We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Better Than Expectation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
Ranked #1 of 218 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen County, NJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Better Than Expectation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

First time visitors to Myrtle Beach as family trip in early September weekend. We choose Marriott's Ocean Watch Villas based on travel advisor online reviews. It was good experience and turn out better than my expectation. The ocean review was prefect even thought we didn't have ocean front room. We stayed at ocean side review room that can clearly see the ocean and out-door pool at the same time. The room is clean and has decent size, and kitchen has everything you need to prepare your meals. The most important is not too crowd, so we can enjoy our short vocation. My 4 years old daughter love the kiddy pool. The only improvement that I can think is lack of restaurants inside the resort and parking space is limited if you return at late night. Overall, we will come back if we ever decide to visit MB again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babyk09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    175
    43
    13
    17
See reviews for
528
186
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel is wonderful! From the views, to the comfortable amenities, to the location as well as the accomodating staff. Everything about my vacation was just incredible! It was so hard to leave! (As a side note, I had originally booked my vacation to stay at the Hilton Beach Resort in Myrtle Beach, but after reading the reviews online, I decided to switch my reservation to here at Marriott's Grand Dunes. I'm very happy that I did, b/c I checked out the Hilton property when I got down to Myrtle Beach and it was exactly how the reviews portrayed it online. It was dirty, old, and nothing like the pictures online.) Stay here at the Grand Dunes, you will not be dissapointed!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Darby, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We are long time Destinations Points and Platinum week owners and who normally come with our children in July and always have a great time. This year was no exception as our children have literally grown up here and we get to see how their experience changes as they get older. It’s a testament to OceanWatch that their well thought out activities have something for everyone to enjoy, from my 5 year old, all the up to my 15 year old.

We decided to come back in September with friends and share our beautiful resort with two other couples who had never been to Myrtle Beach. Needless to say, they were blown away by the facilities and how nice everyone seems to be. My wife and I had the luxury of experiencing OceanWatch as a couple with 2 other couples without our children for the first time. Wow, we needed that! We usually focus on the kids and plan all of the activities for their enjoyment but this time, we ate at restaurants that didn’t have chicken fingers on the menu, took long walks at night on the beach, and slept in when we wanted to. No children were there to beg us to get up early and out to the pool or the beach. The pool and the beach waited for us! The resort was far less crowded in September versus July and we were able to get chairs by the pool without me camping out at 7:00am every morning.

The other couples had excellent meetings with Maureen where they didn’t feel pressured and she helped them acquire Encore packages where they can return to experience OceanWatch again before they become owners. Both couples said that they now understand why I brag some much about our vacations every year and they look forward many years of vacationing with us at our beloved resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Our trip was a last minute trip and we were not sure we'd find a place. The hotel was not as busy as we thought it would be. The desk was very helpful and our room clean. Although pricey, it seems average on the area. Would return if ever in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lonols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Overall this is a fantastic resort. The beach was clean, the pools were refreshing and all of the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. We especially enjoyed the breakfast buffet at Oceans next door at the Marriott Hotel. Our server, Mo, went above and beyond, even on the days when we were not sitting in his section. The only complaints we have that kept us from giving this 5 stars are the beds are rock hard and the couch was very uncomfortable. Also, the wireless signal was very week and the families iPad's only worked in certain parts of our unit. Apart from that, we loved it. The location is great and away from the seedier part of downtown Myrtle Beach, but still close enough for us to hit all of the attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RangerGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here many times (rented thru Redweek.com for great deal) and each time they have amazed us a little more than the last at how much they have improved the grounds even thought there was no improvement needed. We just came back from a very nice family vacation here, with two small children-both under 7 years old, and we are already talking about planning next year's vacation. The kid's favorite thing about this place is "Everything!!!". They love the firepit roasted marshmellows night, story telling by the fire, the "dive-in" movies by the garden villas pool, the arts and crafts, the zero entry pool with all its kiddie splash entertainment, the waterslides, the indoor pool at the garden villas, definitely the "jungle gym" playset area by the garden villas, our walks around the grounds in the evenings, the beach area within walking distance from our garden villa (Maple Villas), and so much more. And if the kids are happy than Mom and I are definitely happy and we love how this resort is so close to everything even though you never have to leave for anything if you do not want to. They have an Express Pizza Hut, Starbucks, Bagels, mini grocery store, gift shops, several awesome restaurants, and great poolside drinks and food. If I could find a better rate (only complaint...on the pricey side but a whole lot for your money) we would stay here two weeks instead of just one. Cannot wait to surprise the kids again and go back.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillows if you do not like thin down feather ones. That is what is in the room we sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chappyty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danvers, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We love the location of the resort as it is a bit north of the downtown area and we have ocean front. The resort is always very clean and great beach walking. Plus there is plenty of golf and amenities/attractions, we usually go in November. Another hidden pleasure is breakfast at the K&G, great food, fast and incredibly low prices, good for budget stretching.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LaurentRene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#3 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,506 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,174 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
4.2 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#30 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes

Property: Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
Address: 8500 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 374
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Oceanwatch Villas At Grande Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Oceanwatch Hotel
Marriott Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing