We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun atmosphere”

Yamato Steak House of Japan
Ranked #102 of 877 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Yamato is dinner....with a show! Teppanyaki style grills where the chef prepares the food right in front of the guest! Perfect for large groups, birthday parties, families, couples, golfers, and everybody in between! Yamato also has a separate sushi bar with a wide variety of fish. Enjoy your dinner while looking over Lake Broadway!
Varnell, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
132 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have eaten at several Japanese restaurants in the Myrtle Beach area. Although this is not my favorite one, Yamato has very good food and a fun atmosphere. The service is okay but the hostess was not very friendly. We were told our wait time would be 15 minutes. We were sat at a table over an hour later.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    134
    54
    21
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
South Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“My Favorite Every Year”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I love this place! The food is excellent every time. My wife and I share the chicken and steak and always have more then enough. The fried rice and veggies are actually our favorite part.

I do have to say though that the cooks could be a little better. They kind of have this attitude that they are awesome and do not try that hard. We always come right when they open, so it is not like they are tired from doing it all night.

Either way though, we love this place and would highly suggest you go!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank QMastaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best hibachi ever”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

This place can't be beat.best hibachi ever.one of my favorite places out of the many in myrtle beach.food was excellent,service was great and prices are fair.can't wait to go back.amazing!!!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rushed”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I’ve been to plenty Japanese steakhouses but I’ve never had an experience quite like this. We made a reservation for 8 and got seated right away. The waitress was attentive and the chef was comical. The food was mediocre which was surprising. My issue that will prevent me from ever going there again was the quickness we were moved through the process. From the time we were sat until we left we were rushed like nothing I’ve ever experienced. Every part of dinner was rushed. We all left saying the same thing. I understand the place is busy, but for the price I paid, I expect better food and I don’t want to feel like I’m speed eating. Go somewhere else!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food but air conditioner needs some work.”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I recently visited Yamato with my daughter, granddaughter and a couple of other people. Having been to several habachi restaurants, we loved the selection and quality of food. The sushi was above average and the chicken and steak hibachi was average for the price range. The only problem we had was the inside temperature in the restaurant. I'm used to South Carolina in the summer but would have liked to not break a sweat while I'm eating.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yamato Steak House of Japan also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Yamato Steak House of Japan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing