We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic vacation resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
Ranked #2 of 217 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Rockaway, NJ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic vacation resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have stayed at the Marriott Ocean Watch for many years now as owners of timeshare and I just can't say enough what a fabulous experience they provide! The villas are so well appointed you really feel at home. The location of Marriott's Ocean Watch is not in Myrtle Beach, it's actually a small area called Grande Dunes which is important because it is removed from the congested Myrtle Beach area. This is in a residential area and the only resort in the area which gives it a really special feel. The employees at the Marriott are so friendly and helpful and will try to accommodate your needs! The area offers so much to do which is why I love it so much. We've seen most of the shows over the years and I can't say there was a bad one! The restaurants are fantastic, the mini golf is an experience to be had for sure! Love this resort, it's just the best!

Room Tip: Ocean Front rooms have a fabulous view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank northernSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    180
    44
    16
    18
See reviews for
552
189
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My in-laws own a timeshare here, so this is our second time here. There are 5 buildings of rooms: Scallop, Starfish and Conch, which are all Oceanfront/side and then Maple and Pine, which are Gardenview (lower rooms) and Oceanview (higher floors). Both Maple and Pine are both 16 stories high. Last time we came, we stayed in the Starfish building, but this time we were on the 8th floor (Oceanview) of the Maple building. It's definitely nicer to stay in the Starfish/Scallop/Conch buildings because you are right by the main pool and the ocean, but the advantages of staying at Maple/Pine is that, if you have young children, you are right next to the Woodsy Pool, the "treehouse" park and also the fitness center. The rooms are spacious with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a living area, kitchen and balcony. Check-in time is 4:00. We got here just a few minutes before (~3:50) and our room wasn't ready. We had been in the car with 5 kids for 8+ hours and were anxious to get settled in our room. But we made the most of it and walked around the resort for 40 minutes, before going back at 4:30. Our room (on the 15th floor) still wasn't ready. She ended up giving us a room on the 8th floor instead and a $25 credit for our room not being ready. She said our 15th floor room wouldn't be ready until after 6:00. That was disappointing. The only other "negative" thing of note would be that, while there are many activities and such, almost everything requires an extra fee. Three years ago when we were here, they had a "S'mores" night, which was free. Now, it's $3/person. Race a race car on Thursday afternoon.... but you have to buy the race car which is $25, etc, etc. BUT, the rooms are well appointed, the resort is beautiful, beds comfortable, and overall a very nice resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kls118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We have been to Myrtle Beach two times and both times the experience was subpar. The "strip" is filled with mostly tourist traps and chain restaurants which isn't out idea of vacation. Our entire family decided to go back again to give it another try. We are thrilled we did! Staying at this property doesn't have the touristy Myrtle Beach feel. It's gorgeous. The pools are beautiful. The food is above average. The beach was quiet. We stayed in the "Woodsy" building and it was perfect for the kids. Next time we will stay at the Marriott hotel next door. We didn't stay in the villa much and never felt like cooking. We seemed to dine out. The OceanWatch villas are expensive at $738 a night. We did enjoy having a washer/dryer to clean out clothes, towels, bathing suits because the beach and pools. The lady at the kid's pool in the snack area was so kind to our family. The kids loved the DJ at the pool, too. I couldn't have been more pleased with the resort.
Anyone contemplating staying here (or the hotel next door) should go for it. You won't be sorry!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fromthe44oh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Just got back from Myrtle Beach. We had a great time at Marriott Ocean Watch Villas. From the apartment to the pool to the city of Myrtle Beach. Plenty to do and plenty to see. The restaurants are miles long. Among the best are Logans Road house, Bonefish Grill, Sticky Fingers Rib House and Kirks Ice Cream Shoppe for all the ice cream lovers out there. Check out Broadway at the Beach for shopping etc. The weather was nice. Not too hot. A few showers at night, but no big deal. MB offers a great value for families with $ on the mind. It can't be beat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vincent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We love this place so much we bought a Villa! It has great ocean views, great pools, slide, waterfall, Starbucks, Pizza Hut, and many more amenities! The staff treats you like royalty! It has a wonderful children's area. The lush greenery when first coming into Marriott is beautiful:) we are looking forward to our next stay there. The Marriott Hotel adjacent to it is also very nice. You cannot go wrong with Marriott:)) john&Pam ... WV

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chickavoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a great place to stay right on the beach especially if you have kids with you. Check in was a breeze. Our room was ready when we got there around 2:30 PM, which was an hour and a half before check in. The room and resort were very nice. It is right on the beach and can be easily accessed to. The one negative thing that happened was we had two canopies stolen. The resort has storage areas right by the beach which you can leave stuff at your own risk. The storage areas are not secured at all. I would not recommend leaving anything mildly expensive there. Overall a great place to stay in Myrtle Beach but beware about leaving stuff in the storage areas.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TravelerMan96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

First, let me tell you what a beautiful resort this is - by far the best on Myrtle Beach! We had an ocean view villa - 16th floor of the Maple building and it was a gorgeous view! The location of the resort was excellent, the grounds were impeccably kept and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. My children told me how much the resort reminded them of our trip to Beaches at Turks & Caicos - certainly not as large but the "feel" was the same. Our vacation villa was very well appointed, very clean and very spacious. The resort offers many amenities and has lots of activities for the whole family to enjoy (most, however, have a price tag attached).

This was our first trip to Myrtle Beach and it will not be our last. Our trip was over the 4th of July holiday and we had a blast! However, I was rather thrown by the cost of the trip and knowing what I know now - there are certainly ways to pair down the expense. 1) Be aware that the sales tax is 10.5% on virtually everything. 2) Eating out is very expensive. We went to Mr. Fish, had a good lunch, nothing spectacular - sandwiches and she crab soup - no alcoholic beverages, for myself and my 3 children it cost us a whopping $96 with tip! No, I'm not kidding.... 3) bring your own beach chairs or buy a couple of cheapies on your way down. The cost to rent beach chairs is $30 p/pair, p/day unless you choose to rent for several days in a row, then the cost is reduced a bit each day. 4) See if your tickets for your Myrtle Beach adventures (like Wonder Works & Ripley's Aquarium) can be purchased on resort. It is slightly cheaper and no lines to buy tickets later!

To give you an idea of our itinerary in Myrtle Beach.... we went to Wonder Works (definitely worth the trip!) the Ripley's Aquarium (again, worth the trip) played mini-golf, ate out a couple of times, browsed around some shops and basically enjoyed the beach and pools on resort. That being said, comparing cost to cost..... our all-inclusive trip to Turks & Caicos cost the same as our Myrtle Beach adventure, in the end. Obviously they were 2 completely different trips. However, if you think vacationing in the Caribbean is cost-prohibitive, think again. While it may seem that you are spending less when you vacation at home, by the time you add in your costs to get to your vacation destination, your meals, your accommodations, your vacation "must do's" while there and the like, the cost ends up being almost the same.

All things considered, we would return to Myrtle Beach and to this resort specifically. My children enjoyed it, I found it very relaxing and while the 12 hour drive didn't thrill me - neither does sitting in an airport to fly to our vacation destination. It's all about perspective :)

Room Tip: If you have an "ocean view" villa, request a high floor room. The views are INCREDIBLE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
1.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#4 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,563 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#21 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Myrtle Beach/Coastal Grand Mall
2.4 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
1.7 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes

Property: Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
Address: 8500 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4434
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 374
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Oceanwatch Villas At Grande Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Oceanwatch Hotel
Marriott Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing