We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strange experience, good food”

Coastal Wine Boutique and Lounge
Ranked #295 of 870 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $50
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Strange experience, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

I went expecting to get a wine tasting, but for some reason it wasn't available... ? I'm still not sure about that part. Anyway, there were no other patrons at the time, and the serer was the guy (I think manager). I ordered a glass of wine and a sampler platter of Mediterranean food. Both were delicious and the space was very cool.

I say the experience was strange as the guy's personality was a bit weird; he is nice enough, but his conversation skills are a bit strange. There were also a fair amount of fruit flies inside, so I took my goodies outside to sit on their large and comfy patio. The food was extremely tasty, the wine selection good and overall I was pleased. Had I been with company of my own, probably would have felt differently but I was glad I stopped there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank April J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    7
    1
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great wine,nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

This is a review of Coastal Wine Boutique on 21st Avenue North in Myrtle Beach (same owners as the one in Market Common). We attended a private party there which included an optional wine tasting with tapas. The atmosphere is cozy with numerous conversation groupings and low tables. The bar was ringed with bar stools. Haik is one of the owners and he attended to us for the wine tasting. He was very knowledgeable about the wines, which were sustainably grow, which could be purchased at area stores, etc. He was willing to answer all of our questions. The tapas of hummus, cheese and two different kinds of breads was delicious. After the wine tasting, we ordered glasses of one of the wines we had tasted (generous pours) as wells two appetizers. I had the Brie appetizer which was delicious. The only very minor complaint was that the apples that accompanied the plate were starting to brown. We also tried the spinach artichoke dip accompanied by flatbread. The dip was delicious. The flat bread was so soft that it made it difficult to scoop up the dip.

If you like good wines (they also have a full bar and beer), a nice but not stuffy atmosphere and congenial owners, definately make this a stop when you are In the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank letsgo29576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wine/cocktail/hookah bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

liked the atmosphere-classy but not stuffy- outdoor area to enjoy your drinks-large variety of wines, cocktails and specialty drinks. the bartender makes a special flare drink which I have never seen anywhere else.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great family-run boutique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Truely passionate about his wines! Haik is super knowledgeable and will gladly spend an evening spreading the joy. The boutique is cozy, great for both a romantic outing or for meeting some new characters who happen to wander in. The wine slushies are awesome and a fun alternative, but possibly seasonal (??) Also fun to look at all the specialty/ornamental wine bottles - animals, shoes, people, etc.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fort
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Romantic stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

This little place was a pleasant surprise. We just stopped in to enjoy the $7.00 wine tasting, but what we found was a relaxing romantic setting with a very well educated wine connoisseur that took us on a tour around the world in a glass. It was definitely $7 very well spent. Along with the wine they serve some great tapias, cheeses, and Mediterranean platter. I truely wish I had a place like this in my hometown.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wade Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Wine Boutique and Lounge also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Coastal Wine Boutique and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing