We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Second time as good as the first” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
Ranked #5 of 216 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
simsbury ct
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Second time as good as the first”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Wonderful resort, love all the beautiful heated pools, oceanfront location. Villas/resort are Top-notch... as I've come to expect from the Marriott Vacation resorts I've visited. This is our second time here in the off season, the weather is warm and since it's November.....sparsely populated. All of the villas are two bedrooms, so we had a huge area to ourselves. Many restaurants to choose and the best...no crowds or reservations needed. Marriott does an outstanding job catering to everyone..there are children's activities, social get-togethers, tours...and the facilities are top of the line.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mtnestr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    182
    44
    16
    24
See reviews for
561
196
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
152 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed during the last of October when MB is not that busy. Check-in was smooth and desk personnel were friendly and helpful. Hotel is located in the middle of the main attractions and super restaurants are close by. Stayed in a remote building (9) that was next to the indoor pool and gym. Rooms were large and everything was modern and clean. Easy to get around and golf-cart service was available if needed to get around. Used the on-site Express Pizza Hut one day and food was good. It was too cold to use the outside pool and jacuzzi's but they looked to be large and the layout was very nice.

Room Tip: Liked the remote building. Parking was by the door and close to indoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nafus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspinwall
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

The resort is in the middle of north and south myrtle, great for all restaurants and shopping. Close to the shows. It has many pools and really great employees. This resort also has time share condo,s on the property. Easy acces to the beach

Room Tip: It is great if you can get a ocen view room and the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

My family was here in an oceanfront villa for Thanksgiving Week and spent a lot of time in the very nice pools (one with slide, another with waterfall). Outdoor pools are heated, but still feel cold when exiting in the off-season. If you plan to use the indoor pool, fitness center, or playground a lot, you may prefer the Woodsy (non-waterfront) towers because they are closer to those activities. Location in Myrtle Beach is outstanding, between the restaurants and shopping to the north and the family activities to the south. A few nitpicks: My family was not a fan of the flat feather pillows, but your tastes may vary. And the parking in the small garage during a busy holiday week was a bit of a pain because the garage elevator is not near the tower elevators. But overall, we look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
154 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We spent Thanksgiving weekend 2012 on the 15th floor of one of the towers at the Marriott's Grand Dunes; it was awesome. The four swimming pools are heated to 85 degrees year round. The water slide (in the pools between the towers) is a lot of fun, and we all enjoyed the bar at the main pool. There is a Pizza Hut and Starbucks under the main building as well.
Out front, on the beach, tide pools form (low tide) and the kids were able to find small crabs and little fish. One of my favorite things about the two bedrooms, two bath condo was the television selection. The three TVs all were in HD and we got tons of premium and sports channels. Okay, so I was there with the family, but the TV options made the late nights a bit better for all. This is our new spot in Myrtle and well worth the cost.

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean view on floor 10 or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkeucla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at the Marriott's Oceanwatch Villas at Grande Dunes for Thanksgiving week, 2012. The resort was beautiful, the rooms were immaculate. Although it was a busy holiday week, the staff couldn't have been more accomodating and helpful. Because we are Marriott owners, we had an ocean front room in the Conch tower. The sun rises were breathtaking and the view couldn't have been better.

The kitchen was well-equiped and the beds were the typical very comfortable Marriott beds. We will visit this resort again!

Room Tip: If you have an ocean front room, ask for a room above the second floor for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birdie86509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We enjoyed this property very much. The staff is wonderful. They offer nice activities that are educational. We attended a shell class and it was wonderful. The staff person was quite knowledgeable and a great teacher. They couldn't do enough for us. The rooms are wonderful and the view is as well. Off season is much more affordable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greyhound56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#3 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - Broadway at The Beach
4.4 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
1.7 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes

Property: Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
Address: 8500 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4434
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 374
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Oceanwatch Villas At Grande Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Oceanwatch Hotel
Marriott Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing