finest restaurants in New York, Charleston, Miami the Grand Strand and elsewhere - The Library is #1. Don't miss the opportunity.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    36
    9
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Powder Springs, Georgia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“An experience to remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

A small bistro-type restaurant, with a high-quality bar. You can do "flights" of various scotches and whiskeys (and I'm talking 25-year- scotches and whiskeys). The wine list is extensive. The menu is upscale. The service feels retro in that they have tableside preparations (caesar salad, steak diane, crepe suzette) that are flashy without being ostentatious.

We had steak tartar (when's the last time you saw THAT on a menu?) that was hand chopped, not processed via a machine; a fresh lump crab (lumps the size of moderate stones!) with a homemade sauce; the caesar salad (with extra anchovies at our request); the special steak of the evening (a 12-oz New York strip topped with blue cheese and a port-wine mushroom reduction sauce, which they hand cut and because we were being such good customers, my husband's portion was 16 ounces!); a black grouper sauteed and topped with more of that lump crab and a champagne sauce. Vegetables are passed to you (our selection was green beans almandine [haricot verts, if I'm not mistaken, because these were some VERY thin beans!], glazed carrots [of which I wanted seconds!], and roasted baby potatoes).

For dessert, we chose the crepe suzette (again, prepared tableside with great aplomb). The young couple near us were so pleased with what they saw that we ordered it for them.

Our waiter, Chris, was knowledgeable of the menu, knowledgeable about the tableside preparation, knowledgeable about the wine list (we had an Australian red whose name escapes me). The owner, Shaz, was present, happy to chat with us.

All in all, this was a peak dining experience for us -- the place hit all the right notes: staffing, menu, liquor, wine, ambiance.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mfortino2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilderland, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Treat Yourself for a Special Occasion!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Wonderful ambiance, terrific service, and a delicious dinner! So nice to have a dinner out where you're not rushed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gordon046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simply the Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Library is not only the best restaurant in Myrtle Beach it is one of the best anywhere. Shad makes sure you enjoy your dining experience.

The blueberry martini and the unique selection of beers start off the night. The She-Crab soup or French Onion soup are a must.

Some entree's are cooked table side by your server...the Steak Diane is definitely the best.

For dessert there are some done tableside including crepe suzette or banana's foster.

The service has always been amazing...thank you Shane!

Expect the dinner to take almost 2 hours because there is no need to rush a good thing. I am pretty sure that reservations are required.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank volbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good for a celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Excellent for a night out to celebrate birthdays anniversary's etc. Excellent food, meticulously prepared, excellent wine list both on the pricey side but well worth it. Service is ultra professional, probably the best in Myrtle Beach. The only downside is its location in a partly run down section of town, but otherwise very highly reccomended

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jwbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Library Restaurant also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Library Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing