We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gallery that Serves Food”

Collectors Cafe & Gallery
Reserve with OpenTable
Collectors Cafe & Gallery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #102 of 880 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 79th avn. and Kings Highway
Description: The perfect place to meet friends, business associates, family or an elegant date. Collectors Cafe & Gallery combines world-class Mediterranean cuisine with a European coffee house that has beautiful works of art for sale in each room. The ambiance is exquisite, but the food is the main attraction. Prepared by Chef Carlos Mcgrigor and his sous chefs, entrees include Scallop Cakes, Rack of Lamb, Filet of Beef topped with Crab, as well as fresh fish. The fully functional gallery represents over 25 revolving artists. Paintings are sold each night with spring and fall openings to highlight new artists. The art gallery, dining room, and coffee house lounge combine to create a one of a kind elegant dining experience. Lunch is served week days with a relaxed atmosphere . Desserts are made fresh daily to complete this journey of the senses.
Virginia Beach VA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Gallery that Serves Food”
Reviewed May 10, 2011

. This is a very ineresting restaurant, displaying and selling art while serving food. Average food at fine dining prices and disinterested service made this a very disappointing dining experience.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariacook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    77
    39
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“best experience we have ever had in a restaurant!”
Reviewed May 5, 2011

This place is unbelievable! from the outside, it doesnt look like much. But once your inside the place looks like a version of the modern museum of art. The place is huge inside with hundreds of large paintings. After walking around the galleries inside in cafe, I felt like we were in a NY City museum. The food was incredible! We each had 2 apps, 2 entrees, and 2 desserts, and ate every last bite. Their wine list was also excellent. We would have never expected to find such a place in myrtle beach. It belongs in NY or LA or Chicago. Every detail of the place was worthy of examination. Even the restroom floors were mosaic tile construction looking like paintings. It took us several hours just to see it all. Well be back!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigbubba50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“great food, great sevice in a strip mall!!”
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Was a little concerned that things had slipped based on recent reviews, but our party was very pleased with both the service and the food. My husband wanted to return the next evening! Very personable and that is important to us Southerners.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tigerfan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Food, poor service”
Reviewed April 23, 2011

I was skeptical of what we were going to find. We arrived before 6 and there were a few tables taken. The service was not great, it took some time to get a drink, never mind water. When dinner arrived, we had to wait for a fork, since the waitstaff cleared off the extra settings and my husbands fork when we sat down. The food was wonderful so all in all it was a good experience.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WilmingtonPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Collector's Cafe used to be one of the best restaurants in M.B. and we always dined there when we visited, going back 15 years or so. Our last visit, however, was disappointing. The room is still beautiful and the service gracious. The Tuesday night we were there the place was mostly empty, which may suggest that the locals who used to frequent it have departed. I ordered tuna and was delivered salmon. To her credit, the waitress immediately replaced it with tuna, but still -- how do you mistake salmon for tuna? My wife had a tuna carpaccio (cold), and the tuna was tough and stringy. Again, it was replaced quickly, but why should the waitstaff have to deal with kitchen mistakes? Considering that this is one of the pricier restaurants in M.B., everything should be perfect, and it was not. Following this experience we dined at Ciao, which was not as fancy but the food was better and a lot less expensive.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Foodiehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Collectors Cafe & Gallery also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Collectors Cafe & Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing