We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Same brand, in SC.”
Review of carlos and charlies - CLOSED

carlos and charlies
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Same brand, in SC.”
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

The "bowls" of Long Island ice tea and the hurricane were Very good! The food was good as well, fajitas and cheese enchiladas, and Great chix fingers and fries kids meal! Our server Alex was great and was really good with our 5 yo!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beantownbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    30
    29
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south jersey
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We went to Broadway to go to another restaurant. The wait was almost 2 hours so we decided to try somewhere else. Carlos and Charlies didn't have a wait which made me a little nervous but we were starved. Everything we had was good. The shrimp tacos I thought were great though I do agree with them being $$$ for not getting any sides. And you can get free chips with a coupon from the visitor center Monster Book. The specialty drinks, (alcohol) were just ok. It was pretty loud in there which worked for us since we had some small children but be prepared.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nikkijersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrico
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Carlos and Charlies”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Visting Carlos and Charlies in Puerto Rico while honeymooning twenty years ago. Was excited to take my 17 y.o. daughter to this one in Myrtle. Very disappointed in the changes over the years. Felt more like I was in an Applebees or TGIFridays. Sub par food, sub par service, "balloon lady" walking around making balloon hats for anyone who wanted them (while wearing a TIPPING IS OK pin). Guess I should have realized it would be more of a 'family' type restaurant so my fault I guess.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rossifive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Overpriced food with insulting service”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

DESPITE the negative reviews we tried it. Won't make that mistake again! Crystal the server was get immature and rude . Her manager wasn't much better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JCJCNGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Chesterfield
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Poor Service...Average food”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

First, if you expect chips and salsa, you are not going to get it without paying for it. Second, be sure to tell your waitress exactly how you want your food as she does not ask if you want hard or soft shell tacos. And you have to almost tackle her to get your water glass refilled. My daughters LOVED the Nachos but the shrimp tacos that I had were not that great. $15 for three small tacos and no sides seems rather high to me. Would not go back to this restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MenthiaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed carlos and charlies also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing