We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee on a steak?”

Thoroughbreds Chophouse & Seafood Grille
Ranked #17 of 893 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $39
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Lake Arrowhead Road
Description: Established in 1988, Thoroughbreds has positioned itself as the Grand Strands leader in Fine Dining with year after year recognition. Most recent being the 2005 locals and visitors top selection in fine dining and most romantic restaurant, Golf Digest Magazine recommended dining and Wine Spectators’ Award of Excellence (we have over 300 wine and champagne selections in our cellar). We specialize in Certified Angus Beef Steaks and Prime Rib, fresh seafood ,and many gourmet selections as well as unique daily specials. We use only the best ingredients and all of our items are prepared from scratch daily. Tonight you could eat the same thing you get at the chain restaurants back home or you could dine at a true Myrtle Beach Classic.
Hopewell, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
454 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Coffee on a steak?”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Nine people on a golf trip wanted a good steak in a coastal seafood town. Thoroughbred's was recommended. It was a good idea. Not being a coffee drinker I was hesitant to try their coffee rubbed steak. But several of my friends did try it. As all their portions are large I was given some to taste myself. Though my Oscar style rib eye was tasty, I liked the coffee rubbed better. We will definitely return and I will order the "coffee steak"

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank molarman26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    494
    111
    48
    30
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great dinner and atmosphere”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We visited Thoroughbreds for the first time this evening. It was a wonderful experience. Food, service, and atmosphere were great. I had the pork chop, my wife had the veal. Everything was great. Our waitress, Lisa, was a joy. Made great suggestions and share with us what a great Happy Hour they have.
We will be living here starting in July and Thoroughbreds will be one of must go to restaurants.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TAD3248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT MEAL WITH OUTSTANDING SERVICE”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and I recently dined at Thoroughbreds for the first time. Upon entering the restaurant we were greeted with a warm and friendly welcome. We were shown to our table and our server "Josh" immediately introduced himself and gave us a few minutes to review the wine selections. We ordered and the wines were delivered promptly. We ordered Chateaubriand for Two which was prepared at our table by Josh. We found the meal to be of excellent value and superbly prepared. The entire evening was a total success. The food, ambiance and service by Josh was superb. I RECOMMEND THIS RESTAURANT TO ALL WHO WANT TO ENJOY GREAT SERVICE AND FOOD.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GEORGE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“food was okay but price rediculously high”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

atmospher is very nice, service is top of the line but the food is not nearly worth the price. Nothing bad just not great, nothing pops. Felt a little buyers remorse when I left and I had been there a few times before years ago prices were high then too but food was a little better and prices were not as high

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andreann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troutman, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thoroughbreds”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Every visit to Myrtle Beach, we make it a point to dine at Thoroughbreds. Have been going there for almost twenty years. For a specail dining excperience, request Lenko as your server. He is fantastic!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thoroughbreds Chophouse & Seafood Grille also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Thoroughbreds Chophouse & Seafood Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing