We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Plenty of Pools, Activities for Kids, and Up to Marriot Standards” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
Ranked #2 of 217 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Middletown, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Plenty of Pools, Activities for Kids, and Up to Marriot Standards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Even on the off season the hotel did not feel like it was closed down. Even though many of the stands and poolside services were closed, there were plenty of daily activities for kids. The room was fine. The cell reception is poor in the rooms (but the WIFI is excellent!!!)

Room Tip: Ask for 5th floor or higher for good view. It may be hard to get a specific room depending on your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pauljoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    180
    44
    16
    18
See reviews for
552
189
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is our home resort within the Marriott Vacation Club and we've not been back for a number of years. We purchased our timeshare pre-construction and had not seen the finished product. We were extremely pleased with the entire resort and feel that Marriott delivered on their original promises. Entirely satisfied with our rooms, the staff, the property, the beach -- it is awesome! We will not wait so long to return--perfect vacation spot. Our family loves this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myredjeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAMI
Level Contributor
815 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

While the accomodations and view were lovely,as were the welcoming committee when we first arrived, that is where our satisfaction waned. We arrived at 4:20pm , as check in started at 4pm, only to be told our apt. was not ready. They would call us on my cell when it was ready and we would have to stand on line again for our room keys. We then went to receive our "welcome gift" of either salt water taffee or large Myrtle Beach bag and sales spiel about the property. While still waiting for our room to be ready, we went to the concierge for dinner and entertainment recommendations, ony to be given pamphlets of things in the area. (Concierge at this place, should take a lesson from Kevin at the Courtyatd in Charleston) . I did not need that, since I already had aaa book, etc.. Since we had not received a phone call from the front desk at 4:45p, we again asked if our room was ready, only to be told that it is a very busy resort, they are 98% busy all year and check in starts at 4pm and takes a long time to clean the apts. We countered that is was now almost 5pm,their checkout is at 10 am, we were paying lot of money to merely hang around in the lobby. Even though receptionist was courteous, she was condescending and replied they were going to give us one apt. right on the ocean but since we were impatient, we would have to settle for a different one on the 14th floor. The implication was we were being unreasonable. As Marriott Gold, we were terribly disappointed in how we were treated. Although it is a lovely resort, I doublt that we would ever stay here again. 10am checkout is way too early since they obiously want a very late checkin, as well, so you are paying a lot of money for a short stay. I also want to note that receptionist commented that she never saw such a great price for the accomodations that we got, so in essence, she implied why were we complaining. The truth is, the price we paid was not inexpensive and is the rate that has been on the Marriott website for the past month and on the website this morning. Actually, tomorrow, the rate goes down !

What benefit do we have if we have to check in late and depart at 10am? It is muchless stressful to stay at any other hotel or motel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MIAMISHEILA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, OK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Unfortunately we will be leaving in a few hours after staying in the Scallop building (north near beach) on the sixth floor for the last week. We have enjoyed beautiful sunrises every morning along with the sounds of the ocean. Our suite was extremely clean and well appointed. Our wifi went out one day and the staff responded within 15 minutes to get us back on line, we were extremely impressed. We participated in several of the planned activities while we were here ie "the not so newlywed game", bingo, wine tasting, and "s'mores" on the campfire. While the wife had to twist my arm a bit to go, I was happy that I did, we had a lot of fun (it helps when you win) and met some great people. The activity planners did a great job keeping everyone involved and making it fun. In summary, this is not our home resort but we would not hesitate to come back again, we've had a great time.

Room Tip: If you are vacationing without kids and are not into summer water sports, come in the off season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

This is my home resort within the Marriott dynasty!

My family of 12 (3 kids & their kids) have enjoyed this resort together for the last 3 yrs and have enjoyed every moment!

The staff, villas, property, fellow guests, facilities are second to none! We all look forward to our gathering each year at Ocean Watch.

This is by far the Priemier property on the east coast & my grandchildren will continue to enjoy it way after I'm gone!

There is no better system than Marriott!

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry Hall, Maryland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I have been coming to Myrtle Beach for over 40 years and have stayed in a variety of accommodations. This is my favorite. We bought about 5 years ago and look forward to our visit every October. The cleanliness and friendliness of the staff is amazing. Even though we only come once a year, we were remembered by the staff at check-in and the bartender. As soon as I walk onto the balcony, I smile and immediately start to relax. Currently, there are 4 pools (1 indoor) with another outdoor pool on the way. It is great to sit by any pool and read, or nap. The villas are roomy and always clean. As usual, another perfect week...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This property is well maintained, nicely decorated and well staffed. If you can get a room in Conch or Scallop buildings, you will have complete ocean front. We stayed in Maple on the 12th floor and the view was really nice and we could still hear the waves - so try for a high floor no matter which building you are in. We could also park right outside the door of the tower, which was a plus. Restaurants within a short drive that we thought were top notch are Bone Fish and Liberty Tap room. Bone Fish was excellent - incredible service, nice atmosphere and very, very good sea bass. Liberty is casual and laid back with a great happy hour. Most food items were $5 and were full size! We also dined at Marriot next door and it was very good. We did the time share presentation- they served a great breakfast (only if your "tour" is in the Marriott next door do you get a full brkfst), learned more about using points and no pressure to buy - good incentives especially if it's a rainy day. Overall, we thought the resort was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onceanaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
1.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#4 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,564 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#21 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Myrtle Beach/Coastal Grand Mall
2.4 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
1.7 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#6 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes

Property: Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
Address: 8500 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4434
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 374
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Oceanwatch Villas At Grande Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Oceanwatch Hotel
Marriott Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing