We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
Ranked #1 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great for Families”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We stayed the week before Christmas and had a wonderful time. It was not overly crowded during our stay but the place well-kept and clean. The pools are heated but was still too cold to be in the water. Thank goodness for the indoor pool. For 2 nights we had smores, and then one night they had roasted marshmellows. It's a very nice resort away from the hotel congested part of town.

Note:The events in the kidszone do not indicate a end time for activities. They had an ice cream social but it was only for 30 minutes. We got there after it was over and my daughter was disappointed. Also, we went in there a few times and the staff was not particularly friendly or welcoming.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeartTheBeach88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    206
    43
    17
    25
See reviews for
634
215
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We had an ocean view room in the Pines Building. The rooms are very well kept and very spacious. It has all the amenities of home. The kids loved the on site activities and play ground. I have no complaints at all. Well worth the extra dollars because it far exceeds all of the other Myrtle Beach properties that I've experienced. Staff friendly and eager to help. Picky moms- this is the place to stay--- very clean / well kept room! It's obvious that the staff takes pride in the up keep of the condos.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1pickyparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuarts Draft, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Everything you need is in these villas. We were in the Pine Bldg on the 9th floor, good view of the ocean, would have loved oceanfront. The rooms were very nicely decorated and quite comfortable. Not alot of noise we slept late almost every day.
There seemed to be a good many planned activities for all the family.
Heated pools are a must in February and were well used.
A chair is needed in the queen bedroom, other than that a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Higher the floor, better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2goVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Stayed here in early March in a two bed room villa.

The location is excellent, and BTW the property is huge but doesn't feel it. The Grand Dune's Villa's is part of a large Marriott complex that has a beautiful hotel, and the vacation club villa's are foot steps from the Ocean. What is nice is the villa's, even at this time of year have lots of activities.

The Marriott hotel is a short walk and has restaurants and a nice bar. So you get the best of both a vacation villa with out the bustle of a hotel, but when you want to see people and enjoy "vacation hotel stuff" its right there.

The Villa we stayed in was set back from the ocean but still has great views. remember, there are a number of villa high rises, the unit we stayed in is 8500. Set back from the main building right at the beach side. The key is to get a room above the 6th floor ! The villa pools are very nice and this place has pretty much everything you need. The kids play area was amazing, lots of cool looking things to keep them busy.

The villa is well equipped and everything worked just fine. Nice TV's, clean kitchens , large comfy beds and well stocked to make a meal. I never did, because MB has so much to offer, but it was nice to keep breakfast items on hand.

The pool side bar had a simple menu, burgers, tenders, salads, sandwiches and mixed drinks.

Room Tip: Ask to be above the 6th floor to start to see the ocean. Not that the garden views are bad in any wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank geekytraveldude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Have stayed at the Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes several time now with just my wife and with the children and grandchildren. The resort has always been perfect for us with excellent room and activities. Staff has always been extremely friendly and ready to take care of any matter immediately.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anakin50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath villa in the Scallop Building with a beautiful ocean view in February. The resort is exceptional! Upon arrival we were checked in immediately and once in our villa we checked out the channels on the TV and found that some were not working and we called for service which showed up immediately and the tv was reset and worked fine from that point on. The service responds in a timely manner and every staff member we came in contact with was more than professional and very friendly. We just love this resort and plan to visit there again next February.

I would highly recommend this resort to everyone!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CandCNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeoye Falls, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed on the 14th floor of the Maple building from February 19th thru February 26th, Ocean view and next door to the building with the indoor pool and fitness facility.

Check in was the fastest we've encountered at the Marriott timeshares and our rental equipment (crib, feeding chair and bag of toys) was waiting for us, and quickly delivered to our room. So quickly they beat us there! Staff was warm, friendly and helpful at check in.

We always found a parking spot outside our building, even with the storage pods being used for the renovations going on in the villas. There is the option of the covered two story garage but we never needed to use it.

The villa was a bit smaller than those in Orlando and Palm Desert, but still spacious enough for my family of four. All of the furnishings in our villa seemed in good condition, although I'm sure the stove was slated for replacement showing some wear and tear. We don't know if our villa had already been refurbished, but I don't think so since the new items coming in didn't seem to match what was in our unit.

The villa was clean, and we had the tidy service each day as part of our package using rewards points for our stay. We never had that before and it was a nice plus, put the hotel feeling on our villa stay. Our beach towels were replaced every day which saved on laundry. There are other options for cleaning for a fee.

The resort is beautiful and in the process of adding a new serenity pool directly behind the Maple building. That being said, we barely heard any construction or renovation noise in our villa. One day we thought we heard some tapping above us, but it was mid-morning and we were leaving the resort anyway. By the time we returned early afternoon, all was quiet again.

We spent time everyday at the indoor pool and since it was off-season, had the pool to ourselves at times. The toddler pool was great for our two year old, and the regular pool, which is 4 1/2 feet at the deepest was perfect for our five year old. The hot tub was great for warming up before heading back outside to our villa in the next building.

Overall, a great visit, staff was great throughout, always greeting us with a smile and happy to help at any time. My husband called for help with the dryer and they came within five minutes (operator error). Same quick and friendly response when we blew a breaker in the master bathroom, which they fixed immediately.

Room Tip: 14th floor was wonderfully quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rrepass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#5 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,728 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
0.9 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - Broadway At the Beach
1.7 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,322 reviews
4.2 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes

Property: Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
Address: 8500 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 374
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Oceanwatch Villas At Grande Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Oceanwatch Hotel
Marriott Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing