We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful new Oceanfront Restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banditos Restaurant and Cantina - CLOSED

Banditos Restaurant and Cantina
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Bar, Spanish, American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bethpage NY
Level Contributor
239 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Beautiful new Oceanfront Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This beautiful new restaurant sits oceanfront on Ocean Blvd at 14th st. The atmosphere is great and the outside deck and paver patio make eating outdoors and overlooking the ocean a great expierence. My wife and I enjoyed everything we odered. The servers and Josh the manager are efficent and friendly. We will be back to try more dishes because I tried the hot wing challenge and after that you are unable to order or eat anything else. My only negative comment would be that the mixed drinks are measured and I prefer a free pour and stiffer cocktail however, this is a restaurant that warrents a visit and has a lot to offer.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Len K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    226
    87
    50
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great addition to Myrtle Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stopped by the new Banditos on September 8th. Great service , food and drinks. The view can not be beat! This is a great addition to the boardwalk .
No it is not a cheap place, but aren't there enough dives in Myrtle Beach? Finally a place on the boardwalk to relax in a nice atmosphere with friendly
staff and great food. This one is a home run!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible is not even low enough”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We went to Banditos on Sat.9-8-12, The place had a twenty minute wait which is not bad at all. The food was horriable my sister and her husband both ordered faitas she got shirmp and he got steak it came out hot but the food had no taste at all. I order the tacos just plain beef tacos the meat had a lil flavor but it was cold. My husband ordered the stuffed burrito and it was cold had no flavor. The worse food I have ever eaten, The service was okay, the table that look like barrels are cute but very uncomfortable sitting on hard wood is very uncomfortable. The salsa had not flavor as well. My sister ordered guacamole as she said it should of had chunks of guacamole in it but it was pureed and still no flavor , the yellow rice was had no flavor at all, Over all the experiance was none to pleaseing, the food has no flavor what so ever. So save your money and go to another resturant . After spending over 120.00 in food we would of been better off ordering a pizza and just going in there for drinks that was about the only thing that was good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Working out the kinks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I tried Banditos on Saturday September 2nd. I was pleasantly surprised to be seated immediately on Labor Day weekend at this new restaurant on ocean in downtown Myrtle Beach. The building is architecturally interesting and large but the majority of the seats are outside. We sat inside at tables that look like large barrels with pie-shaped wedges for seats. ALL wood, very uncomfortable after the almost two hour dinner we had. Service started off quickly. However, the apps arrived before the drinks and the drinks were watery by the time they reached the table. Dinner was good, not great and the second round of drinks were delayed as well. The food wasn't hot when it arrived at the table.The waitress was charming and tried to keep things flowing but was overwhelmed with tables and couldn't get her orders out in time. I will try this place again as I think it was mostly "new restaurant" problems that will hopefully abate as time goes by. It is a welcome addition to the area and I wish them success

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lwcntryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I hope the problems we experienced recently at Banditos are because they are newly opened. They ran out of olives for a dirty martini, no sweet vermouth for a manhattan and 4 of the shrimp in my entree had not been cleaned. Most of the food was quite good. Service was slow and seemed to be short staffed. Beautiful place and location. I do hope they are successful.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luckyJune13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banditos Restaurant and Cantina also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing