We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Marriott Property, One of the Best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
Ranked #1 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Yardville, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Marriott Property, One of the Best!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This property is one of our favorite Marriott timeshares, we checked in at 3 and had to wait for our room unitl 5:15 but it was worth the wait as it was a wonderful room in the Conch building on the 6th floor with a fantastic view of the beach and fireworks on the 4th. We had requested this particular building and view. The resort is well maintained with 4 major swimming pools, hot tubs, indoor pool, fitness center, kiddie area, many activities and a friendly staff. Our room was very clean and everything was working properly. We will be returning in late August.

Room Tip: The rooms in the front buildings have the best views of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    206
    43
    17
    25
See reviews for
634
215
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our family stayed here in June 2012 and loved it so much we returned for the week of July 4th. Our children are 12, 10 and 2 and they had a great time. We stayed in a 2 bedroom oceanfront condo and the view was spectacular! The condo was clean and provided everything we needed, no complaints at all.
The best part of this property though is all the pools. Our 2 year old loved the woodsy pool with the zero entry and splash zone and all the kids loves the slide. There is also a new serenity pool (and wow was it peaceful and quiet). It was also zero entry and it was an infinity pool. There is a poolside restaurant here that provides lunch (and lots of fruity drinks!). Down by the beach there are more beautiful pools with fountains and waterfalls and a very nice kiddie pool that is fenced in-- which is perfect for little runaway kids like ours! Finally, just a few more steps and your on the beach! This pool also has a restaurant/bar for lunch and/or dinner and every pool has a large hot tub nearby!
There is an on site Starbucks and Pizza Hut, plus a little convenience store. There is also a 3 story treehouse and a nice indoor pool. The health club/gym is very nice with a sauna and steam room and multiple machines for your workout.
One more thing I love about this place, it isn't crowded. I hate going to hotels and the pool area is chaos and there are no chair available -- keep on mind we were there over the 4th of July and still there were plenty of chairs and you didn't have to wait an hour for an elevator.
This place is a bit pricey, but you get what you pay for -- I have zero complaints about this property.
If you have never been to Myrtle there are 1,000 things to do rain or shine. Shows,shopping, and attractions of all kinds to keep adults and kids of all ages busy. I'm 100% sure we will return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Overall, this was just flat out disappointing. THe amenities were average, the staff was not overly helpful, and the property was congested and poorly laid out. The parking is also a mess. All that being said, the rooms were nice and the beach was easy to access.

I am a loyal Marriott Elite customer and I would not return to this property. Not worth the cost.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Check in time is supposed to be 4pm and we arrived at 3:30. The villa was not ready until 4:30, which was annoying. The villa was clean but when we went to bed that evening, we realized that one of the sets of sheets was not clean. As a matter of fact, it smelled like turpentine, so at 10pm I was washing sheets (rather than dealing with getting room service to come up and change them). With that said, the resort is beautiful. The beach and pools were also quite nice. Other than checking in and getting coffee in the morning, we had no interaction with the staff. I ordered a latte at the little shop downstairs and was appalled that the lady pulled a dirty rag out if a filthy sink to wipe off the latte nozzle. Disgusting!!!! I didn't say anything, but I tossed the latte without drinking it and found a real Starbucks.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Trandd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Property is beautiful. Most trade in timeshare owners trade into the two back buildings. High floor is the way to go. Very nice views from the higher floors. Beach was not too far of a walk and they offer a shuttle (although I never saw a shuttle). Pools were clean and very quiet near the Maple building. Workers are extremely nice and very friendly. Lots to do all around the Marriott.

Room Tip: High Floor rooms give you a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chubster_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This resort is wonderful. Everyone is so incredibly nice and helpful. We checked in early and even though the room wasn't ready, we were still given full access to the resort. We were given beach towels and a map to naviagate the resort. The room was ready shortly afterwards. The grounds are very well kept and rooms very nice. We grilled out one evening- there are many grills and sitting areas and the grills are very clean. the workout facility is nice as well. there are mens/women's locker rooms and saunas in the facility as well. Not to mention - volleyball, basketball courts and many other outside activities/sports for all age groups. My only issue was that our room was on floor 2. But it was a high occupancy weekend. It wasn't terrible , just wish we could have gotten a better view. the other thing is this is a Marriott property, therefore they have Marriott bed mattresses. They are very flat and hard and the pillows very soft. I had a hard time getting comfortable to sleep. It felt like the mattress they have in Residence Inn and Courtyard. But we still had a great time and would love to go back.

Room Tip: Request a villa in the main building in the Oceanfront building. The woodsy towers cannot see the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We are Marriott Vacation Club owners and purchased points based on this property. This was our 2nd year coming and it did not disappoint. We always travel the first week of June and this year stayed 6/1-6/8. We stayed on the 4th floor of the Conch building which is oceanfront and had a great view of the ocean in front of us as well as looking down the beach and towards the Marriott hotel pool next door (great people watching!).

The villas are spacious, especially the corner units. The washer and dryer were front loading which made doing mid week laundry a breeze. The bedrooms were nicely sized and the bathroom in the master was huge with a jacuzzi tub. We ate in for breakfast all days but one, ate lunch in, and cooked dinner multiple evenings. It was nice not having to leave property if we didn't want to.

There were plenty of activities if that is your thing but we did not do anything this trip. We happened to be traveling during Tropical Storm Andrea and the days that it rained the staff offered discounts on movie rentals, etc.

The pool area was nice and the kids took advantage of that during the evening; however, for us the main draw is the ocean. There is easy access to the beach and even cubbies to leave beach chairs, boogie boards, etc. if you didn't want to drag them up to your room.

The resort is close to attractions and the nearby grocery store, Lowes, had decent prices which was nice since it was so close by.

This is our favorite vacation spot and we look forward to it each year. I never hesitate to recommend it!

Room Tip: If you are booking oceanfront, beware that you may get the Starfish building. While it is technicall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katydid1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#5 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,728 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
0.9 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - Broadway At the Beach
1.7 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,324 reviews
4.2 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes

Property: Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
Address: 8500 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 374
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Oceanwatch Villas At Grande Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Oceanwatch Hotel
Marriott Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing